We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun, but pricy to other locales” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buccaneer St Croix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
rochester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fun, but pricy to other locales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

my family stayed at the Buc. from feb. 23-march 1, the staff for the most part are very friendly, the rooms are clean, and the grounds nice, breakfast was great, we went out for dinner every night, i recc. Savant's and Kendricks, Elizabeths nothing special, Rumrunners ok, if u have kids watching the fish feed is pretty cool, Cheesburger paradise had good cheesbeuger , low key and a play area for little kids, i feel the Buc. could have included more activities into it's price as say a Beach's does, prices are comparable...we went to buck island on Big Beard Tours, the crew was very nice, they played w/ my kids ,4 and 6, we saw a dolphin and a manta ray, the snorkiling was great, i went scuba diving for a 2 tank dive, it was pretty good, saw turtles ,eels, barracuda, scorpian fish....overall as i go away every year to a new resort in the carribean or mexico, i find that as long as the weather is nice, the beaches are clean and safe thats all u really need to have a good time especially w/ young kids

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amsternrochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    280
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
369
578
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2006

This is the place for elegant, traditional, old-world Caribbean style. We spent a week in an ocean-view main house corner room which had a spectacular view of mountains, Christiansted and open ocean. My husband golfed every morning while I enjoyed a relaxing breakfast at the Terrace and walked on the spacious grounds.

Even though it was the busiest week at the hotel, and it was full, it never felt crowded. The service at both The Terrace restaurant and The Mermaid was always excellent. Is it a couple of minutes behind the wait (or lack of) you would experience in Manhattan? Yes. Is it vacation-style perfection? Absolutely. It is in no way unacceptably slow. You are on vacation. You are on an island in the Caribbean that you chose for its authentic old-world charm. Leave the Blackberry at the office.

To address some criticisms: yup, the pools aren't huge. But the warm caribbean is infinite. The main house is not glossy or new -- it's even better. Sparkling clean and classic, right down to the cracks in the marble. And it would be an absolute shame to close off the hallways and put in air conditioning. It would ruin the open, breezy feel. It's the Caribbean and it's supposed to be warm. Housekeeping was prompt and thorough. We did not see a bug anywhere, though this was probably due to the time of year.

My only complaint is that the hotel calls taxis for you, and there is a fixed rate to go into town, and you are expected to use the same driver for a pickup. The problem comes when you call them for a pickup, especially after dinner. Twice we had to wait over half an hour for our cabbie to show up for the return trip, which is strange considering that you don't pay them until the return trip. They should charge one-way and leave you to hire an available cab to get back to the hotel, not make you wait for the one that dropped you off, because they could be on the other side of the island on a fare when you need them.

If you're looking for action, nightlife and exhaustive shopping, go somewhere else. If you want an incredibly relaxing resort with all the amenities and few distractions, come here. (P.S., the people who said to bring your own hair dryer aren't kidding.)

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RockportME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

1st, I must say that the physical setting of the Buccaneer IS beautiful,and that is why we chose it for our "Dream Wedding"and HONEYMOON location,7/10/04.We invited 20 guests,and the wedding was to be on the beach,wonderful,right? On the Thursday before the Saturday wedding, my wife went to greet her mom in the hotel lobby.Her mom had arrived from Atlanta,about 8pm.The staff was taking lugguage from guests,checking in guests etc.Unfortunately,and unbeknonst,to my wife,one of staff members placed guest lugguage very near where my wife was standing...my wife turned and fell very hard,fracturing her right femur.The MANAGEMENT appeared to be UNCARING,and indifferent.We felt very bad.So,the Bride,though very, beautiful...wore crutches, AND,was VERY brave. P.S..there has NOT been a resolution to our claims to date...so "caveat emptor".

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

The Buccaneer swept us away from the moment we arrived on the grounds. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel itself was stunning. We stayed in the Dubloons and we felt like royalty, loved the beaches and the breakfast was amazing! The island itself has so much to offer and much to see. We went to the Whim plantation and the Botanical Gardens, as well as Dorsch Beach on the West side of the island. I would definately recommend all. Try Resteraunt Bacchus and Savant...was not thrilled with Rum Runners but liked the Brew Pub. Dinner at the Buccaneer was exceptional...get the catch of the day, will be great (ours was Mahi). Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2006

Hi, We just returned from St. Croix yesterday and the stay at the Buccaneer was wonderful. It is a great resort on a great island.
I views and service were wonderful but not perfect, but who is?
We would and will go back sooner rather than later.
If you are looking for glitz this is not your place, if you want a beautiful resort that is well maintained and peaceful this is your place!

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2006

This property is fantastic!!! This was my first trip to St. Croix. The Buccaneer and its staff made for a wonderful time. The property is secluded but just minutes from Christiansted. I had an ocean front room, it was large well appointed and absolutely spotless. The private veranda was a nice touch. Their complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever experienced and their beaches and two pools were inviting and well situated. Best of all was the staff. Everyone at this property was friendly and helpful. Room service was punctual and everthing came as I ordered. If you want a resort at a good value this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank javsigx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2006

The rooms here range from extravagant to an older cottage feel; equipped with all of the amenities, however I recommend taking your own hairdryer. Each room is supplied with "OFF", which I highly recommend using before stepping outside. Buffet breakfast is complete with an omelette station, good coffee, and an array of juices until 10:30am. The beds need to be upgraded, they were hard and the feather pillows too soft for my liking. We stayed in the main house with an ocean view, vs staying in the bungalow-type accommodations set closer to the water. The bungalows are definitely a better option. Customer service strives to be the best, but the wait staff in the main dining Terrace are a little slow and forgetful. Nightly entertainment ranged from piano, to island jams. Great variety of music! The fully equipped gym is stocked with treadmills, climbers, stairmasters, elipticals, and a variety of weight training stations. Housekeeping will make the bed and supply fresh towels. I thinks that's it, as on many occassions we came back to unswept tiled floors. Great location with beautiful island scenery, relaxing pools and centrally located near the better side of the island, Christiansted and only a 20 min drive from the casino. Probably the best hotel on the island!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank missyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing