We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2009

From the moment we arrived it was wonderful. I can't say enough positive things about The Buccaneer and the staff. From the moment we arrived we were met with warm smiles and people willing to accommodate our needs. The views from the rooms regardless of where you stay are amazing. Your food options are plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to singles, families, or honeymooners!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TAPNCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2009

Spent a heavenly weekend celebrating Mothers Day with my family at The Buccaneer.

This is our third time here, and the resort gets better every time we go. The newly renovated

Terrace lounge and restaurant are fabulous, and the service staff couldn't be more helpful.

We love the ocean front rooms with the patios looking straight out to sea, where the kids can literally run from our room to the beach in seconds.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonicChartersVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We were treated to a woman trying to sell us her food stamps on entry into Christenstaad. We arrived at the hotel to see dead grass everywhere. Not a welcome sight. We walked the property and saw the nasty 1968 pool and Odd Lot beach chairs. At this point we decided to leave but were stuck at the hotel for the night. The beach front was spectacular and even more impressive at night. The room was not spectacular (other than the view from the oceanfront room which was) with the cheapest bathroom fixtures imaginable and doors on cabinets that were literally falling off. There were tiny bugs on the phones which you had to catch and flick off prior to using. Also some small bugs in our bathroom -- not sure what they were. AC in bathroom was nonexistent. The concierge was very helpful in getting us the heck out of there and did manage to secure a wonderful dinner for us at a restaurant in the nearby marina. Spent most of the one night we were forced to stay there sitting on a lounge chair on the beach drinking my thoughts of this horriffic place away. Steer clear of St. Crack and this dump. Could have gotten out earlier except for the one person who refused to get off the one laptop set up in the lobby as a sorry excuse for a business center.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Waytansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Having just retired, my wife and I wanted a really special vacation experience to commemorate the event. We combed the internet looking at hotels/resorts in the Caribbean, Mexico, Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic. We spoke with travel agents and read countless reviews. There was frankly too much information. We finally chose the USVI/St Croix and The Buccaneer hotel for a 5 day/f4night stay from which we just returned.

The Buccaneer sits on a 350 acre site with a spectacular view of multiple beaches, the water and the surrounding hills. We had a deluxe ocean front room that was literally 20 feet from the beach. We snorkeled, kayaked, and just plain relaxed on the beach with good books. We ate all our meals at the resort--a complete breakfast was included.

Noteworthy was the attitude of all the staff we encountered. From our warm welcome by the bellman until we departed, I have never quite experienced such universal good humor. I have traveled the world extensively and can honestly say that the Buccaneer staff has mastered the art of customer service to a degree that I have not previously experienced.

Bottom line: across the board, we could not have had a better experience. I would highly recommend the Buccaneer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just returned from our second visit to the Buccaneer and loved it just as much as our first visit. The location, views, and beaches are all exceptional. The Terrace lounge is wonderful for the entertainment, food and views. All of the staff members we encountered were friendly and extremely helpful. We felt spoiled by having other people take care of so much for us. I am truly surprised to read reviews that suggest the opposite. We were traveling with out 10-year daughter and she was never bored -- she played on the beaches, took an intro to scuba class, played basketball and tried tennis for the first time -- all on the property. We felt safe and comfortable the entire time. A one-week stay at the Buccaneer is not the cheapest vacation, but the value is outstanding. In this economy, we wanted to be sure we wouldn't waste our vacation dollars on a sub-par experience. We were not disappointed. We also rented a car this time and got out to see more of the island. We really like St. Croix and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

When I arrived at the Buccaneer, I was instantly greeted by friendly staff who welcomed me and my friend into the beautiful hotel. We enjoyed 5 days of rest and relaxation while lounging on the white beaches and pool side chairs. At night, we wandered up to the Terrace for dinner where bartenders were willing to make any specific drink and the dinner staff could accommodate and request.
During the day we would discuss with the concierge about what to explore around the island and all of the trips were immediately arranged for us. Finally, when one of the lights in our room went out and we mentioned it to the front desk, they had someone down to fix it before we even finished out dinner.

It was, quite simply, paradise. Not only the view from hotel, but the comfortable, elegant rooms, lively decor, and engaging staff made out stay at the Buccaneer one of the best ever.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbrousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

If you need a quiet place to relax, this is it. Within a few days of arriving we were planning our next trip back. Loved that we could take long walks, visit three different beaches, play tennis or golf if we wanted to, eat at three different restaurants, all without leaving the property. The Mermaid beach usually draws all the people with kids because it is less rocky, so that makes the grotto beach nice and quiet for adults. So refreshing not to be nickled and dimed for beach chairs snorkel equipment, etc. All that was included, as was a fantastic breakfast. Staff was friendly but not overly so. I"d say friendly but reserved, which we liked. Food in all the restaurants was excellent (and we are not easily impressed). Twice daily maid service was nice..we were showering all the time and always had fresh towels. The entire resort was kept very clean. It was quite empty when we were there and they double-upgraded our room, which we really appreciated. We asked them why and they said we like to do that when we can because we hope you will come back. These are people who understand how important the customer experience is -and we are going back this fall!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tennisbuffMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $352 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing