We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Place To Stay In St. Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay In St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Buccaneer is an amazing property with two beaches that locals come to visit just for the beaches. They have a huge golf course, amazing food, and even more amazing customer service. Everyone is pleasant and kind. They clean your room twice a day, morning and evening!

I stayed ocean view in between the beaches and boy was it serene. You wake up to the sound of gentle waves hitting the sand and on your deck you have two lounge chairs and a table.

All activities (snorkeling, kayaking, etc) are free. There is a child day camp with new activities everyday (arts and crafts, etc). The beaches are small, not too busy and simply beautiful with the most gorgeous palm trees.

I will certainly choose this hotel out of any resort on St. Croix. THE BEST!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyricspoetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    267
    57
    37
    30
See reviews for
339
521
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited the Buccaneer to partake in the the full beach experience. We were also seeking a yummy lunch and decided to lunch at its restaurant right on the beach. We ordered and sipped on yummy frozen drinks and ordered food. I ate the mahi mahi spinach wraps - drizzled in a delicious citrus aioli sauce. The conch fritters were super yum, too. The bonus is that we were able to relax in beach chairs underneath the amazing trees which provided shade. We went for a swim after eating and enjoyed a beautiful view of the sunset. The staff was very friendly. Overall - a great experience - even if you're not a guest of the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The best thing about visited St Croix, one of American Virgin Islands, was learning the history of the island, eating the food and staying at the The Buccaneer near Christiansted. The hotel was the first hotel built on the island and opened in 1927. If is operated by a family enterprise.

Our room was ocean view with the 13th hole of the golf course right in front of our large patio. A very short walk gets one to one of the small pools where there is food service available. From our room, it was a steep walk up to the main building where breakfast is served. At night cocktails and entertainment can be found as well as dinner. Great views are afforded to view the sun set over the ocean and then the lights aglow in Christiansted.

The golf course has some challenges and in particular avoiding the large lizzards on a couple of holes.

Our stay was almost ruined the first night as we arrived late and went to the only restaurant opened. We were patient as the restaurant we busy but our menus were not given to us and after 10 minutes we got our own, when another 10 minutes before a waitress came, then another 25 minutes before our food came. Thankfully the food was good as it was all the other times we ate at the resort.

We took an arranged taxi and ate much of the time as well as taking a tour of the island which included Frederiksted on the other side of the island and a visit to the Cruzan Rum Distillery.

I had a nice message at the spa. The shuttle service to various parts of the resort was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in beachfront villas - the rooms lived up to the name. Rooms were absolutely on the beach with back porch step out directly onto pristine beach with gorgeous tropical waters. Amazing beginner's reef snorkeling just a short 0.5 mile swim directly off the beach.

Breakfast buffet included and although not the most inclusive buffet ever, it does NOT leave you hungry. You can get your fill of eggs, breads, meats, fruits everyday. Manager's reception one night was a nice touch. We never ate dinner at the hotel, rather ventured into the city.

Would love to come back here for the incredible beachfront villa rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TXTravelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went here on our honeymoon, we knew absolutely nothing about St Croix. We found the staff friendly and very helpful. We really enjoyed CJ on Mermaid beach. As a tennis player I found the courts excellent and the Pro Don was able to arrange a couple of matches for me. We found the concierge incredibly helpful in arranging excursions for us. Our room was a decent way away from the beach but it was very close to the dining room which balanced out. We'd certainly go back, we were totally impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bardechh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
333 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,380 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Buccaneer is located in the hills just 4 km outside of Christiansted. From the hotel you find a picturesque view of the beach, the sea and the city. The hotel is older, but is constantly being renovated, therefor it appears extraordinarily lovely and well maintained. There is a nice bar and a restaurant where you can get the most delicious food and exotic cocktails in a beautiful setting. The hotel have a magnificent pool area with two swimming pools, sunbeds, towel service and a beach restaurant.
The hotel has shuttle service to Christiansted.
We DO hope to come back one day, soon ...

Room Tip: The deluxe double rooms are slightly larger the the normal one and are all located directly on the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank springbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My extended family stayed at the Buccaneer for a week. The people who worked there were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely and an easy walk to the beach. Part of the family stayed out in their Beach House, which I would highly recommend if you have a big group. We had our own pool and lots of room to spread out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#6 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer -- St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing