We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Buccaneer is perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Buccaneer is perfection!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We LOVE the Buccaneer. Gorgeous property, three uncrowded beaches, great food with four different places to eat, really friendly service, small sundries shop that does not price-gouge.

We were upgraded from the oceanview rooms we reserved, to oceanfront rooms. Our buildings may look plain from the outside, but are beautiful inside, with dark wood cathedral ceilings and matching cabinets, marble tile floors, granite counters, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, private patio that's steps from the main beach.

Weather has been glorious.

We cancelled our rental car at the airport, and are so glad we did. Who needs to leave paradise? But we will take the resort shuttle into Christensted one day, and probably rent a car to explore another day.

So glad we chose St Croix and The Buccaneer.

Another thing we like about the Buccaneer is all the things that are complimentary, like snorkel gear and ocean kayaks, free wi-fi, free parking, bottles of bug spray in the rooms and elsewhere, a fitness center, an owner's reception on Tuesday evenings with drinks and hors d'oeuvres, a wine tasting on Wednesday, a rum tasting on Thursday, an owner's guided tour of the property, shuttle drivers available on property if you don't want to walk up the hill from the beach to the main house.

It's nice not to feel nickle & dimed while here.

Only problem is no ATM on property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    284
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
387
590
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Oh my gosh! Where do I start? The Buccaneer is simply a fabulous resort located on beautiful St. Croix. My wife and I have traveled quite a bit through the Caribbean and Central America including a one year stay in the Panama Canal Zone. We discovered The Buccaneer and St. Croix last December and we have now made two trips there. The rooms, the staff, the food, the events, and, quite frankly, all the amenities are five star. I rarely write reviews such as this but our experience at this resort has prompted me to provide accolades. If you are looking for a USVI destination, whether you are traveling with a family or as a couple or alone or however feel free to stay at The Buccaneer. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Buccaneer is an old, historic hotel. It is owned and run by a local family. The owner is readily available and happy to give a tour of the hotel grounds and to share the rich history of the island. The hotel is beautifully located and most rooms have a lovely view. Our two favorite things about The Buccaneer were the towel service (you will never run out of clean towels) and CJ (the young man who gives snorkeling tours off the beach at the hotel). Unfortunately, overall, we were disappointed in the hotel. We compared it to the Ritz Carlton on St. Thomas where we stayed a couple of years ago - there is no comparison between the two. Here are the primary problems: 1) the grounds feels tired and do not have spit and polish (the shrub / flower beds are barren and / or full of weeds); 2) the rooms are tired (while clean they have old-fashioned bedspreads, furniture, and lamps); 3) the bathrooms are clean but dated (the tub and shower are one unit); 4) the bathrooms are not air-conditioned; 5) the rooms are air-conditioned from a wall unit that leaves you very chilly when it is and very hot when it is off; 6) the windows don't open and there is no screen on the door (this is a problem since the door has to stay closed at night due to security issues and little lizards); 7) the beach chairs do not come with umbrellas (you need to be a sun worshipper to enjoy the beach - although there are a number of palm trees if you are willing to move from chair to chair as the sun moves; 8) very poor to no service if you want to eat or get drinks on the beach (one day I asked the beach restaurant hostess if I could get something delivered to my beach chair and she suggested I pick it up if I wanted it quickly); 9) the walls are paper, paper thin (on one of our nights we had to call security 3 times between 11:00 p.m. and 1:00 a.m. due to a party in the room next to ours); 10) the biggest disappointment was the food and restaurant service (while breakfast is a very adequate buffet, lunch and dinner selection is very ordinary and the quality of the food is a B / B-); and 11) the concierge seemed to have a few set places she was accustomed to referring people to (it wasn't until we started asking local staff members for suggestions that we happened onto some great restaurants (e.g., Eat). You will miss the wonderfulness of the island if you stay on the property. It should be noted that there was a good staff to guest ratio at The Buccaneer and food service was fast when we ate on the premises.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I are beach people. We live near some wonderful beaches here in Southern California. We watched a television program where a couple of employees of the Buccaneer were in search of a residence in St. Croix. We were stricken by the beauty of the scenes showing the properties and the Buccaneer. We decided to take an early vacation in St. Croix at the Buccaneer.

We flew in from Miami landing at the small but nice airport. A fleet of taxis were awaiting to whisk us to the resort. St. Croix is of the slower paced island in the USVI. We pull up to the gate at the property and were immediately taken back by the beauty of the resort.

The deskman was quick to greet us and assure us that our room had been saved for us and the restaurants were still open. Our room (211) was in the main building. The room was perfect, not understated, not opulent, simply perfect. The view of the beach, golf course and town were breath taking.

We dropped our bags and hurried over to the restaurant. We were greeted by Janet, who was super friendly and obviously liked working at the Buccaneer. She took us over and sat us against the rail, where we had a spectacular view of the bay. We ordered some simple dishes that were delicious. But, the absolute best thing on the menu was the Key Lime Bar with coconut merengue. Might, just might be the best dessert I have ever had.

Back to our room, to a wonderful nights sleep, on a really nice comfy bed. There was a good air conditioner and a ceiling fan. Kept the room at a perfect temperature. The room also had just a terrific veranda on it. Oh that view....

The next day we met with Julie at the concierge desk. Julie met was with a big smile and was happy to set up trips, and my wife's horseback ride through the rain Forrest and beach. Julie is very organized and well versed in the goings on at the resort and throughout the island.

As our stay continued that some of the restaurants would be closed and others would have special dinners. One night we had a great night at the mermaid restaurant at the beach. They had a BBQ on the beach with the chef making a great pork chop and yummy roasted corn on the cob.

A word of warning, each room comes with a can of bug repellant. We didn't use it as we had not had any problems, until sunset dinner at the beach. Yep, the "no see um's" got plenty of bites out of us. If your out at dusk give yourself a coat of deet.

During our time at the hotel we met this super nice woman, Elizabeth. She seemed to be everywhere on the grounds giving tours, talking to guests. Elizabeth is the owner of the resort as her parents and grand parents were. She is really nice and certainly caring about her guests and her wonderful resort. She took my wife on a tour of the gardens and grounds. Like her staff Elizabeth is very special, caring person.

We left the Buccaneer without having a bad moment, a few bug bites but just taken by this wonderful resort. If you looking for a real relaxing place in St Croix this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful resort on lovely well manicured grounds. Plenty of activities available for all age groups each day. Nice tennis courts, pools, and golf course. The resorts beaches were picturesque and never crowded when we were there. Plenty of space to relax. The staff was welcoming and overall exceptional. Always smiling, friendly, and helpful. Evening entertainment was very nice. We especially enjoyed the talented Jazz musicians on certain nights.
Breakfast was always delicious with a wide assortment of selections, but with at least one different item each day. The daily events and news bulletin at breakfast was a nice touch. Great way to start the day.
Our room was clean and we loved the fresh flowers in the room as well as fresh water each day.
Overall we had a wonderful and relaxing stay. I do feel that for the price a few more amenities would be nice but this would not stop us from returning. The owners take pride in this property and it shows.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat51Ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Buccaneer last week (mid-May). It was off season and we practically had the beaches to ourselves (they are lovely, by the way). I am guessing that May is "off" because other areas are warming up already but I would definitely suggest it as a great time to go - especially for couples. We stayed in a ocean front room, which was a good size - a little dated in the bedroom but a very large and pretty bathroom. Plenty of room for two to get ready for dinner. A note on the location - you are "on" the beach, but you can't walk out to the beach. You're basically on a cliff. The view is great but if you want to just walk out and be on the beach you'll need another room category. Housekeeping does a fantastic job and we always had plenty of towels and no sand on the floor. One gripe about the room would be uncomfortable beds and also a very noisy air conditioner. Buffet breakfast was included and was good, not great. We had at least one meal in each of the hotel's restaurants. We especially liked the burgers at the Grotto grill, and the surf and turf during "Chillin and Grillin" at the Mermaid. The service was quite good at all locations and we rarely experienced "island time" service. Each beach has an "activities" hut to provide towels, floats, snorkels, etc. and the people who work there are lovely and helpful.
The grounds are beautifully kept as well. A ride to downtown Christianstad is about 20 minutes and same to the local casino. If our travels take us back to St. Croix, we will definitely stay at the Buc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneyJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUS
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I like living in the desert, but occassionaly need my ocean fix, and what better place to that then The Buccaneer Resort. Although the main building has a nice selection of rooms, I prefer an ocean front room with the waves just a few feet away.A special treat this trip was dinning at the Mermaid Restaurant for their grill night and listening to a local island steel band.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing