We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for more in St Croix!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more in St Croix!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Buccaneer resort is fabulous! We were just there for the Ironman triathlon, and stayed three more days after the race to relax. We booked a family cottage, which was perfect with a 5 yr old (but only one bathroom for the 4 of us) and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffets and the sunset dining on the terrace restaurant and the Martel bar, a little more casual.
Menus were delicious and varied, and we did not have to leave the Buccaneer except for one lunch on the water in Christiansted.
We loved the beaches and pools, and the varied activities offered. Great drinks by the pool! Staff was so friendly, especially "Pat," who volunteered at the race.
I would go back again.

Room Tip: There are single rooms, condos, suites as well, all with gorgeous views on the hillside. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    281
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
378
584
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvidovre
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Fantastisk: beliggenhed, strand, altid friske strandhåndklæder, udsigt, indkvartering og service. Man bliver kørt rundt på området fra rum til strand til restaurant etc. hvis det er det man ønsker, og der er shuttle til byen. Morgenmads buffet og betjeningen er suveræn. Strand restauranterne er også super. Besøg Buccaneer, jeg er sikker på at du vil nyde det.
Fantastic: surroundings, beach, view, accommodations and service. Always lots of clean beach-towels. They will drive you from room to beach to restaurant, if you wish and there is shuttle to town. Breakfast buffet and service is excellent. Both beach restaurants can be recommended. Visit Buccaneer, I am sure you will enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivianDinesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed at the Buccaneer for the 70.3, there were 3 couples and the resort offered a little bit of everything to keep all happy. Staff was polite and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was free and plentiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Buccaneer is simply lovely...historical hotel, spacious rooms, friendly staff and a gorgeous location. It is probably the nicest resort in St. Croix, and as such, I came in expecting a lot - it simply exceeded my expectations.

I stayed in the main building but the room was fantastic - spacious and clean, with an incredible view. The rooms and facilities are very classic Caribbean - large bathrooms with good amenities, classic furnishings. Service was impeccable - twice daily service, very efficient. The rooms are spread out over the property and it never felt busy despite the hotel being sold out during my visit.

The beaches on the property are stunning, and there are several choices for on-resort dining. The food was really decent, service always friendly and the prices reasonable (for a resort in the Caribbean).

Overall, the resort has a really airy and laid-back vibe, but has traditional amenities and service. It feels safe, and the property is really spacious if you are just in the mood to stick around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rl_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My now wife and I recently were married at The Buccaneer and we couldn't have asked for more. Everything went off without a hitch even though we loaded the place with over 70 guests. Everyone had an amazing time and couldn't praise the resort and staff enough. Every part of our experience was memorable and each part was a great as the last. From the rooms and hospitality to the food and drinks, The Buccaneer is a great destination for whatever your needs are.

Room Tip: Pony up for the Ocean Front, you can't beat waking up on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the Buccaneer with my husband and 2 young children (10 months and 2.5 years old) for 7 nights in April/May 2014. The purpose of the visit was leisure - my husband participated in the 70.3 Triathlon.

Accommodation
We stayed in the family cottages. It was good value for money as the kids stayed for free and we got 2 rooms (separated by a bathroom). There was a welcome basket with a bottle of white wine and some snacks - very nice gesture. We were provided with a full size crib for my 10 month old daughter. There was no bottled water in the room, but a carafe with filtered water and a bucket of ice was placed in the room every day.

Dining
Unlike in other reviews I never got the feeling that servers expected me to tip. We did however do so.

Breakfast was free. The buffet was good - fruit, yogurt, variety of juices, variety of breads and pastries, french toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, omelets by order, scrambled eggs, bacon, quiche, breakfast potatoes and more. You can also have eggs benedict, you just need to order it a day in advance.

Mermaid restaurant: we ate lunch here a couple of times. The menu selection is reasonable.

Grotto: we ate lunch here a couple of times. A much smaller selection than the mermaid menu is offered.

We also dined off premises at Galangal and Savant. Both are highly recommended.

Amenities
- I had a pedicure at the Hideaway spa. There is no 'asian serenity' ambience, but my feet did look great at the end of it!
- The general store is very small. I needed more diapers and baby food squeezes for the baby. They only stocked packs of 2 diapers. As we didn't have a car my husband ended up cycling to the 'Stop & Save' which is about 1.5 miles from the Buccaneer for the diapers. We found the baby food at 'Food Town'
- There is a laundry with a vending machine for detergent and softener. One load costs about $5
- The running trail is great. One of the most scenic of any resort I've stayed in with several water points along the way
- Beach toys are provided at the Grotto and Mermaid beach free of charge.
- There is an oversized beach chess set, a basketball court and a small soccer field at Mermaid beach
- The hotel provides a shuttle service to wherever one wants to go on the premises, e.g. any of the beaches. It is quite hilly to get around so this service was quite useful.

Babysitter
A babysitting service is offered. Hotel staff are used with the cost being $15 per hour for 1 child and $23 per hour for 2 children. We used a babysitter twice and had a very good experience.

Customer Service
On several occasions I contacted reception to address items and they get 5/5 for service and response time.

Car rental
I arranged for a rental car from Hertz via the concierge. I just signed a form and they arranged the rest. 5/5

Taxis
Before we rented a car we got around via tai. Cost is $9 for 2 people to Christiansted one way.

We had occasions where our children seemed to bother other people - we are very strict, but there is only so much one can tell such small children and only so long one can keep them quiet. For that reason I would not recommend this resort for families with small children. We rented a house for the last 5 nights of our stay and that worked much better for us.

Room Tip: Choose the Doubloons if you can afford it - it is out of the way and looks over the Mermaid beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Buccaneer was clearly the right choice, there was no other resort that even came close. We dined at nearly all the other resorts and we very pleased with our choice of staying at the Buccaneer. There were 3 truly private beaches, 4 restaurants and two pools. The staff was unbelievable! We were having issues putting the top up on our rental Jeep and one of the staff came out in the pouring rain to assist. About 20 minutes later and completely soaked we finally got it up, no complaints just a simple no problem and a smile from him. We will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beachfront room as the views are just breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron-Kocourek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
60 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing