We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on St. Croix”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on St. Croix than the Buccaneer. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food is very good and they will accommodate any request, nightly entertainment, lots to do (or not do). Request a room in the Doubloons. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: No need to rent a car - just use the shuttle to Christiansted or have the concierge call a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louminda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

When I first arrived, we were in one of the smaller suites, and it was horrible. It was old and musty and the air conditioning was broken. There was a small beach located a few feet away and it was filled with red ant piles. We were so disappointed we almost left the island to stay at the Ritz in St. Thomas. Then, we complained and they moved us to the Dubloons. That was the best thing ever. It was newer and very spacious. We were tucked away, but were right next to the main beach. The staff is amazing and always willing to help. We went snuba diving (DON'T DO IT!) and I got stung by something in the water. One of the staff members personally went out to the store just to buy me witch hazel for my sting. They are so kind and full of personality. Let me just tell you the food is INCREDIBLE!! From the breakfast to lunch to dinner, it's all amazing. One night we went out to an Italian place called Tutto Bene and it was fantastic. The owners were so kind and welcoming. Oh and go scuba diving with Captain Mike! Overall, very fun trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank La P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Buccaneer is one of those rare gems that immediately transports you into a vacation paradise! The old world Danish influence of the owners is everywhere.The furnishings, style and feel of the resort is elegant and relaxing at the same time.The flowering bougainvillae, coconut laden palm trees and white sandy beaches are stunning but the beautiful hilltop setting overlooking sparkling Christiansted harbor at night is simply magnificent! On the night that we dined at the open air Terrace Lounge the view was enhanced by the jazz and Caribbean sounds of the Eddie Russel Band, the perfect addition to our first evening at the Buccaneer! We had heard this band on a previous visit to St Croix and were delighted to catch them again. In fact we sought them out for several other evenings and also bought several of their CDs which are available at local shops. We definitely will return to the beautiful Buccaneer and hope to enjoy our favorite Caribbean entertainment again and again, the Eddie Russel Band!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nylaurah219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had reservations at another place on the island, but when we road by and went into look at the Buccaneer, we just took our $$ lost of the other place and changed to stay here. It offers soooooo much! It is most definitely one of the best settings. You feel safe and secure. Most all the staff is pleasant. The room we stayed in, was an Ocean View, in the Tennis Villas. The rooms were huge! Very clean. There is scheduled activities every day on the resort: Meeting the owners, stilt walkers, and beachside dinner entertainment at the Mermaid Restaurant.
They offer onsite free Wi-Fi. However, it doesn't really work very well, and is most difficult to stay connected to.
The grounds are well groomed and manicured to perfection.
Every activity from kayaking, snorkeling, scheduled treasure hunts, and beach equipment is provided for, right down to your beach towels.
There are private Charter excursions that you can take, for extra $$, that will even come and pick you up at the boat dock by the Mermaid Restaurant, and bring you back.
The breakfast buffet is out of this world incredible! Soooo many choices, and healthy ones too!
Dining for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant is okay. Pricey for what you get, in my opinion, and because it is all outside dining, the food becomes cold before being able to finish it. But if you don't want to leave the resort to eat, it will do. The waitresses are very accommodating and engaging. Perhaps to engaging. They work for that tip!
Overall, I was pleased with our stay until check out time. Trying to settle the bill became very confusing with the terminology used to label different portions of the charges. It took Ashton more than 45 minutes to explain that the Folio Balance was the accumulation summary of food, bar, and tip charges.
If you rent a car, beware!!!! The street names are poorly labeled, or basically there are no street signs. The drivers are essentially lawless: driving all over the roads, much faster than any posted speed limit signs. We discovered from the locals that the locals remove street signs and signs to the airport in hopes that you will get lost, and become vulnerable to be victimized. Whether that is true or not, I'm not sure. But more than one person told us that. Just be smart if you decide to drive (and on the left side). And then another couple we met told us about the "gypsy" cabs. They were charged all sorts of different rates. Just be sure that you have the hotel or concierge arrange your cab when possible.
We enjoyed everything that the Buccaneer had to offer, and would most definitely return again.

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view would be the best to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattyinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The coral pink buildings of the Buccaneer invite you into a setting of comfort and elegance that is reminiscent of a by gone era. The palm tree lined beaches nestled against the Caribbean Sea lure you into relaxation that you forgot was possible. Whether lunching at the Grotto or dining in the more formal restaurant in main building, the food was superb and the service friendly and helpful. The real gem was the entertainment on Thursday nights, The Eddie Russell Band. Eddie is a local musician who studied at Julliard and was a jazz musician in NYC for many years. He is multitalented, playing the piano, key board and singing. His greatest gift is the trumpet. He can regal with catchy, fun tunes of the Caribbean, riff on any jazz song-hot or cool, but my favorite is when he plays the standards. He plays with such a sweet soulful sound that it brings tears to my eyes. From New York City, to New Orleans, to St. Croix-Eddie is one of the greats. Shhh-It's a secret. I just hope St. Croix holds on to him.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The view from the Dubloons was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the complementary rum punch, fruit basket, his and her Robes and slippers and welcome reception at the sugar mill. It's a bit pricey but it was worth it for a special occasion like a honey moon. We didn't do much of the activities at the resort we were too busy exploring the island and the waters. Diving and snorkling was excellent and the food around St. Croix was was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you are going to select St. Croix as a vacation destination, I would definitely recommend The Buccaneer. By far, this resort has the most to offer. It's a large complex, but feels very intimate.

Room:
We stayed in the main house. It had a very nice view of the beach and downtown Christiansted. I agree with other commenters that it could use some updating. But it was large, well appointed, clean and had a large balcony. The turn-down service was a nice touch.

Beaches:
If you have kids, Mermaid beach is the place to be - it's a little louder and more active, and they have activities for the kids. If you want more quiet, I recommend The Grotto Beach. We seemed to have the hold beach to ourselves one day.

Staff:
Lovely, very nice, extremely accommodating.

Restaurants:
We ate at the Terrace for dinner one night. I had the Mango Salad, and he had the Filet Mignon. Both were delicious. Everything you have heard about the prices are true - it's expensive. Breakfast was included in the room price - and it was expansive. Only complaint was the "French Toast" was more like wet toaster oven toast than anything else. Call me, Buccaneer - I have a great recipe.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house - Room 201 has a large balcony and a great view of the water & downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RICVisitor1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $353 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing