We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Vacation Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buccaneer St Croix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Vacation Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Buccaneer is one of those rare gems that immediately transports you into a vacation paradise! The old world Danish influence of the owners is everywhere.The furnishings, style and feel of the resort is elegant and relaxing at the same time.The flowering bougainvillae, coconut laden palm trees and white sandy beaches are stunning but the beautiful hilltop setting overlooking sparkling Christiansted harbor at night is simply magnificent! On the night that we dined at the open air Terrace Lounge the view was enhanced by the jazz and Caribbean sounds of the Eddie Russel Band, the perfect addition to our first evening at the Buccaneer! We had heard this band on a previous visit to St Croix and were delighted to catch them again. In fact we sought them out for several other evenings and also bought several of their CDs which are available at local shops. We definitely will return to the beautiful Buccaneer and hope to enjoy our favorite Caribbean entertainment again and again, the Eddie Russel Band!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nylaurah219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    280
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
369
578
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had reservations at another place on the island, but when we road by and went into look at the Buccaneer, we just took our $$ lost of the other place and changed to stay here. It offers soooooo much! It is most definitely one of the best settings. You feel safe and secure. Most all the staff is pleasant. The room we stayed in, was an Ocean View, in the Tennis Villas. The rooms were huge! Very clean. There is scheduled activities every day on the resort: Meeting the owners, stilt walkers, and beachside dinner entertainment at the Mermaid Restaurant.
They offer onsite free Wi-Fi. However, it doesn't really work very well, and is most difficult to stay connected to.
The grounds are well groomed and manicured to perfection.
Every activity from kayaking, snorkeling, scheduled treasure hunts, and beach equipment is provided for, right down to your beach towels.
There are private Charter excursions that you can take, for extra $$, that will even come and pick you up at the boat dock by the Mermaid Restaurant, and bring you back.
The breakfast buffet is out of this world incredible! Soooo many choices, and healthy ones too!
Dining for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant is okay. Pricey for what you get, in my opinion, and because it is all outside dining, the food becomes cold before being able to finish it. But if you don't want to leave the resort to eat, it will do. The waitresses are very accommodating and engaging. Perhaps to engaging. They work for that tip!
Overall, I was pleased with our stay until check out time. Trying to settle the bill became very confusing with the terminology used to label different portions of the charges. It took Ashton more than 45 minutes to explain that the Folio Balance was the accumulation summary of food, bar, and tip charges.
If you rent a car, beware!!!! The street names are poorly labeled, or basically there are no street signs. The drivers are essentially lawless: driving all over the roads, much faster than any posted speed limit signs. We discovered from the locals that the locals remove street signs and signs to the airport in hopes that you will get lost, and become vulnerable to be victimized. Whether that is true or not, I'm not sure. But more than one person told us that. Just be smart if you decide to drive (and on the left side). And then another couple we met told us about the "gypsy" cabs. They were charged all sorts of different rates. Just be sure that you have the hotel or concierge arrange your cab when possible.
We enjoyed everything that the Buccaneer had to offer, and would most definitely return again.

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view would be the best to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattyinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The coral pink buildings of the Buccaneer invite you into a setting of comfort and elegance that is reminiscent of a by gone era. The palm tree lined beaches nestled against the Caribbean Sea lure you into relaxation that you forgot was possible. Whether lunching at the Grotto or dining in the more formal restaurant in main building, the food was superb and the service friendly and helpful. The real gem was the entertainment on Thursday nights, The Eddie Russell Band. Eddie is a local musician who studied at Julliard and was a jazz musician in NYC for many years. He is multitalented, playing the piano, key board and singing. His greatest gift is the trumpet. He can regal with catchy, fun tunes of the Caribbean, riff on any jazz song-hot or cool, but my favorite is when he plays the standards. He plays with such a sweet soulful sound that it brings tears to my eyes. From New York City, to New Orleans, to St. Croix-Eddie is one of the greats. Shhh-It's a secret. I just hope St. Croix holds on to him.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The view from the Dubloons was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the complementary rum punch, fruit basket, his and her Robes and slippers and welcome reception at the sugar mill. It's a bit pricey but it was worth it for a special occasion like a honey moon. We didn't do much of the activities at the resort we were too busy exploring the island and the waters. Diving and snorkling was excellent and the food around St. Croix was was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you are going to select St. Croix as a vacation destination, I would definitely recommend The Buccaneer. By far, this resort has the most to offer. It's a large complex, but feels very intimate.

Room:
We stayed in the main house. It had a very nice view of the beach and downtown Christiansted. I agree with other commenters that it could use some updating. But it was large, well appointed, clean and had a large balcony. The turn-down service was a nice touch.

Beaches:
If you have kids, Mermaid beach is the place to be - it's a little louder and more active, and they have activities for the kids. If you want more quiet, I recommend The Grotto Beach. We seemed to have the hold beach to ourselves one day.

Staff:
Lovely, very nice, extremely accommodating.

Restaurants:
We ate at the Terrace for dinner one night. I had the Mango Salad, and he had the Filet Mignon. Both were delicious. Everything you have heard about the prices are true - it's expensive. Breakfast was included in the room price - and it was expansive. Only complaint was the "French Toast" was more like wet toaster oven toast than anything else. Call me, Buccaneer - I have a great recipe.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house - Room 201 has a large balcony and a great view of the water & downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICVisitor1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Born and raised on the island of St. Croix, The buccaneer would be an exceptional place to stay. I've read a few of the reviews referring to the "Wifi", understaffing, and also food and prices. Coming straight from my heart the bucanneer has changed but still remains one of the few, worth staying in resorts on the island. The views are breathtaking. I ran their two mile trail almost every day and also love the mermaid beach. Keep in mind that locals could also go to the beach and be among those that stay at the resort and the mermaid beach usually would get a bit full on weekends when small families may come by. But all in all its worth it. Please keep in mind that St. Croix should be appreciated for its beauty and relaxation qualities. This is not an island for club hopping or like any place on this earths existence dont go wandering around at night in places that have no street lights and you would be just fine. :-) The food tends to be overpriced but if your looking for sweet caribbean seafood expect to pay the price. The local fishermen work hard to get those 40$ lobsters on your plates so understand that market price would be significantly high. I would definately recommend The Buccanneer for that quiet time away from the fast pace world. Dont expect to have anything within 5 minutes because guess what Island time is really island time...relax, chill, take in a breath of fresh yes very fresh air. Soak in some caribbean sun and just enjoy it while it last. Trust me. I tell all my friends St. Croix is the spot if you want to just get away from the everyday hustle. Do the snorkeling, take a kayak, visit buck islands underwater national park (reefs) and just BE! St. Croix is a small island with a bad ecomony. YOu would notice places are understaffed but you have to understand the circumstances of the island before you go somewhere and expect nothing but refined best because trust me not always would you find it. As a result I had to move off island but make a travel back to my home every year. And we rely heavily on your visits and your opinions of our little island home. Understand that St. Croix is magical but you have to open up your mind and accept that your not in Texas, Florida, New York, California. Your on a little rock surrounded by the clearest waters, with the most beautiful underwater scenes and above sea level views. Take a day to just drive around from the east end of the island to the west. Find an excursion group that could take you to those beautiful secluded spots and just ENJOY!!...Enjoy people just enjoy. Tell your friends...our little island definately could use the boost. We are US so you dont need a passport, just your sunblock, shades and flip flops and an open mind and open heart. You will see how much of a hidden treasure St. Croix Is.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stx Baby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We came to The Buccaneer on a whim. We needed to be in St. Thomas for a birthday party, and asked our travel agent to find us a place on another island - any island - that would be convenient to St. Thomas. She suggested The Buccaneer, and we were so glad she did. St. Croix is a very relaxing, low-key island -- and The Buccaneer fits perfectly into this way of life. You will not find cruise ship passengers fighting over beach space, or loud, tattooed spring-breakers. The Buccaneer caters to a polite group of people, without the stuffiness of a Ritz-Carlton. There is a wonderful breakfast buffet that can be enjoyed every morning on a terrace overlooking the water, and expansive grounds for a scenic hike that boarders the golf course. The family-owned resort hosts a Welcome Party on Tuesday evenings, complete with Caribbean dancers and complimentary appetizers, wine and rum punch. The beach is very pretty and not crowded at all. You can stroll down to the beach at noon and still get a lounge chair and a prime spot. The staff is very polite and helpful, especially the beach staff, who will take guests out for a complimentary private snorkeling tour or paddle boarding. There is not a lot of night life on St. Croix, in fact - it is about as opposite from St. Thomas as you can get! But the oceanfront rooms have beautiful private stone patios, on which a bottle of wine can be enjoyed while watching the sun set. After that, a dinner at Duggan's Reef is a perfect way to finish off the day, with fabulous fresh fish and a quiet, relaxing waterfront setting. The Buccaneer staff was so helpful in getting us reservations where ever we wanted to go, including a wonderful catamaran trip to Buck Island (which is a "must-do" for anyone visiting St. Croix) and the Sea-Through Kayaks Bioluminescent Tour -- which is a very unique nighttime activity. We will definitely come back to The Buccaneer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing