We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buccaneer St Croix
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,126
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
1,062
304
67
39
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
304
67
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmermaid beachgolf coursegrotto poolocean frontgreat housebuck islandkids campjogging trailst croixfamily cottagemain buildingconcierge deskoceanfront roomtennis courtssugar millrum punchbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
808 - 813 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

What a view! What a view! Spent 4 days in a lovely beach front cottage. With everything oriented to the large bay window facing the sea and mountains. Under the bay window is a large built in seating area, which fits two people comfortably laying down. It's a great spot just to chill and read a book or take a nap after a day on the beach. There is also a door that opens to your own private patio overlooking the beach.

Every morning we walked and ran the grounds up and down the hills along the beautiful golf course. When we made it up a hill we would stop, catch our breath and enjoy the spectacular views. We would walk the warm water of the beach and enjoy exploring the coral rock further down the beach.

We had breakfast at the main house every morning and it did not disappointed. It was buffet style with a selection of local and continental cuisine, which we sampled all. I highly recommend you do the same, it won't disappoint. Excellent staff and even better service. I want to say thanks to the lovely Lady( I apologize for forgetting her name) who provided my boyfriend with the BUSH TEA. It was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed every drop. We rented a car at the airport, so we spent the rest of our days exploring the island.

I would defiantly stay here again but I hope the next time I know how to play golf. The greens are beautiful and everyone was having such a good time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank emwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I along with my brother and sister in law just returned from a week's stay at The Buccaneer. This is our fourth stay and will be returning again in July for a family reunion vacation. Why?? In all of the places we've traveled, this place is the top for outstanding service by caring staff that demonstrate by their daily actions they love what they do. They are always available to help without being intrusive. They become your new best friends!! You receive a list of daily activities at breakfast along with highlights from the NY Times. Breakfast is plentiful- hot and cold items buffet style or you can order from the kitchen. Lunch at the Mermaid is very good- hot sandwiches, salads, or flatbreads and hummus platters. You can snorkel or kayak (for free). At night you can eat either at the Martel Lounge (more casual) or the Terrace (white linen table cloths) and enjoy the menu from either place. The food competes with some of the top restaurants in the Philadelphia region .The Executive Chef even shared a recipe when we complimented him on a favorite dish. You definitely can tell this is a family run resort and they become your family. Don't waste your time or money staying anywhere else- you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Ocean front deluxe and this time we were upgraded to the famous " Bachelor Suite" WOW!!!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bailey04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Others have voted The Buccaneer as the best hotel on this lovely island and overall we certainly agree with this assessment. We stayed for 14 days in one of the "Tennis Court" villas, so the room was much bigger than the average hotel room, 2 king size beds were really conducive to a good night's sleep, very good bathroom and everything worked. The big balcony had good sea views, admittedly over the tennis courts, but if you could abstract from that, the views to coconut palms and Flame of the Forest trees don't get much better. We were impressed by the owner's interest in her guests - we have experienced "welcome" receptions before but not where there were more than ample finger snacks and sandwiches, rum punch, wine and soft drinks on tap, steel band music and more entertainment in the shape of two local performers on traditional island tall stilts, all included free of charge with a personal address to perhaps 60 guests by the lady owner. She it was who conducted a historical/botanical tour of her gardens once a week, also free to guests.
The main beach is one of the best on the island where all the equipment, sun loungers etc are also free but there are two other lovely beaches on the extensive property within easy walking distance that are almost always deserted. Above all the staff are wonderful and attentive, genuinely friendly and helpful. If we go to St Croix again we'd stay here.

Room Tip: The beach villas are, well, on the beach but it is a good hike up to the main building for breakfast etc but you can order transport to pick you up. We walked from the "Tennis Court Villas", still a bit of a hike upwards but fabulous views on the way.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here four years ago and it remains one of my most memorable Caribbean hotels. The atmosphere felt incredibly comfortable, beautiful and authentic. Imagine feeling like you are at home, but you live in paradise. I had a cold when I went down, so my excursions were limited (though many were available). Easy distance into town for dinners and a few different beaches at the hotel. The place didn't feel overly commercialized like so many areas of the carribean. Absolutely loved it and still trying to return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NYNomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed for 5 days and certainly enjoyed it. Stayed at the remote Beach House which is also nice but it does need some more attention in terms of maintenance and furnishing. Also had to wait upto 45 mins for car transfer to the main building! Generally poor level of service in the restaurant. Had to wait very long for the food which wasn't great as expected. The resort is placed lovely and offers great relaxation with fine beaches and excellent opportunity to do sports. The atmosphere is somewhat hampered by the numerous Danish charter tourists..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JPJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews