We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pack your patience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buccaneer St Croix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia Pa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pack your patience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

First the good. The resort is kept clean at all time, the staff is very friendly, the location is right on the beach. The breakfast is good and lunch at the Mermaid is enjoyable. Dinner at the Mermaid is the best but only open 3 nights. Which leads me to the bad.

The only other option for dinner is the Terrace/Martel Lounge leaves a lot to be desired. It would seem that the kitchen is grossly understaffed. This can be the only explanation to the poor service. Food consistently came out missing components, very late, and at times with old, wilted greens. For being the only restaurant for dinner the selection was scant and got very boring very fast. At a slow paced, relaxed resort my meals are a bright spot in my day. I looked toward dinner dreading, "what am I going to pick tonight?"

Also in the bad column, the pool was freezing. I watched people inch their way down the steps sucking in air as the water made its way up their body. The one day the pool was crowded, there were 4 people in it, two were kids who didn't seem to mind. The ocean was no warmer and had the added distraction of sea urchins.

While the rooms were clean, the furniture was way too out dated, was scuffed up and wobbly.

For the money I paid, I do not believe I got value for my dollar. If the owners have any hope of drawing young blood to there resort, changes need to be made. 85 percent of the clientele are over 60. They come back year after year. Good for them. I need more value for my dollar: better food. a nicer pool, a warmer pool, food served in less than 30 minutes.

Oh, and by the way, red wine does not get chilled. What a way to spoil a good bottle of wine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hoagie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    280
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
369
578
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a week in one of the beachfront rooms. It's a nice room, fridge, wet bar, gift basket, and stunning view.
Bed: made our backs hurt every night, somewhat older, plain innerspring mattress. For a place this nice I would have expected a pillow top with luxury linens.

Bathroom was very roomy and clean. Hair dryer, grooming kit, and heavenly shampoo, conditioner and lotion. One thing...the shower head only has one spray level, and on sun exposed skin it was harsh!

Breakfast was free every morning, and really nice..eggs, several breakfast meats, pancakes, French toast, fruit, multiple juices, mini quiche, grits, coffee and tea. Yum.

Staff: most staff was really not happy or too friendly. Concierge Julie sounded and appeared bothered by our call and questions. Grotto waiter Kiran never smiled or said more anything aside from "what do you want". Daniel from the Terrace restaurant was GREAT. Two of the breakfast waitresses were wonderful, but the rest of them don't smile or greet you. Maids were really nice and friendly. Make Reservations for dinner!! Otherwise you will most likely wait. Oh and the main restaurant requires men to wear collared shirts.

Room service: only open until 9pm and has a limited menu. There is a soda vending machine.

Tours: the hotel arranged a private island tour for $75 per person. They offer half day tours for $50 a person but they are only available on Wednesdays and Fridays. The tour was conducted in an air conditioned van with large windows. Our driver was a native St. Lucian, very nice. However, his tour was not worth the money. He pointed out things like McDonalds, Kmart, banks, OfficeMax and several other obvious places. We stopped twice, at the botanical garden $8 per person, and the Cruzan Rum distillery $5 per. Both were worth the trip. Botanical garden is gorgeous with tons of 17th and 18th century ruins,beautiful trees, flowers, creek and foot bridge.
The distillery tour was ok, but the good partisan afterwards you get two drinks and four samples! They don't skimp on the rum!

The last part of the tour is what they call the rain forest. It is really just a street with trees on both sides. Scenic, but not a rainforest. Roads are extremely bumpy with potholes, so brace yourself!

Boat tours: book early. Don't think because it is a Tuesday, there won't be a problem getting tickets. Big Beards is the best one.

Snorkeling: nice things to look at, but some really shallow points with spiny urchins everywhere. Just be careful. 3 of the days we were here the winds made the water too rough for good snorkeling, so if you get a calm day, don't wait!

Beaches: stunning. Quiet, relaxing lounge chairs, pool, towels, and food/drinks for sale.

Spa: average. Small, expensive, and the massage therapists were maybe a six out of ten. No couples massage, which was disappointing.

Gift shop: beautiful stuff but outrageously expensive...even for a resort. Sandals $115, Shorts $58

Room Tip: Get the doubloon rooms or beachfront view rooms for the best views and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkp213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I went to this lovely hotel two weeks ago and had a wonderful time.

The most outstanding thing about this hotel are there beautiful beaches where you can really relax. The hotel is located on the least commercialized of the US Virgin Islands, that being St. Croix. As a result of this, there is not a lot of shopping or any activities other than just relaxing. The hotel has three restaurants that we visited and, while the prices were just a bit high, you expect that for island-based hotels.

The one thing that you have to absolutely realize and accept before you decide to go is that you are going to be on "island time". This is a real state of mind in the islands and especially true on St. Croix. Many people who go there have lifestyles that adhere to strict timetables and expect things to happen within a given amount of time. This will not be the case at this hotel or any hotel on the islands for that matter. I found it to be fine and used that to learn to relax even more. So with no issue for me or my wife but I did see where some people found it very annoying. I would advise them to perhaps go to a mainland resort.

Overall I wholeheartedly recommend that you visit this lovely hotel and learn to do nothing but relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H_Man44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We returned to the Buc to celebrate a family member's wedding. Corrinne and her staff did an outstanding job, with every detail considered.
The rooms were awesome, the service outstanding, the bartendress phenomenal and the food fantastic.
Kudos for providing us with a consistent, loving brand that we can count on!

Room Tip: The hotel sits on a hill and if you are fit and don't mind a bit of walking, the main hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Buccaneer is absolutely beautiful! As with all places, there are some things that need improvement. But overall, the location is amazing, staff could not be more friendly & helpful, and beaches are great.

We stayed in an oceanfront room that was recently renovated. It was very spacious and the views were spectacular. The patio was big and set up so that there was privacy between rooms. Housekeeping was not consistent at all. Some days the room was cleaned early, while other days it was 4 o’clock. It was an issue because it was difficult to know when we could stop by the room for a break from the beach & sun. On the one day that we said something because the room hadn’t been cleaned by 5pm, the front desk staff were so incredibly helpful and polite.

The walk up to breakfast and to the bar in the evenings is definitely a steep hill, as others have said. For us, however, it helped justify the eating and drinking. The breakfast was fantastic. Everything from fruit, eggs to order, pancakes, bacon, etc., Every server we had was incredibly friendly and helpful. We also are the type that don’t get upset when things run a little slow on vacation. So, on days that we had to wait a little longer for coffee, we just sat and enjoyed the incredible view from the restaurant! We did not eat dinner in the Terrace, but did eat a couple of nights from the lounge menu. The food was ok, but nothing special. It was certainly on the expensive side for the quality compared to the amazing food/dinners we had around the island.

The resort has some things that are “dated”, but for us it added to the charm of the place! The crowd seemed to be mostly older couples or families. The beaches, restaurants and lounge were always quiet even though they were filled with people. For us, we would have liked to have a place that was a little more social at the end of the beach day to have a cocktail and talk with others. (Nothing crazy, but a nice social beachside bar.) There was entertainment every evening and it varied. But overall, it was very mellow. The location of the hotel, however, makes it so easy to head out to other places for dinner to get a change of scenery.

Again, the staff was amazing! The concierge was so helpful booking reservations for dinner, servers were friendly and everyone you passed would always have a friendly greeting. The Buccaneer is wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in a renovated oceanfront room. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandbound2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I had an extremely enjoyable vacation at the Bucaneer. This is the best resort on St. Croix. We had a room right next to the reception and it was a little noisy, so after our first night we asked the front desk if we could be moved. They said the would check and contact us later that morning. Not only did they move us we were moved to what has to be room with the best view on second floor of main building. We had a beautiful of the of the Carribean Sea and Christiansted. They then sent us a bottle of wine that night with a card apologizing to us for any inconvenience we had. We felt that kind of treatment the whole trip.

Room Tip: If beach rooms want in your budget ask for second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jhnbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

From location, views, amenities, and friendly and accommodating staff, you simply cannot beat this resort anywhere on the island. We loved that it is family owned and that the owner takes a personal interest...including hosting a reception on Wednesdays that features a superb steel drum player and maki jumbo dancers. We also recommend her personal guided history and botanical tour around the grounds. We absolutely loved the 300 series rooms that are right on the water and the lapping of the waves lull you to sleep either on your patio watching the sunset or at bedtime. The grotto is more of an adult theme area and the mermaid area has everything a family could want. The Terrace restaurant is fabulous, but men should bring a collared shirt for evening dining and you will need a reservation if you want to dine around 7pm. Hint--ask for rail side seating for a stunning view! While the price might be a little higher than some resort packages, their rates include breakfast every day of your stay and the full scale of amenities--including free guest wifi everywhere on the property more than make it worth it! The concierges will go out of their way to ensure everything and anything you want is perfect. Let them set up a tour of the island that includes a visit to the botanical garden, a historic plantation, and of course, the island's signature Cruzan or Captain Morgan rum distilleries. Their vision is to make all first time visitors part of the Buccaneer family and ambassadors for the Island. We believe they truly achieve this and we are already planning our next visit!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing