We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buccaneer St Croix
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$249
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,091
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveler rating
1,063
304
67
39
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,063
304
67
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmermaid beachgolf coursegrotto poolocean frontgreat housebuck islandkids campjogging trailst croixfamily cottagemain buildingconcierge deskoceanfront roomtennis courtssugar millrum punchbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were there for 7 wonderful days. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean woth the picture window. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful - Julie & Adrian were the best! Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. The best waitress (Patti) made are dinners special, especially our anniversary dinner. We knew that the coming in Sept. (off season) that the Terrace restaurant would be closed for two of the nights of our stay, but we had the pool and the beaches to ourselves. We rented a car and explore the island, and Adrian gave us great information on what beaches and restaurants to visit. We now trying to figure out when we can come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherin1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall, the experience of St. Croix was wonderful. The Buccaneer has the appearance of a 4 star wanting to be 5 star and not quite making it. With that being said, we would go back again in a heartbeat. First, the negative. We wanted to schedule a special dinner at the Terrace on our 2nd night and made reservations 2 weeks in advance, only to find out after we got there it was closed that night. Their response? "Oh well, sorry". So we had to change our plans a little, but we should have been told when I tried to make reservation. On our last night, the waitress messed up my wife's order, and then proceeded to tell us (argue?) she ordered fish (which she doesn't like much). Then she charged us for some veggies we did not order, so no tip that night. "The customer is always right" still applies, doesn't it? Overall, the food was good but the service was way too slow. I know I heard all about "Island time" but for what they charge, food service could be more timely. We had to wait at nearly every meal there (except breakfast).
The room should have been cleaner when we got there. There was a thick layer of dust in the closet shelf and some clothes tags from a previous occupant's shopping trip, which was dusty also. Really wasn't interested in putting our things there.

The positive. Amazing views! Oceanfront room was plenty big. Very nice bathroom. Sufficient amenities. Huge plate glass window and QUIET! When the noisiest thing you hear from your patio are the waves lapping up on the sand - that's nice. We liked the fact it was off season. Being from the south, the warmth did not bother us. Bugs were around, but up on the Terrace we never had a problem. The beaches were very nice and its hard to beat their convenience. When the snorkeling essentially right outside your room is good, its hard to think of something better. (But go to Buck Island!) Other than the slowness of the food service, all the staff were very friendly and polite all the time. The concierge service was knowledgeable and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. You can tell the resort has some age and needs some work and I'd imagine upkeep in a salt environment and on an island is difficult at best, but its a cost of doing business. One odd note: the Grotto pool, which most pictures show as having one of the "endless pool" edges, now has a big metal grate over it. Kinda spoils the effect. I'm not sure why its there.
Overall, St. Croix and The Buccaneer was a memorable way to spend our 30th! I would definitely go back again, but just a wee bit smarter next time.

Room Tip: Main building rooms up on the hill may have more breeze. They were in the process of remodeling some oceanfront rooms while we were there, so they may be nicer.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HersheyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was here for three nights, on business. I did get to enjoy a few hours swimming in the Caribbean and laying in the sun. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. There were many options to select from. The view was great as well. Lunch - both fair and overpriced. Dinner - very good one night, very poor another. Service was soooo slow. No one wants to send something back that took almost two hours to get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AureliaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My daughter and I loved staying at the Buccaneer on our week vacation to St Croix, room was great, grounds beautiful, service excellent. We were there during off season (Sept) and not all the restaurants were open daily, some events on the calender had been canceled, but none of this interfered with our vacation. Employees were exceptional from the front desk personel to the drivers who provided transportation around the island and to Christianstead. A special thanks to Richy for driving us to town and to the kitchen for providing a boxed breakfast the day we left for the airport at 6AM.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe ocean view room with a private patio and loved it. We were close to the main building but also able to easily walk down to the beach. If you don't want to walk back up the hill to your room they will call transportation for you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nichms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a relaxing 1 night business stay. Dinners and breakfast was good. The lunch was only ok. The rooms were excellent. Snorkeling was pretty cool just right off the beach. The snorkeling equipment was a little flawed and I wish the weather had been better but overall the property overlooks a beautiful spot in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: The walk up the hill to the main building will get your blood pumping.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ryanslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews