We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Where to begin on how awesome this place is, because we had an amazing stay at the Buccaneer for our honeymoon.
1)The rooms, the beaches, and just everything in general on the grounds of the resort are very clean and well kept. Palm trees provide natural shade on the beach which made this quiet paradise even better.

2) The staff is incredibly nice and accommodating - definitely ask for the "muscle relaxer" rum punch when you arrive :). My only caveat about the staff is unless pushed for local fare, they will direct you to the basic tourist restaurants.

3)The views from the rooms and essentially anywhere on the grounds of the buccaneer are fantastic because the main lobby and dining area are at the top of a hill overlooking the ocean.

The Buccanneer is in a great location; you are close to town but when you are on the grounds and the beaches you feel as though you are on a distant paradise. Lunch at the mermaid is good, but the dinner at the main dining area is overpriced for what you get. Definitely check out tripadvisor for restaurant recommendations in Christiansted. Galangol and the Pickled Greek are great restaurants and should definitely be checked out.

Overall we had a very relaxing and wonderful stay and I would highly recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Grotto are great and have a very close view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigskybluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

GREAT!!! HOTEL with amazing views, very clean rooms, free water sports equipments (not much to choose from though) FREE!!! kayak tours by cjay (cant find that anywhere else on the island or any place else in the world come to think of it) basketball court, tennis courts, golf course, walking trail. Great place to stay as a family

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31DAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Buccanneer over Labor Day weekend last year with some friends of ours and had the best experience! The staff was so nice and accommodating we had a great trip from start to finish. The Buccanneer is in a great location; you are close to town but yet on their beaches you feel as though you are far away from everything! I actually have family that lives on the island, and have stayed at many places, but I'd have to say that The Buccaneer is my absolute favorite! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are to die for. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

PROS: The property is gorgeous! The room I stayed in (Ocean view in the main building) had enough space, great view and was always clean! Great complimentary breakfast. The massages I had at the spa were great!

CONS: The restaurants are ok. The food could be better but the worse thing is the service. The staff is really nice but there are not enough waitresses. So it can take up to 15 minutes just to get the menu… The service on the beach is really poor, almost inexistent (it is a pitty because the beach and chairs are really good).

They definitely have to hire more staff for the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Buccaneer Beach House at Whistle Point was legendary. The 180 degree ocean view, private salt water pool, amazing golf course, and fabulous service made the vacation magical. My favorite part of the estate was the master suite shower. It had an ocean view to die for. I had the cleanest haiir on the island! The Beach House was the perfect place for our reunion. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Overall a beautiful location and generally friendly staff. However for the price, the service really should be better. The restaurant service is spotty with barely warm eggs at the breakfast buffet, slow service at night, same menu items have different quality and quantity from one day to the next, some folks get a complimentary appetizer and some do not, etc. Front desk people never cracked a smile and seemed generally unattentive or maybe understaffed, once completely ignoring/forgetting one of our requests.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms for great views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 260LouisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What an awesome way to spend our 25th Wedding Anniversary! Seriously we were treated as though we were their only guests. We did not encounter one negative issue the entire stay, the staff truly enjoy working there and it shows they work very hard to please and I would have to say they have perfected the formula. Our Room was fabulous great views, comfortable furnishings and housekeeping staff that took great pride in keeping it maintained. Can not say enough about the food no matter where you decided to dine Terrace Room to the Grotto Beach the food was fantastic be it a more elaborate meal to a simple salad it never dissappointed. For us it was truly the best experience we have ever had on vacation, and part of the reason for this we believe is because they treat you like family.

Room Tip: The rooms between Mermaid Beach and Grotto Beach are spectacular and the View is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjr42288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $345 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing