We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buccaneer St Croix
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$249
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,091
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveler rating
1,062
304
67
39
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
304
67
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmermaid beachgolf coursegrotto poolocean frontgreat housebuck islandkids campjogging trailst croixfamily cottagemain buildingconcierge deskoceanfront roomtennis courtssugar millrum punchbeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Buccaneer is a beautiful place to stay in St. Croix. The location is just GREAT with fantastic views. We were lucky to get an upgrade so we stayed in two of the oceanfront rooms with connecting doors and a great view of the bay. Rooms are nice and spacious and the beds are good. The staff is very caring and do everything they can to make you feel good. Pat did a fantastic job at the Terrace restaurant. The food is really good - the dinner menu offers a lot of great opportunities. Kayaks can be rented for free and the palm trees offer you good shade on the Mermaid and Grotto Beach. The whole family just had an awesome stay!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottrup_friis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just the nicest place to be. The service is wonderful and the place is beautiful. The beach is the best in St. Croix. The staff really tries to make you feel like it is your second home. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycfamily1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I needed to relax and unwind, totally recharge our batteries, When we arrived we locked our cell phones in the safe and enjoyed a great week of vacation. The staff at the Buccaneer was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, both at the resort and at area restaurants that were recommended. A typical day for us was breakfast, beach, swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, reading, napping on the palm tree beach! Then afternoon cocktails and dinner. The restaurant manager, Benjamin De Mauriac was extremely helpful, pleasant and attentive, all of the resort staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: I loved the main house, with an ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happywife5583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the Buccanner for 7 days with my husband during spring break and had a great time. The Buccanner has a great location on St Croix, beautiful views and nightly music at the bar/resturant each night.
The hotel was great, but not the best I have been to, the food was great but also not the best , however, Chris who works as a server/bartender here was the best bartender I have ever seen/met anywhere.

Chris is upbeat, friendly and professional. He made the best drinks paying close attention to detail ( he has an in-depth knowledge of drink mixing techniques and drink ingredients). He made a point in making sure each customer feels at home, relaxed and comfortable in the bar rather they were just stepping off of the beach or dressed up for a night out.

I would think that it would hard to find/keep an employee like this...Great job Buccaneer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandiegosuz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights on the occasion of her birthday, and we are very happy we did. It was not a perfect stay, but staff more than made up for the little problems. This resort is all about keeping its customers happy, and they do a great job of it. Upon our arrival, we were told we were given an upgrade. Indeed, the room we were led to was one of the ridge rooms, near the main building, with a beautiful view of the blue waters below. On day 2, we decided to try the whirlpool bath, only to find it was not working. In addition, it had rained the night before, and water was leaking into the room, by the front door. I called to notify the front desk of these 2 problems. A few minutes later, Francis called us back and asked if we could be ready to move in 30 minutes. When the shuttle bus arrived in exactly half an hour, it took us to the finest possible upgrade -- down to the Doubloon facilities, right by Mermaid Beach. Our already once-upgraded room had become a beautiful, recently renovated suite, complete with working whirlpool bath and the most exquisite balcony imaginable. Turns out our balcony adjoined what the maid called "the iguanas' village." Sure enough, in addition to the sparkling waters at our feet, we also were able to get good video footage of an iguana grazing a couple of meters away from us, as well as occasional glimpses of 2 playful mongoose (mongeese??), all in our own private little yard. Yes, this truly was starting to feel like Paradise!

The service at the resort is first class all the way, from the many helpful front desk staff, to the crew of friendly breakfast waitresses. However, one potential upgrade is in the concierge department. While striving to be helpful, it became clear that the 2 concierges we dealt with had only relatively superficial knowledge of what the island had to offer. We seemed to know more about some of the restaurant options from our own Trip Advisor research than the concierges did! That simply should not be the case. Nevertheless, they were friendly and tried to be helpful.

At this child-friendly resort, you can borrow snorkling gear and 2-person kayaks. You can play tennis and golf. You can relax at 3 distinct beaches, 2 of which also feature snacks, lunch and drinks. You and your children can participate in hermit crab races. You can shop in a friendly boutique, and you can get pampered at the spa. You can also enjoy wine tastings, rum tastings, and a 30-minute session with the executive chef and his staff, along with occasional happy hour type events.

The main building's bar is very cheerful and benefits from a direct view of the Caribbean and of the town of Christiansted across the bay. Spectacular sunsets are the norm. Same goes for the Terrace restaurant, where good dinners are served, often to the tune of live music emanating from the adjacent lounge. Breakfasts are fantastic, with all the fresh fruit you can stomach, a variety of fresh fruit juices, eggs prepared any way you like them, waffles, pancakes, grits, potatoes, bacon, and island specials such as johnny cakes and salt fish.

Enjoy every minute at this fine resort, because time will go by way too fast!

Room Tip: Get one of the lower Doubloon rooms to see iguanas and mongoose up close and personal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews