We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Times at the Buccaneer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Times at the Buccaneer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a GREAT time we had at the Buccaneer in January!

First, the Buccaneer grounds are extraordinary, with 2 of St Croix finest beaches, an immaculate pool, and some of the best golf landscapes in the country (I'm sure that third hole is on WiiGolf!). We could sit on the beach or do one of the many activities they offered: kayaking, paddleboarding, snorkeling and yoga to name a few.

Next, let me mention the staff: Adriane at kids camp, Charnel at the pool, Ortiz in the van and Shane in the dining room were so cheerful and helpful.

The kids camp was a nice physical facility with great activities and as mentioned very professional staff. Our kids went almost every day - in fact they asked to go. The staff was responsible, kind and attentive. We still have those cute hats they made.

Breakfast was exceptional: I'm still digesting! A huge buffet - a delicious way to start the day.

Music in the evening was so much fun: we really liked the Makojumbees and music in on the Terrace overlooking the lights of Christiansted.

The golf was tremendous: we played 4 of our seven days. The environment was unpretentious and kid-friendly but still truly challenging. And there was a beautiful running course around the golf course with the most amazing views of the aqua Caribbean waters.

So to summarize, this was a great vacation. The Buccaneer is a perfect place to go for a family vacation. We will definitely return!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    282
    61
    37
    30
See reviews for
381
585
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a beautiful resort, well taken care of with a lot of character that's not often seen in today's resorts. I LOVED buck island and thought the snorkeling there was truly amazing... I can not say enough. Beautiful
Location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elainehix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the main lodge. The rooms were clean and spacious, they good use a little updating with new bedspreads but other than that were very pleasant. We went to the different beaches and went snorkeling. The beaches (Grotto & Mermaid) were very pleasant and the water very warm. In the evenings bartender Terry will make you feel right at home. (bartender Larry not so much) The breakfast buffet was disappointing for that level of hotel but other than that the food was delicious and priced reasonably (for an island hotel). We definitely will return.

Room Tip: They have some wonderful beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a delightful time, at this hotel. Relaxed and enjoyed the hotel at its max capacity. The staff was friendly and the service was great. We enjoyed the Salsa Night Band on Saturday. The breakfast was outstanding as well as the beverages nice, tasty and strong. We loved the pool and the beach, there is a small lil dock which we enjoyed as the sun started to set, There is plenty to do, games, vollyball, golf and basketball. The complementary kayaks and snorkiling gear is a must thing to take andvantage of. Make sure you have your camera ready because there is alot of moments you will love to capture in this beautiful location. After 6pm bugsray is a must in St Croix the No C umms will get the best of you if you dont. It was a business trip, which also became a pleasure trip do to our Aniversay falling right in during our stay. It was a bit of paradise which we enjoyed while staying here!
ONE LIL DETAIL WE DID NOT LIKE, THE SITTING AREA NEAR THE WINDOW IN OUR ROOM, HAD MOLD (BLACK MOLD).. BEFORE YOU SIT ON THE LIL MAT NEAR THE WINDOW INSPECT IT FIRST AND IF IT HAS MOLD ASK THEM TO PLEASE ADDRESS IT! i GUESS MAYBE YOU SHOULD ALSO SPRAY THE LIL MAT JUST IN CASE!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, on the beach area of this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkingPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel areas are very clean, the rooms are simple but beautiful (could say a little outdated), but the attention is excelent! - the bartender gave us her personal phone number in case we got lost to a recommended restaurant we asked about. The hotel grounds are gorgeous and very well maintained.
The island is fairly small so you can drive anywhere in a very short time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

For 20 years we have visited the Caribbean twice a year and never felt compelled to return anywhere until we stayed at the Buccaneer. We first came here in 2005 and returned within two months! Always a pleasure from rooms to staff. We have brought family members with us on several occasions from parents to teenagers and everyone has loved every minute of it! The Frigate Room & Ficus Suites overlooking the Grotto are great for families. The Doubloons are spacious and private. The Deluxe Oceanfront rooms have been recently renovated and are fabulous as well. This review has been a long time coming! Maybe we just wanted to keep it to ourselves :)

The Spa is lovely and always worth having a service or two or more each visit. The concierge is fantastic with arranging dinner reservations on island. Rent a car. It is easy to get around the island and there are so many fabulous restaurants and places to see. The Buccaneer is the perfect central location to stay and convenient to get wherever you want to go. The beaches at the resort are beautiful with swimming and snorkeling right off the shore.

Larry at the Terrace bar is fantastic from drinks to restaurant reservations to golf instruction! Just love him!

Art lessons with Jane Akin right on the Terrace - a must do even if you are not artistic. You will leave feeling like and artist! Arrange to see her studio - no doubt you will want to purchase some of her work. I designed a whole kitchen around one of her prints! And I can't think of one room in my house that does not have at least one piece of her artwork!

Have not had the pleasure of attending the managers cocktail reception as we have always had plans when it was taking place. However, we hear that Elizabeth Armstrong is a pleasure and it is entertaining with the Moko Jumbies.

The golf course is nice and landscaping around the property is always well maintained and beautiful.

Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longing4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and each time in a different area of the property. The main part of the hotel is very nice and love to stay there for some down time alone. The condos near the beach are a great family location and an easy walk to the beach. The food is wonderful and love the outdoor eating areas. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is warm, welcoming and friendly. The weather is beautiful and sunny with clean beaches and bright blue water. It is easy to get to the downtown area. I really enjoy my visits to this location and this island.

Room Tip: The main hotel is good for single travelers wanting a lovely retreat. The outer condo areas are a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing