We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I'm staying here at this hotel and it is very nice! 18 holes Golf course is challenging with uphills and downhills! Restaurant food is excellent. Food prices are not bad considering this is a Golf Resort. Downtown Christianstead is less than 10 minutes if you want to eat at downtown Boardwalk. There are a lot of nice places around!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Wilfredovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Perfect was the word I used to describe my entire experience at The Buccaneer and in St. Croix. But even still, that word does not completely express how magical it was. My (now) husband and I had the privilege of having our wedding, with our family and friends by our side, on Mermaid Beach at The Buccaneer Hotel in St. Croix. Carolyn and her entire staff were AMAZING!!! They handled every single little detail and we didn't have to worry about a thing. I wish I had the time and the space to give a detailed account! We honeymooned there too and it was just simply incredible. The resort and the island are amazing!! I can't think of a single negative thing to say. Our children, ages 12, 14, 23, & 25 - all had a great time! There was something to do for everyone of all ages - right there on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlgnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wouldn't honor the stash rewards that they promote so prominently on their website. Management could care less about the consumer. Very disappointing. Expected better customer service for the price. Unwilling to go out of their way to make the stay more pleasant or enjoyable for the traveler.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Venus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElizabethArmstrong, General Manager at The Buccaneer St Croix, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi Venus D,

We are sorry that your experience with booking a reservation was not to your satisfaction.

Since you have not yet stayed at the hotel, we feel you have not had the opportunity to experience our world class service our past guests rave about.

The Buccaneer is a proud member of Stash Rewards and honors our relationship with them by distributing points for eligible room rates. Since you were planning to visit us in the near future for one of St. Croix’s wonderful sporting events, we were delighted to offer you a heavily discounted rate dedicated to the event. In turn, the rate would not be eligible for stash points, as previously advised by our team.

Warm Regards,
The Buccaneer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Buccaneer made our wedding/honeymoon amazing. We were not sure how everything would turn out since we were only in contact with Carolyn, our wedding coordinator, by fax, but rest assured, she did an amazing job. Surprises at every turn. We were upgraded to the Doubloon rooms right on Mermaid beach, and our view was breathtaking. The women in the salon we fantastic and really took great care of me on my wedding day.

The food at the breakfast buffet every morning was extremely good and the service was 1st class. Every employee at the hotel went out of their way to make sure we were happy and didn't want for anything.

Cannot wait to return for our 1st aniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbum808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Again we had a wonderful stay at The Buccaneer Hotel and found little need to leave the resort spacious grounds. This visit we had the pleasure of watching a 5 mile ocean swim race with some world class swimmers from around the country ending on the hotel beach....exciting!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in one of the Family Cottages which was nice for having separate bedrooms. The second bedroom had an under the sea mural which my girls loved. The location is good if you have little ones as the hike up the hill to the breakfast buffet can be a bit challenging in the heat. Basically, you are halfway to the Grotto Beach and halfway to the main dining room. The resort does provide a shuttle around the resort which we didn't use, but you can get around the walking if you want to. Didn't use our front patio. You get a partial view overlooking the ocean to the left, and a frontal view of the road and Ocean Front rooms. Liked the ambience of the Ocean Front patios. One thing that was surprising was that the resort grounds were brown. We went in August, and it is not green as in the website photos. Was expecting a more lush environment. The kids club was a highlight! The ladies are all lifeguards and do take the kids out kayaking, snorkeling, and swimming in the ocean. This was great as we didn't feel that we had to rush back in order for the girls to get some time in the ocean. They usually go swimming at the upper pool in the am followed by the ocean in the afternoon. The kids club room is cutely decorated, and the ladies have loads of wonderful crafts for the kids to do when they are not going on a treasure hunt, etc. There were some days that our two girls were the only ones in the club, and they still LOVED it! The service overall at the hotel was exceptional. I can't say that I have ever been at a hotel where I genuinely felt like the employees were happy working there. Everyone was extremely friendly and happy...that was the biggest take-away from this resort. We left wanting to come back for the people. Don't miss the manager's cocktail reception. They had stilt walkers which were so much fun to watch in action.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank divingmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have really come to love the Buccaneer, as I am a guest there every year for their annual Swim Race in October. The staff is extremely pleasant, resort is beautiful, and service is impeccable. I think they go all out to make sure their guests are happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlysue41382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $352 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing