We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buccaneer St Croix
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the buccaneer and loved it. Loved going into christianstad to get fresh fish. Local fare and lots of hiking, we loved it so much we have to explore the rest of the islands.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

We went to St. Croix in Feb. of 2010 and stayed at the Buccaneer. What a lovely resort! The staff was quite friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The grounds were beautiful, rooms clean and very accommodating. Our weather was perfect. I loved the fact that this was a place with history, no a new glitzy place. Absolutely no complaints. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: We moved from up near the main area to a room facing the ocean....had a balcony..great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmcicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I got married at The Buccaneer May 29th, 2011. Everything was beyond perfect!

Carolyn was our wedding coordinator and she helped plan our wonderfully romantic wedding in the St. Croix. Her hard work and care ensured that our day was enjoyable and stress-free. We appreciated her personal attention and every effort, from selecting the location, recommending flowers, the perfect videographer and one truly spectacular photographer.
From the first time we spoke, we were impressed by her warmth and professionalism. Our intuition told us she was the perfect coordinator for us and I'm happy to say our intuitive sense was right on the mark. Her experience greatly exceeded our extremely high expectations. Not only are we still raving about our wedding day, but we're also recommending your hotel and your services to any and everyone who inquires.
We will definitely be going back to celebrate numerous anniversaries in the future.

If anyone would like additional feedback about this resort, Carolyn, or a destination wedding in general, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at The Buccaneer. We would definitely return to this beautiful hotel. The views and sunsets are just outstanding. We were surrounded by a very friendly staff and felt safe. The hotel was very clean and the beaches were impeckable. I would recommend a massage while there. The best massage ever. The food is good however a bit pricey. We went to the store and picked up snack items and soda. There is no need to buy bottled water as it is safe to drink. My husband enjoyed the snorkling at the Grotto beach and we spent many hours there. Buck Island is a must see and well worth the money. The most beautiful beach I have ever seen was at Buck Island. I recommend a catamaran. Remember to take Off bug spray. The hotel provides a can in your room. Excellent idea ! On a scale of 1-10 I rate this hotel a 9. Would love to give it a 10 but then there would be no room for improvement. We hope to return in the near future and someday would love to move to the island. Give the Buccaneer a try I promise you wont regret it. The only thing that could use some improvement was the mattress. Love The Buccaneer!!!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms by the Grotto are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here after Irene hit the Islands and I must say I was glad we did. Once we entered the property my stress and worry about getting there went away. From the moment we entered the lobby until the day we checked-out the staff was great - always there with a smile and ready to answer questions or help. We had a room by Mermaid beach and we loved it, well furnished big room and the walk-in closet was amazing. Groto beach became our favorite for snorkling but Buck Island is a must (it is worth the $$ because you will not be able to see this anywhere else). Food can be pricey, but truthfully we went to the supermarket and even there everything was expensive (except for the alcohol).

All together, we loved it and hope to return soon for another getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank delfin113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our rating is based on our room, the price we paid for our package, the amenities for the kids, and the friendly staff (although the service can be slow and erratic sometimes). This was a last minute trip before the kids (6 year old twins) went back to school. It is a very family friendly resort with 3 beaches, 2 pools, and a great kids camp that is available all day for free (other than lunch). Good snorkeling right off 1 of the beaches, and the resort provides the equipment (but get it early in the morning or they may be out). Bring water shoes because the snorkeling beach is rocky. They do have a sandy beach (Mermaid) which is great for swimming. There are also other kids activities, basketball, tetherball, tennis (although they charge to use the tennis courts), etc.

We booked through a luxury travel discount site and got a package that included a new room called a doubloon which was very large, bright, and well appointed. It was a great room right on Mermaid beach (the sandy beach). We did see one of the "deluxe" rooms that some friends booked through a travel agent in another part of the resort which overlooked the beach, and it was dark and dated and not nearly as nice as ours, although they paid more than we did.

It's worth renting a car because there are other great beaches to explore on St. Croix (we especially liked Cane Bay which has good snorkeling right off the beach and a very good restaurant "Eat at Cane Bay"). You do have to drive on the opposite side of the road, but once you get the hang of it, frankly it's easier than the way we drive in the US, particularly at night because you're not looking directly into the headlights of the oncoming traffic. The restaurants at the resort are pretty consistent with what you expect at a destination resort, i.e., OK, but not great, and somewhat expensive, so the car will give you an option to eat some meals elsewhere and do some touring.

HIghly recommend a trip to Buck Island. It's expensive, but extraordinary. By far one of the best snorkeling trips available in the Carribean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDH1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buccaneer in August 2011, and would definitely return. The hotel is an old plantation and is family-owned. It's not sleek and new, so don't expect that. But the views are spectacular, the rooms are clean and well-furnished, and the staff is fantastic. They go out of their way to help you however they can -- from the concierges and front desk, to maids and waiters, everyone is friendly and extremely helpful. We have VERY high standards when it comes to food, and were very happily surpised by the high quality here. The fish dishes -- mahi wraps, linguine and shrimp -- are the best, although we had ribs that were very good too. Very nice golf course as well -- it's not difficult, but it is scenic. It's fairly expensive, but you have to pay for quality. Overall, we are SO glad that we stayed at "The Buc" and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NL2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
501 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $350 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Buccaneer St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing