We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another year, Another Great Dive Experience with SCUBA”

St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.
Ranked #2 of 27 Tours in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The friendliest dive shop on earth operates two dive boats, one from Christiansted and one from Frederiksted, diving all of the moored dive sites along the island's north and west shores. As a full PADI 5 Star IDC training facility SCUBA conducts all scuba dive training from Discover Scuba Diving (intro) courses through professional level.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I dove with SCUBA back in 2001, and had such a great experience that there was no doubt at all about diving with them again when we returned this year, 2014. We dove one day from Christiansted (on Reliance), one day from Frederiksted (on Scuba Dos), and a night dive right off Frederiksted Pier.

These folks are great - the divemasters are professional, courteous, and safety-focused. The boats are comfortable for diving, there are a small number of divers, and the pineapple between dives is tasty, tasty! Dive shop staff are knowledgable and friendly, making note of preferred dive sites and recommending the best eats on the island (take their advice!). Gear is kept and rinsed for you after every dive day. And you don't have to be around long to bump into the owners, who are dedicated, involved, and friendly.

If you can, try to dive with Mark and Clint, and Captain Fuzzy - these guys are absolutely top notch - fun, easygoing, safety-minded, and extremely guest-focused both on the boat and underwater. We really felt special, like we were having fun with friends, rather than being just paying customers. Very nice job, guys!

Thanks to their letting us make some choices on dive location, we had the chance to take in day dives on the wall, 4 wrecks, and Fredricksted pier. St Croix offers great diving - not a zillion fish but a diversity of fish, reef creatures, and coral life that is really spectacular, and Fredricksted pier is a top notch dive spot with diverse life and vivid colors due to shallow depth, set against looming pier pilings stretching up to the surface, quite a sight.

On the night dive, we were one-to-one with the divemaster, who showed us clearly where we'd be diving and even walked us through the exit area as part of the pre-dive briefing to make sure we were comfortable with it. Underwater, he showed us many cool things, including more sea horses than I've ever seen before.

Overall, these folks were great and we'll plan to dive with them again next time we're in St. Croix.

Thank JMolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

What a great review, thank you for taking the time to write it. I think my favorite part of it was ".....like we were having fun with friends, rather than just paying customers......" That is exactly what we strive for. You may arrive as a customer but we hope you'll leave as a friend and it sounds like that's exactly what happened with you. Thank you again for diving with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 753 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

When it comes to dive charter operations I have never had a better experience than I did with the wonderful staff of SCUBA. They do everything for you from changing out your tanks on the boat to rinsing and returning your gear for your next day on the boat. I did not lift a tank all week. These guys bend over backwards to please customers including running the boat miles down the coast to experience a better reef. Our group did 12 dives over 6 days including two off Fredericksted on their other boat. Special thanks to divemasters ET and Mark and captains Fuzzy and Tom ! Dave H.

Thank alust4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

It was great to have your group here diving with us last week. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review of our services. Everyone on our staff is proud of our policy to not allow guests to do any work. Vacation time is precious time and we want to make sure you make the most of yours. Your group was a LOT of fun which makes our work even more meaningful. Thanks again for the review and for diving with us. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a great time with this crew. It was our first time diving and everyone in our group of 6 or 7 felt comfortable the whole time. They are relaxed but very safe and do everything they can to make it an enjoyable experience (like pineapple and beer after you finish your dive). Our crew of Mark, Fuzzy, and Clint was the best. Would definitely go back!

1  Thank Blaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Blaire thank you for Discover(ing) Scuba Diving with us during your recent visit to St. Croix with your friends. Our staff absolutely loves having the opportunity to take guests like you diving for their first time ever. Seeing the post-dive grins on the faces is wonderful, and reading a great review like this one that you took the time to write is especially nice. Now come on back and let's get you certified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The staff was knowledgeable (Mark and Fuzzy), and they really took care of you. Took us to great dive spots, put in a "hookah" (not what you're thinking), it was a safety regulator that hung down at the 15' depth in case you ran into trouble and still needed your safety stop, they had drinks, etc., aboard, and were very patient and attentive. Highly recommend these guys.

1  Thank Travelzlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for diving with us and taking the time to write this review. We do pride ourselves in doing everything needed for diver safety (such as the "hookah" line) and of course all the amenities to make sure your above-the-water experience with us is great as well. Thank you for recognizing all this. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I were recommended by our hotel to dive with SCUBA. I had never dived in the ocean before this trip, but I was put at ease when I met Clint and Tom. They were helpful, encouraging, and made this trip an experience I will never forget. The staff was friendly, remembered our names when we came back for our second trip, and a pleasure to dive with. I highly recommend diving with this amazing team.

1  Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Casey, thank you for diving with us and for taking the time to write this review. We were delighted to be able to provide your first ocean diving (not too much of that in Arizona?). We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc. also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing