We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Visit on the Celebrity Summit Cruise Ship”

St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The friendliest dive shop on earth operates two dive boats, one from Christiansted and one from Frederiksted, diving all of the moored dive sites along the island's north and west shores. As a full PADI 5 Star IDC training facility SCUBA conducts all scuba dive training from Discover Scuba Diving (intro) courses through professional level.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are just back from our trip and dove with St. Croix SCUBA. It was really a great excursion.

We are unique group in that we had 2 certified divers and 2 experienced divers that love to resist certification so they just take Discover Scuba over and over and over...

Ed suggested we do a quick discover scuba lesson then demonstrate the skills right where the boat docks so we could be off on our 2-tank morning dives without wasting time in a pool. This really worked out. We met up with Mike at 8:30 am and he went through the lesson, then the boat arrives and we loaded up. The 2 discover divers hopped off the boat and did the skills and we were on our way.

Mike and Erica were excellent. We were the only group on the boat, so it was an extra special day. We did 2 tanks and the diving was great, and I can only imagine it gets better when the other half of the family get certified and we can do the famed wall dive on our next visit. The only complain I can come up with is that there is no camera bucket on the boat. An added plus is they pick you up direct from the cruise ship pier. I am always lugging my gear with me so the shorter the distance to the boat, the better!

We would dive with St. Croix SCUBA again and would recommend them.

1  Thank kryssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review of diving with us during your cruise ship stopover here on St. Croix. Why the two members of your family that aren't certified haven't done so yet is beyond us as they're naturals. It really doesn't take much time to become certified and it would give them access to dives that they might not normally be able to go. Come on back for a week, or a long weekend, and we can have then certified in two days.

We understand your one complaint about the lack of a camera rinse bucket. Unfortunately on that end of the island (the west shore) we don't have access to fresh water to be able to provide that service. Our northshore dive boat that dives the walls and reefs on that side of the island is fully equipped with camera rinse buckets and even a warm fresh water shower for our divers. Just another reason for the other two in your family to get certified before you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 141 reviews
"night dive"
in 56 reviews
"open water certification"
in 24 reviews
"st croix"
in 116 reviews
"dive sites"
in 48 reviews
"pineapple"
in 24 reviews
"sugar beach"
in 10 reviews
"pool session"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 49 reviews
"great dive"
in 35 reviews
"diving experience"
in 23 reviews
"captain john"
in 31 reviews
"lion fish"
in 34 reviews
"octopus"
in 27 reviews
"experienced divers"
in 17 reviews
"sea horses"
in 12 reviews
"top notch"
in 41 reviews
Filter

625 - 629 of 793 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went out w/ SCUBA, after reading a lot of great reviews, & they were all spot-on! Every member of the staff, from the owners to captain to dive masters, we're all professional yet very personable. When you hop around on different dive boats on various vaca spots, you never really know what to expect, what's expected of you, etc...but they took care of everything, made us feel very welcome. Jeff & Troy were our DM's on these particular dives & were both great "guides!"
Meeting Ed & Molly was a real pleasure as well...
When we get to go back we wouldn't consider going w/anyone else!

Thank erjtej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We had a great time diving with you and want to thank you for taking the time to write the great review of us. You mentioned never really knowing what to expect on different islands and with different dive operators and that's where TripAdvisor is such a great service. Reviewers like you wil help others to make informed choices and hopefully choose St. Croix, and us. We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Molly's crew of captains and dive masters were "hands down" the best anywhere! Tom, Mike, E.T.,Fuzzy, Jon and Clint were all wonderful!! This shop goes the extra distance to take care of everything for you. They had top grade equipment for rent, great dive boats with easy access and the dive masters knew the sites. The dive masters were helpful, knowledgeable, fun and laid back. But gave extra attention to the new divers (one on one dives) They had enough dive masters on the boat to group the divers according to skill level and those with more experience were not held back waiting on the newbies. They rinsed and stored your gear for you, so no need to lug everything to the boat every day. They also had a boat on the west side for dives there. Same great crew, but a different boat. They drove all of your gear over for you and had it set up and waiting for you. Also, there was more care for the safety of the divers than for profits.

Thank CaribeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Jane thank you for the great review. We're delighted, though not surprised, that you found our dive crew to be "hands down the best anywhere". Let's face it, it all looks the same underwater, fantastic if you're diving here on St. Croix so it's what happens above the water that really makes the difference.

We're a Scubapro Platinum dealer so we do take great pride in living up to their high standards for the gear we provide to our divers.

You also spoke of the number of dive staff we provide and we do that for just the reason that you said, to make sure that divers from all levels feel comfortable and most of all safe.

Thank you again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Diving with John Gilette for 3 days was by far the 3 best days of my 2 weeks vacation. I saw so much and the atmosphere was so friendly. Everyone went out of their way to help this 70 year old lady have a great experience. Thanks again.
sussibk

Thank sussibkVirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Before even receiving this great review from you John told us what a great time he had diving with you. He's one of several on our staff that started out as a customer and wound up working for us. Maybe you'll be next? We don't age discriminate especially for someone with an enthusiasm for diving that you have. Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to see you back here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had such an incredible experience with SCUBA. We were so pleased with their service. From the moment that we stepped into the dive shop, all the details were taken care of. We got to know Molly and her staff, and they were all very helpful. This was the easiest scuba diving trip that I've ever taken. Everything was done for us. Our gear was all ready when we boarded the boat. All we had to do was enjoy ourselves. We were still pretty new to scuba diving, but our dive masters, Mike and ET, made us feel at ease and went above and beyond their duties. We had such a great time, and would absolutely do it again!

Thank Ols1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for the great review. The diving on St. Croix is world class and we take great pride in trying to help make our guests dive vacation an excellent one. You mentioned our having your gear ready for your use each day and that's just a small part of our service. You probably also noticed that we rinsed it (in a special antimicrobial rinse) and stored it for you. Not that it would have been that much for you to do it yourself but you're on vacation! We don't want you to work at all. As you live in Orlando which is one of the vacation meccas of the world it's especially nice to know that we've lived up to what is probably some pretty high expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc. also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing