We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Dive Operation”

St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The friendliest dive shop on earth operates two dive boats, one from Christiansted and one from Frederiksted, diving all of the moored dive sites along the island's north and west shores. As a full PADI 5 Star IDC training facility SCUBA conducts all scuba dive training from Discover Scuba Diving (intro) courses through professional level.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top Notch Dive Operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been fortunate enough to have experienced diving in many parts of the world, and have been out with many dive outfits. We can say that S.C.U.B.A. in Saint Croix is at the top of the list when it comes to about every category.

The dive shop is right in the heart of Christiansted and footsteps away from their boat. The shop is well stocked, clean, and the owners and staff their are helpful and friendly. If you forgot any of your dive equipment, no sweat, they will have it.

When you arrive in Saint Croix, make your first stop the dive shop to drop off your gear in advance. They will take care of your gear for you, if you wish, or if you are particular about your gear, they have no problem letting you hang onto it.

I would suggest making reservations for the days you want to dive. While most days, there is plenty of room, they may limit the number of divers on the boat to make a more enjoyable diving experience.

Here is the best part of diving with S.C.U.B.A. in Saint Croix. The crew is awesome. We rarely make a repeat visit to an island, but diving with S.C.U.B.A. made us want to return, and we did. Every time we visit, we are more impressed with the friendly and professional crew. The crew is always finding exciting dives and ocean critters to see while helping ensuring the safety of divers (remember that when diving, you are responsible for your own diving safely, but S.C.U.B.A. staff is great at helping you remain safe). The crew is very attentive and are good at recognizing the skill level of divers that varies greatly as we all know. If a diver struggles with a skill, the crew picks up on that, and they are very good at educating the diver on the safest way to complete a dive. Make sure that if it has been a few years between dives, ask for a little extra attention and this crew is terrific at bringing you back up to speed.

The crew is willing to change over your gear between dives, or if you desire, you may do so yourself. While tipping the crew isn't mandatory, and never appears to be expected, the crew here deserves every tip they get, and always genuinely appreciate tips!

There is plenty of things to see while diving in Saint Croix. There are sharks, eels, turtles, rays, and countless colorful fish to name a few. The coral is in good shape, and makes for some great photos.

S.C.U.B.A. is a top notch dive operation, and we will return for more diving adventure!



TIP - Make sure to use the facilities at the shop before boarding the boat, as during our visit the one on the boat was not in working order.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the excellent review of us. We, of course, always like to hear accolades about the diving here on St. Croix and about our dive crew, but when it comes from divers who have dived all over the world with many different dive operators it becomes especially meaningful to hear that we're at the top of your list. We look forward to your return to St. Croix. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    29
    4
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, great, great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent a week diving with SCUBA in mid-October. They know the dive sites inside out and selected super sites every day. Sharks, eels, & rays on most dives! This was our first trip to STX, although we have dived the Caribbean for years. More fun than even Cayman - SCUBA's great attitude made every dive fun. The staff all have the right touch - from the shop to the boats to the reefs - everyone made us feel a part of their diving family. We even signed up for the 'Invasive Species' specialty course with SCUBA's instructor Clint (excellent). Look out lion fish - we've got you on the run! Great people, great knowledgeability,great attitudes. We're already planning our return to dive with them in '13. Also - eat at RumRunners right by the dock and order the wings SCUBA hot. Whew!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Amy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you seem to have had as much diving with us as we did with you two. And also a huge thank you for taking our Lionfish Eradication course. St. Croix has been one of the most pro-active islands in the Caribbean in thwarting the growing problem of Lionfish. It's great that more divers like you are learning how you can help us, and other dive destinations in the Caribbean, quell this growing problem. We look forward to seeing you again soon here in paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“SUPER DUPER SCUBA !!!! A Life Changing Experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This shop was highly recommended by another business when I was inquiring about finding about scuba diving although I had huge reservations about my ability to actually participate because of the fear factor! When I talked first to Clint and then to the gals in the store and later met my instructor, Kevin, I was ready to take the plunge! I never dreamed of doing more than a few dives but actually ended up with Open Water Certification! Kevin was soooo patient and instilled enough confidence in me that I have scheduled more dives ! Hard to believe that my first time in the ocean was only 2 months ago! Now I can't stand to stay out of it !! This business is very professional, helpful and so personable! They are awesome !!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stcroixscuba, Owner at St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc., responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We always love it when a guest who just wants to "give scuba diving a try" discovers how much fun it can be and how easy it is to learn when you have the right Instructor helping you. Now, let's get ready to start that Advanced class!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They are the best I have ever dealt with.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I have been diving since 2005 and have dove Mexico, Aruba, Curaçao, and have never dealt with a better dive company then S.C.U.B.A. They have boats that will take you out on either side of the island and even do night diving if you want. Their crews take care of set up and break down of your equipment and will even clean it and store it overnight for you. The owners are very friendly and hold all their staff to the highest standards. 20+ dives with this company and never had a single problem. They will even do discovery dives for newbies. Pool training in the morning and afternoon dives the same day. If you start with them they will become the one company you compare all others to.

Helpful?
Thank Wrightaway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I got certified open water divers last weekend and had a BLAST! We felt very comfortable and at ease of the knowledge and friendliness of their dive shop and dive masters! For the person who wrote about buck island..the coral is dead from a hurricane many years ago. The reason you cant dive there is because its only maybe ten feet deep. You can just snorkel that! What would be the point of diving that when youre already so close to the dead coral your tank could injure wildlife. This is why the shop suggests you dive in open water where you have more space to actually dive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc. also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to St. Croix Ultimate Bluewater Adventures (SCUBA), Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing