We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of our personal favorites on the island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickled Greek

Pickled Greek
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of our personal favorites on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We've been going to the Pickled Greek since shortly after it opened. We love the place, the food, and Peter (aka Papi) who is the owner. He's just such a nice guy. You can tell that he really cares and he wants you to enjoy your experience there. We always get the saganaki, which is excellent. He often has a Greek-style mahi special on the menu. That's always good. The calamari is pretty good. We often get the Greek cabbage rolls and they're good too. Last time we got the tzatziki for the first time. I have to admit, that was just ok. The home-made ice cream is great. My two favorites are the lemon-walnut and the triple chocolate. And, Peter finishes out our evening by leaving a bottle of ouzo on the table and a couple of shot glasses. We will continue to return to the Pickled Greek at least twice a visit as long as we go to STX.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RG_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    85
    38
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greek? St. Croix? Yes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I went to dinner here last night. Not terribly busy so we had our choice of seating. We're waited on by the owner, Peter. He is very entertaining and funny. Enthusiastic about the fiord, the restaurant, his customers and the island. We split an excellent, real Greek salad ( no lettuce). I had the very tasty non-vegetarian moussaka while my wife had the wahoo fish special. We shared and loved both dishes. Finished with some Ouzo and dessert. Had lots of good conversation with Peter and just a generally good time. We would highly recommend the Pickled Greek to anyone visiting the island. Good food, good service & good people! What more can you ask for?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Zeus would be pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Kept passing by this place and decided to stop by on our last night on the island. I was surprised at the festive mood this place gives. The outside was packed so we had to sit inside. Really like the owner of this establishment, you can tell he really enjoys and loves what he does. As for the food, it was great. I of course had a Gyro with Chickpea fries. I had no idea what they were but the menu said famous so i gave them a try. They were very good and if i could compare them to something i would say they taste like hushpuppies. The Gyro was great and loaded with meat. Who would have thought you could find such great Gyro's in the VI. Would definitely recommend stopping by this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travlin_Fam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You must visit Pickled Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the best gyro I have had since I left the states. Peter is a sweet heart and made sure we have everything we need. Don't forget to try the Ouzo. Yumm. This place is by far one of the best restaurants on the island. Must see and eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yurtletheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Okay Greek food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had dinner here based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We have been to many Greek restaurants and found this just average in quality. This is home style Greek cooking that is notable for the large servings provided. We had the chick pea fries which were okay but rather heavy, and the Dolmades which were okay -- both very large servings. We shared a main course -- Chicken a la planka, which was tasty enough but not exceptional. Value here is really good -- you get a lot for your money. Beer selection the night we were there was very limited. Only one person was running the restaurant that night in addition to the person cooking. Service was fine and definitely friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostonfoodie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Greek also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Pickled Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing