We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickled Greek

Pickled Greek
Ranked #5 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and great host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We kept driving by and thinking "What is a Greek restaurant doing on the islands?", but we decided to stop by on $5.00 gyros night. We're from Chicago and have grown up on Greek food, so we weren't expected much from the Pickled Greek, boy were we wrong. Peter, the owner, has unique items I've never seen before like chick pea fries and baklava ice cream. Peter is a great host stopping by tables and sharing a shot of ouzo to cap the night. The food was great, Peter was a personable host, and the place was humming with lots of laughter. Be sure to ask how he got the restaurant's name.

BTW, Peter is a bare foot runner and runs every morning to great the sunrise at Point Udall, so if you're out that way at sunrise, look for the Golden Greek with the contagious smile!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    85
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had such a great meal here! The food and service were fantastic. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with the owner. Ending the meal with baklava ice cream and a bit of Ouzo was wonderful! It is a must see on the island!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tameria1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the Pickled Greek with my husband several times last March during our vacation there. It was highly recommended by my seat partner on the plane. From the moment we walked through the door we felt like we were a part of their family. We sat at the bar because we were just there to take home some baklava ice cream and had a cold beer with the owner and then we took home some greek salad, pita bread and baba ganouj.....yummy....everything was fresh and tasted so good. We went back every week while we were there for a pitstop after we had toured an area and to also pick up some of that fabulous homeade ice cream...the triple chocolate was also fabulous and all made right there at the restaurant....very clean atmosphere. It is small and quaint but is very charming....this should be a must stop for every visitor to the island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patti4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had to travel from Long Island to St. Croix to have loukomades, but they were worth the trip! And the homemade Baklava Ice Cream is to die for. Food is fresh and oh so tasty. Do not miss Pickled Greek during your trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wuhanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dining and Dancing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great meal and the family style dining is a good way to meet new people. A four course meal with entertainment, Kiki and the Gypsies. Plenty of food and great variety. If traveling with family good place to bring groups for a meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2JAS1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Greek also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Pickled Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing