We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Duggan's Reef is back...”
Review of Duggan's Reef

Duggan's Reef
Ranked #10 of 117 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Duggan's Reef restaurant has been a fixture on St Croix for over 30 years. Closed last year for repairs after hurricane damage. We were happy to be able to get seats on their second day re-opening. Great experience! The staff included the owner and his family and all the former staff who had waited out the repairs. Everyone seemed so happy to be back. Old friends, long-time customers all brought an atmosphere of celebration. Service was very attentive and all smiles. We enjoyed a conch salad, lobster salad, and crab cakes. All seasoned and cooked perfectly. Strongly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Duggan's has been one of my favorite restaurants since before Hurricane Maria. Like many on island I hvae patiently waited for them to reopen. I went to the soft opening and they have not missed a beat. The food is just as amazing as it was before.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank velmaberkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

Yes we heard, finally reopening Tues. 6/26, We were at anchor on Buck island. We didn't know if it would happen before our going off island. Our island wise sailing skipper said " I would wait a few days". We waited two. Understanding the desire to "open",They needed some training. Was our waiter the only one who didn't know what he was doing? This was not the waiter's fault. You don't "practice" on paying customers. We don't want to be part of your training experience. We got drinks at the bar, "planter's punch" (fine), 3 frozen drinks (marg., 2- strw. daq., the glasses were small & a good amount of the drinks remained in the blender. Maybe out of glasses, the place was very busy and there was no "bar-back"(help). After we're seated, we meet our waiter. He is trying hard. He read off all the specials. THESE PEOPLE WERE OUT OF LOBSTER ! We ordered our alternatives and we sat. After awhile, we asked another waiter, a jovial young lady, "do we get bread or anything. "Oh yes" she chortled, "your waiter doesn't know what he's doing, isn't that funny" The bread was good. The ladies seemed to enjoy dinner. My filet mignon was alright. Not nearly as good as the one I had at "Longhorn" 5 day before (stateside). We split a dessert, the highlight of the eve.
Nice location, nice rebuild, great view (daylight). We (wife & I) used to come here when it was just "The Reef" in the early 80"s & lived up the hill across the rd. A humbler, open-air affair.
On this night, this was a 3.5. Just "In the weeds"
P.S.: This was our most anticipated rest. to visit, it was not a good night.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bantas2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

The restaurant has been renovated since Maria, and it looks lovely. The old staff is back, and the menu looks the same. It was hopping the night we were there, and everyone was polite and treated us like family. Dinner was creative, mahi mahi with pineapple risotto and broccolini. It was light, tropical, and excellent. We are glad the restaurant is back!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ADS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

The best place on island for lobster and their brunch is an excellent value. Been enjoying this unique seaside restaurant monthly for the last eight years. I'm excited to visit and see their renovations this July.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank VJL5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duggan's Reef also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Duggan's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing