We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot on St. Croix”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Croix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
2 reviews
“Beautiful spot on St. Croix”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We spent a week here and it was wonderful. We stayed at Dreamy Villa (Unit 143) which is beautifully remodeled, very comfortable (great a/c) and has an amazing view of the water. The owner has it well-stocked with all kinds of gear for your trip (including golf clubs and snorkel gear) and a very useful guide/overview of St. Croix. The location is great, too, just a few minutes to Christiansted and close to some excellent restaurants and beautiful beaches and bays. We highly recommend it and will be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the same unit we did - Dreamy Villa, Unit 143.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We just spent a month at the Reef. It really depends on which condo you stay in. Our's was rundown but we were able to visit some of the other units and some are spectacular. The golf course is a joke. 9 holes, short and not maintained well. The greens are like putting on a WalMart parking lot and the fairways are mostly rock. The pool is one of the nicest we have ever been in. A nice deli, great beach, and a fine restaurant are REAL close.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Amazing little restaurant right off the main road for breakfast with a great value. Stopped here two mornings since we had such a large group to have breakfast before our journeys around the island. Shop has everything you may need for any day trip. Beach across the road has great views of buck island and a quiet place to get away from it all

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unityfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
157 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is an extremely well maintained property with golf course, pool, beech, condo store and deli, tennis courts and a beachside upper scale restaurant all withint a few hundred yards.

Room Tip: It is not technically on the beach although it is so close one can nearly touch it. The images are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltowntravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Reef is a gorgeous development on the quieter and safe east end of the island. It has a fun golf course and many amenities. We stayed in a one bedroom villa (#143) named Dreamy Island Villa. It was super nice with updated furniture, WiFi, Wii, two split ACs that were whisper quiet, Temperpedic bed, and it had a ultra quiet Honda generator for any power outages. The view overlooks the golf course fairway and down over the turquoise water and breathtaking Buck Island. There is a nice constant breeze there and both the patio and the pool area are terrific places to completely relax. The complex has its own beach with hammocks and lounge chairs which is really nice. Down by the beach is the best seafood place on the island called Duggans where we ate several times. Next to the golf shop is another great little BBQ restaurant called Good Spirits also with some convenience items. We loved the location of The Reef as it is near some of the best snorkeling bays and also the Divi Casino is close by. There were several other tasty restaurants nearby called Blue Terrace, Mahis, Deep End, and two bars and a gas station only a few minutes away. We drove into Christiansted a couple times for dinner, but really enjoyed just being out on the east end of the island more. The golf was super reasonable, $15 for 9 holes in the Caribbean with ocean views, wow! Another thing we really liked was the St Croix Yacht Club is adjacent so we could have our boat docked and ready for day trips to Buck Island or snorkeling a several amazing reefs. We loved it so much there, we are going back in a few months!

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas that are right on the golf course have unobstructed views. Many of the villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grande_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

What do you say to no cell phone coverage, very limited internet access, and constant power outages? The bathrooms were claustrophobic and the air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. The unit itself is such a long drive from town where everything is happening. The air conditioner barely cools off the unit and you will learn how to sweat profusely. You can't rely on taxis out on the end of the island and there are no buses as there are on St. Thomas. Very isolated and the beach was nothing to brag about as it was all seaweed after you walk into the water. The beach is not walking distance from the rental as the owners clearly stated. The only thing we liked was the proximity to the casino. Not my idea of a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellbevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I've just returned from 10 glorious days at the Reef Golf and Beach resort in St. Croix and had a wonder ful time. I stayed at Villa Virginia which is a lovely villa with a private patio which faces the golf course and has the most extrodinary ocean view. The Villa was immaculate, very comfortable and well equipped. The owners were quite attentive, calling me upon my arrival to make sure that I arrived safely and that everything was in order when I arrived.

The Reef is a lovely gated community on the East End of St. Croix with a golf course, pool and beach. It was the most relaxing vacation of my life. I took walks on the Reef beach in the morning, read on the patio, shopped and explored several lovely beaches on the island including Shoys, Chanay Bay , Divi Beach tand the beach at the Buccaneer Hotel. They are all beautiful, but the beach at the Buccaneer does charge $4.00 pp to get in but they allow you to use their chairs. Duggans Restaurant right on the Reef property is fantastic but pricey. The Deep End bar at the Tamarinfd Reef hotel is also a good choice for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Point Udall is a definite must see, it's the easternly most point of the US owned territory and has incredible island views.

I definitely plan on visiting St. Croix again and would definitely stay at the Reef again. I would highly reccommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all and just relax!

  • Liked — The view, the safety, the colorful caribbean decor
  • Disliked — one noisy bird in the morning
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CCGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
4.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,381 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Golf and Beach Resort

Property: The Reef Golf and Beach Resort
Address: 5000 Teague Bay, 00820-5256, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in St. Croix
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Reef Golf And Beach Hotel St. Croix
The Reef Golf And Beach Resort St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing