We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of South Shore Cafe - CLOSED

South Shore Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sadly, the South Shore Café has closed.

One of our favorite places to have dinner on St. Croix over the years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneTropo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and great hospitality”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is one of those out-of-the-way places the locals tell you about after a drink or two. Well worth the drive from Christianstead or anywhere else on St. Croix. We will be back the next time we are on St. Croix for sure.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Leave Room For Desert!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

South Shore Cafe is our Wednesday night destination every year we go to St. Croix. Diane runs this business by herself with a passion for Italian style cooking that says "love" in every bite. Her handmade pastas are fabulously delicious and every main course is seasoned with fresh herbs from her own garden.

Reservations are a must and please be flexible, as she can only prepare meals for three to four parties per night, depending on their size. Call after 4:30pm on the days she is open (Wed - Sun) to make your reservation.

The location on what we call the South Shore Road is isolated but then nobody ever said that finding a treasure was easy! And the South Shore Cafe remains one of the great treasures of St. Croix. (IMHO)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STX_Restaurant_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, and Diane and Dot are a treat”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first visit to South Shore Cafe, but it certainly won't be our last. This place is a secret. Word of mouth advertising keeps it a secret treat for those "in the know." The food was fabulous (try the sweet potato manicotti - it's magnificent), the ambiance was charming, Diane and Dot (dog hostess) were the perfect hosts. Both a delight. This place is a hidden gem. Call now for reservations. You won't go wrong. Small, intimate spots serving wonderful food made especially for you (homemade pasta and desserts) are rare and we need to keep them alive. Truly a memorable evening. Directions - take East End Rd heading east. You will pass the Pickled Greek on the left and the Elementary school on the right. Just beyond that, you will see a gas station on the left. Take the right turn almost directly across the street from the gas station. Drive 2 miles on that road - do NOT turn! You should see a sign on the right for the South Shore Cafe. Shortly after the sign, you will find the restaurant on the right. The restaurant is clearly marked with a sign.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptutini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I hate flan...except for Diane's!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the reviews are pretty spot on...it only has 4 tables...one woman does everything. Limited drink selection. Not a fan of desserts with liquers in them so I opted for the chocolate flan even as a flan-hater. It arrived and was seriously the best dessert I've ever had. I would have categorized it more a mousse. D-I-V-I-N-E!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Shore Cafe also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing