We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Eastern Most Point in the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Ranked #4 of 103 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Eastern Most Point in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great geological point of significance and amazing beauty as the easternmost has amazing views of the deep blue sea, crashing waves, and rugged coastline.

Drive out east and follow the signs for a great photo op on the most easter piece of US soil. The road is paved and leads you along the windy hilly road exposing some of St Croix must rugged beauty. Hike down to the crashing waves on the sea shore and feel the shudder in your body as the crash against the rocks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    119
    37
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am glad we drove there. It was a nice drive through the mountains and we stopped to over look the ocean before we got there. But a beautiful view when you get there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rose e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The drive to Point Udall was very beautiful lots of places to pull off the road to take pictures. The point itself is well plain but now I can say we have been at the "eastern most end of the USA". If hiking is your thing there seemed to be lots of trails, some looked quite steep.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice view, but is boring after 5 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It has a monument for the eastern most point in the US and the views are great... but unless you want to sit on the stone wall and admire the views, it will get old after 5 minutes of looking around and taking pictures. I am glad we went, but also glad we didn't spend more than 5 minutes there... better to relax on the beach if you ask me. Even OK snorkeling is more fun to me :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank snorkelyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The easternmost point in the US. Great views, scenic drive to Pt. Udall, and without much effort. Drive up the road, park, and take your pictures.
I've never gotten up early enough to enjoy the sunset, but I'll bet it's spectacular.
If you're on the island, it doesn't take much time to drive there and it is free - how can you pass it up?
I've been there 3 times ....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing