We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Beautiful solitude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Ranked #17 of 103 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful solitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Go here! Take the trail down from the parking lot which is halfway up to Point Udall. I have heard the snorkeling is great but at the very least you will have peace and quiet. If you continue on the trail past Isaac, you will come to Jack's Bay (I didn't get that far). The hike itself is through lots of tall grass and brush but the trail is always visible. There are no facilities but that's what makes this great. Go!

Visited December 2013
Thank Kaotcgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highlight of Trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We made the hike down to Isaac Bay and really enjoyed the outing. Going on a sunny day makes the colors of the water, hills, and sky blindingly surreal. Simply a beautiful spot and pretty quiet- there were maybe three or four other cars in the lot (plenty of broken glass though, sad to say) and a handful of folks down on the beach.

The hike itself was not bad, the incline fairly gentle and not as thorny as we expected, though very overgrown in sections. My hiking partner wore shorts and sneakers and came out with a few little scratches. It took us about 20 minutes to get from the parking area to the beach steps.

We are glad we didn't bother to bring our beach gear down with us, as the water seemed a bit too rough for us to swim on the day of our visit (perhaps we were spoiled by our day at Shoy's!) Sunglasses, hat, and plenty of water are recommended, even though it's a pretty short round trip hike, the sun is incredibly intense and there's no shade on the trail! Enjoy and happy hiking.

Thank julia7178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“hikevto isaac and jack bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed the hike. It was well marked, but lots of thorns. Great views. Loved it and a must do if you are up to the thorn bushes. Beaches were beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Thank 2377donna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, rough hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Isaac Bay is a lovely, secluded beach like many on St. Croix but the hike down through the tall (sometimes over your head!) guinea grass on a small trail with thorny bushes right beside and over the trail was a bit much for us. We left our rental car at the trailhead with windows down and doors unlocked as suggested. We took plenty of water but for the condition of the trail, we should have worn long pants. It was very hot and humid, though, so we hoped we could make it in shorts. It was indeed a rough hike because of the overgrown trail. We didn't visit this beach again even though we were staying nearby.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank BK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the hike, but be smart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

To find it, park in trailhead just before Pt. Udall monument. BE WARNed, leave no valuables in your car, keep car unlocked and windows cracked. Hike is on a tiny trail that has thorns n such. Even though going to the beach don't hike in bathing suit. Have some cover to your thighs and feet. Also, this is a remote and secluded beach (part of its beauty) so no facilities or amenities. Bring your own items of need, water, more water, sunscreen, towel, chair, snorkel equipment, food and drink. Lovely beach, views, and reef.

Visited September 2013
Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing