We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hike to paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Ranked #17 of 107 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Hike to paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was by far the most beautiful beach we went to!! A great scenic drive to point udall and a 15 minute hike to an open beach!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful secluded beach. About a fifteen minute hike with gorgeous views. Felt like I was in a Disney movie with the number of butterflies swirling around me as a walked the trail.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROBSROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go east.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Isaac's Bay was the highlight of the island. The new trail down from Point Udall made for a nice hike, a terrain is a complete contrast to the west side of the island. The snorkeling was good it is nice to see some of the corals coming back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralphdtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Well worth the "hike" to Jack and Isaac Bays!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Park up near the Point Udall monument (will see a small parking area to the right before you get to the monument) and follow the trail for about 15-20 minutes to 2 beautiful beaches run by the Nature Conservancy. Its a hike through a scrub desert-type environment, so it can get hot - bring extra water and hike in the earlier part of the day if possible. The first beach you come up to is Jack Bay - we preferred the snorkeling here vs Isaacs. Walk down the beach at Jack Bay and you will see a trail that continues up a hill to Isaac Bay (about 5-10 min hike past Jack). Very quiet and relaxing, practically had the beaches to ourselves.

Leave your car unlocked and/or windows down at the parking area, and take valuables with you.

Wear sneakers and a hat - the trail can be a bit rocky (don't want stubbed toes) and there is no shade at these beaches.

Trail is wide enough to be able to carry fold up beach chairs and small coolers. No facilities at these beaches.

Parts of the beaches are closed on the second half of the year due to turtle nesting areas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdrege, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place was AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Isaac's bay was the highlight of our trip! It was a great little walk and the beach was absolutely amazing! The beach was beautiful and the water so many colors of blue. We were the only ones down there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyD279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing