We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO glad we did this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Thru Kayaks VI

Sea Thru Kayaks VI
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIOLUMINESCENT BAY TOURS in the only clear kayaks on St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands and only one of two operators using clear kayaks in the world. Visit our bay at Salt River National Park which is currently being studied by the National Park Service and Dr. Michael Latz of Scripps Institute California. Experience the bay that the scientific community was unaware existed until a year ago and now is being called possibly the best of the six or seven year round bioluminescent bays in the world. Our see through boats are the best way to view this definitely better than swimming through it.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SO glad we did this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I did the tour of the ocean and lagoon on our honeymoon this past December. We had the best time and were so happy we did it early in our trip because we were informed of all sorts of sea life to look for (or avoid!) for future snorkeling trips we had planned. Don't miss out on this opportunity if you're in St Croix! Next it time we return, it's the bioluminescence tour for us! Thanks Bryce and Craig!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurenmelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Bryce and I would like to thank you for coming out with us. We are conducting a "Best Of Both Worlds" tour as I am writing this. We have only had wonderful feedback for this tour and it definitely surpasses any other kayak companies morning tour with the abundance of marine life below our boats and the terrestrial and bird life at the lagoon. Once again congratulations on your marriage and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Bryce and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    10
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went on the bio-luminescent tour. It was really cool. The guides were terrific...when they saw that my daughter and I were floundering, they hooked us up to the last kayak so we could make it to the salt marsh. My family didn't know where to look, up or down...the stars were magnificent, yet the bio-luminescent creatures were cool too. It truly was a once in a lifetime experience. When you rowed across the water and looked down, it seemed like a special effect in a movie.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Bryce and I say thank you for coming out with us and we are glad that you both enjoyed our tour. As you saw our kayaks afford you the ability to just look down and view this phenomenon as it engulfs your entire kayak. Much better than a conventional kayak which only gives you glimpses of the bio over the side of your kayak. Best. Bryce and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My mother and I had a great time exploring an off-the-beaten-path area of St. Croix. Unfortunately because of our cruise itinerary, we could not take the bioluminescent tour, but even during the day there were interesting things to see amidst the conch piles and mangroves. Getting there in our rental car was half the fun, but make sure to study your maps ahead of time to have a basic orientation of the island... don't trust that anything will actually be labeled!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi. Bryce and I would like to thank you and your mom for coming out with us. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. "The Best Of Both Worlds" tour is our favorite because of the abundance of marine and terrestrial life you see and touch on this tour. Best. Bryce and Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stars above and lights below!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

OMG! So much fun! The sky was beautiful and the luminescents were beautiful! A fish jumped in our boat and the weather was perfect. The history lesson was great!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mccathy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi. Thank you for coming out with us.As you got to see our boats are the best way to view this phenomena, way better than swimming in it. And the fish in your boat was an added extra bit of excitement. Two nights ago it was shrimp landing in a boat, made for a great scampi. Hope to see you again. Craig and Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Kayak Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

A friend of mine made reservations for the bioluminescent (nighttime) kayak tour - we almost didn't get to go because of inclement weather! Fortunately the tour was on and it was well worth the effort.

Our trip out to the inlet was a bit rough - we were the only kayak with no male muscle (and neither of us had done ocean kayak before) so we struggled a bit. However, no one left us behind and everyone was very encouraging and talking us through it. The tour made one stop at a little beach to empty the kayaks of water and then we were off again.

The bio plankton was amazing! As another reviewer mentioned, you can dip your hands in the water and watch your fingers sparkle. Our tour guide Bryce swam under our kayaks several times so we could see how much the water lights up. He gave us a lot of information about the lifeforms in the area, then we paddled around at a fair speed and could see the bio creatures under our boat - it was light going warp speed in space! We were also lucky enough to see a bio jellyfish as well, neon green and very bright.

The return trip was cake - we fought the wind the entire time going out, so on the way back we held our paddles up in the air and used the wind for sailing. Back to shore in ~15 mins.

The tour was great, our guides were informative, funny, and always mindful of safety. This would absolutely be on my list of repeat adventures.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seathru, Owner at Sea Thru Kayaks VI, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Bryce and I would like to say thank you for coming out with us. And yes our bio bay is AMAZING, Better than anywhere else in the world according to the scientists who are currently studying it. We are glad you got a chance to experience it. Aloha. Craig and Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Thru Kayaks VI also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sea Thru Kayaks VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing