We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveler rating
615
424
132
67
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
424
132
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchtidal poolsdive shopwalk in closetbuck islandsea urchinsfire dancersvaulted ceilingsmarriott pointssecluded locationpirate buffetrental carnorth shorehuge bathroomdouble sinksocean frontocean waves
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

I stayed at the Renaissance Carambola in mid August. Lucky me, I had to go back again for another week in September!! The hotel is an all-suite hotel and the rooms are very large, nice and clean. They have a large, comfortable master bedroom with flat screen TV, a sitting area with a couch, coffee table, computer table and another flat screen TV. It also has a kitchenette with a refrigerator, sink, granite countertops, microwave and cooktop. The bathroom is spacious with 2 sinks and granite countertops. It's like having your own condo on the beach. The property is beautiful and well managed. The manager is always making sure the guests are well taken care of. The staff is very friendly. Katherina and Jarvis were always there to make great drinks for me at the outside lounge (Flamboyant Lounge). The food at the outdoor lounge is great for lunch or dinner. Inside in their restaurant, they have a huge breakfast buffet and omelet station - EVERY DAY, but you can order breakfast off the menu too. I had several really good dinners there - one was a seared tuna steak, which was one of the best I have ever had. Another night I had a panko encrusted grouper that was fabulous! On Friday nights they have the Pirate's Buffet which has a large offering of various delicious food - some local favorites, carving station and a lot of good fresh seafood. After dinner there is a show with some Caribbean music and local cultural dancing.

The views are fabulous - Caribbean Sea and mountains. (did you know St. Croix is one of the few islands that is completely surrounded by the Caribbean Sea? Most other islands are bordered by Caribbean Sea and Atlantic Ocean).

I liked the Renaissance Carambola so much I will be going back soon.

On each of my 2 recent trips, there was a wedding. The property is spacious and has room for beach weddings and facilities for a reception.

Thanks Philip, Katrina, Jarvis and the rest of the crew!!. See you again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kayk984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

We were scheduled to stay on the resort the week that hurricane Irma was going to hit St. Croix. We stayed 2 days and were told to leave the property and seek our own shelter. No assistance from management on moving us to a safer property or trying to set us up at another hotel. We were told that we needed to check with the government on where the shelters were located. We then had to jump in our car and ride around trying to find other hotels that would take us. We not only found other hotels but those hotels assisted in trying to get us off the island for several hours (THE BUCCANEER). When they were unable to get us transportation they provided us with rooms, shelter during the hurricane and reduced rates for the rest of our stay that included all meals. I would tell you the resort, the beach, the pool, the restaurants and the hourly staff are all top notch. BUT WITH THE PRESENT MANAGEMENT OR OWNERSHIP NOT CARING FOR CUSTOMERS AND ASSISTING THEM, THE RESORT WILL GO DOWN HILL FAST. Proof of this is in how they handled this situation and the poor shape the golf course is in already...

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room closer to the middle of the resort.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, Manager at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

We are sorry to learn of your experience during the state of emergency. Please forgive us for any inconvenience caused during that time.

The safety of our guests and employees are of utmost importance to us, and due to the fact that we are heavily vegetated and located right next to the ocean, the Resort would not have been the safest place to be during the hurricane.

As it relates to the golf course you mentioned, we do not have a golf course here at the Resort.

Your feedback has been shared with the staff in an effort to ensure that this was an isolated error that is corrected moving forward.

Thank you for choosing to vacation with us and we are hoping that you may choose to vacation with us again whenever good weather conditions permits it.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

We paid almost 900$ for the 3 day stay and ended up having bites all over our body. The bed and the sheets were infested and this was informed to the management. The room service changed the sheets but no help, we ended up having large red bumps cause of bites from
Neck to toe. I found atleast 4-5 large insects around the bed and bathroom area and few small roaches. Towels had dead insects stuck to them. Room service took forever when we asked for tooth paste. Their pool was not clean and had dead insects at the bottom of the pool. Room service left small hand towels instead bath towels and we had to request those to shower at night which again took 30 min. They have only 2 restaurants, now one cause other one's kitchen is closed and hardly any food options. People are not very courteous and I found no smiles, good morning or thank you. It's as if they are doing a favor serving you anything. Not a good experience for money spend.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ashapulikkal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, Manager at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

When on vacation, you deserve the right to an enjoyable and memorable experience.
I'm sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Please forgive us for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We are hoping that we will have another opportunity to better your experience with us some time in the future.

Thank you for your business and for choosing to vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Perfect spot if you want to get away from it all. it is NOT the spot for a working vacation because cell phone and internet are slow on this secluded north west side of the island.BUT the views are gorgeous. the hotel is tucked way in its own section of the north shore. very quiet and serene. HOWEVER they do move to a slower pace in all the islands, and St Croix is no exception. so don't expect McDonald's drive thru type of speed on your service, you just need to chill and decompress...I have been there 3 times and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, Manager at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It was a pleasure having you here and we look forward to serving you again whenever your travels bring you back to St. Croix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

This hotel has a little bit of everything. But if you're a diver, it has more than just about any other hotel on island. With their own dive shop, the inexperienced can have a chance to go out and scuba and the seasoned divers can see some amazing sites. The hotel offers good food and other entertainment as well. Friday nights have a great buffet with live entertainment at night. The hike to the tide pools, if the waves aren't too rough is well worth it. Plus the rooms and the grounds are pretty amazing.

Room Tip: go ahead and splurge for a beach unit. Is well worth it to hear the waves crashing all night while laying down in the enclosed porch.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank spdrprime .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam L, Manager at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Thank you for choosing to vacation with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again on your return trip to St. Croix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews