We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Resort to Relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Estate Davis Bay, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Resort to Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you are looking for a tranquil place to relax away from the crowds, Carambola Beach Resort is the hotel you want to choose. Spacious, cool rooms offer all amenities to make you stay enjoyable. A big pool area, the beautiful beach and a breath taking landscape easily convince the visitor to spend most of their time outside. Unlike many other hotels, the resort doesn't fill the air with music; instead it invites local musicians to perform during diner time. An on-site scuba-diving school helps you get your certificate in a week. Finally, nothing can top the experience of having your award-winning meals on the big terrasse with view on the beach. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Everything was to my highest satisfaction.

Room Tip: Houses 1 to 6 are the best ones because they are closer to the oceanfront and are not hidden in fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We really do value our guests feedback.
Happy you found your room cool and well appointed. Sounds like you stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View room. Next time you might consider trying a Deluxe Beachfront room. It's the same room, just closer to the beach, so you walk out your door and you're right on the beach. Either way, we hope you will come back and visit us again!

Warm regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    330
    100
    49
    30
See reviews for
231
536
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clifton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visited the Carambola Resort and Spa in St. Croix in July 2014 and it was very beautiful. The staff was attentive and caring. We had a couple of minor issues throughout the week but they were quickly resolved. I would highly recommend renting a car, otherwise it is a bit expensive using the cab service offered through the hotel. Also, if you don't rent a car, your meal options are limited and the food on the island was outstanding! The beach was beautiful and the food was great, although the service was a bit slow, but it was always delicious and affordable, nonetheless. Every staff member was friendlier than the last! Everyone made you feel welcome, from the moment we arrived and offered a rum punch to the hugs we received when we left. A real class act!

Room Tip: Our room was listed as beach front but that was a bit of a stretch. The room was find though so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elgaralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thanks so much for writing such a delightful review. Our staff is terrific...very warm and friendly. You're right, its a perfect island to rent a car and explore as there are lots of restaurant options within 3 miles of us. Casual restaurants with outstanding food! Our team looks forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Thank you to the staff and especially,Shantel, Christine, Puablo and Phillipsia for being so helpful and kind to use during our recent 6 wonderful days exploring St. Croix and staying at the resort.
The food and beach was great, comfortable and clean rooms along with such a friendly staff made family memories for the four of us that we will cherish.
We will come back and explore more of St. Croix and absolutely stay at the Renaissance Carambola!
Thank you so much,
Ginger, Bill, Jules and Amanda Mahon

Room Tip: Comfortable beds, loved the screened in porch, nice kitchenette and bathroom. All very well appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Ginger,
We're so happy to hear that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for acknowledging some members of our team by name. We'll make sure they know how much they made your vacation memorable. Please visit us again!

Best regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you are looking for the perfect beach resort, this is it. Quiet, beautiful, comfortable and totally enjoyable, this is the best of the best! This a place of great natural beauty and tranquility. I would recommend this to my friends as 420 tolerant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Did you say...'Flawless'? WOW, what a compliment, thank you so much for the kind words. It looks like you're from Lake Tahoe, a very beautiful area indeed. We so appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again!.

Warmly,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed here several times. The location is perfect. Understand it is located on a remote part of the island and it should be!! The beach is beautiful and the staff will accommodate your needs.

Room Tip: Select and upstairs room to get the best views and the higher vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maho55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Enchanting is an excellent word to describe our beautiful resort...Thank you! I see you are a returning guest. Please let me know the next time you are planning on coming to visit us!

Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
nwilliams@carambolabeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Renaissance Carambola was excellent! Our room was huge and beachfront. It has a bedroom, large covered porch, and living room with a small couch, 2 TVS, and what I would call a mini kitchen( full size refrig, dishwasher and stove top and microwave), large bathroom with huge closet. The couch folds out if you take your children and plenty of room for a roll away if needed. As Marriott gold members they did upgrade us to the gorgeous beachfront room, the internet worked fine, and we did get coupons for daily breakfast (ask for these if they don't give them to you- saves you a bunch of money ). It's definitely "island time" so just relax if you need something, it will get taken care of ...Carambola is a very private resort and did not feel crowded at all, plenty of chairs to relax in and fun things to do such as diving with the wonderful Sweet Bottom Dive Center on site....how fabulous to dive Davis Bay then rest an hour in your room if you want, then dive again.....it was sweet!!! The friday night show was super fun...Kikki and the fire gypsy dancers and the moko jumbies. The buffet looked good but we just came for the show at 8:45 pm as we had reservations elsewhere. Christine, the concierge is the sweetest and best, she has excellent ideas and will get you all fixed up. I DO think you need a car so you can get around and drive to the Cruzan rum factory (better than Capt Morgan in our opinion), and our favorite restaurants were: Eat @Caine Bay, The Waves and Rowdy Joes- all are 10 min or less away and absolutely casual but fabulous!!! We never had a bad meal. Also, if you are a diver, I LOOOVVED Davis Bay(shore dive off Carambola) and do a day and night dive at the pier(with Sweet Bottom)....we saw seahorses, huge fish(maybe bass or grouper), reef sharks, eels and octopus and Sweet Bottom gives you all the personal attention you want. Also, the gift shop is great at Carambola and you can buy liquor and beer and snacks there. Drinks are pricey in the bar. Nice free rum punch when you arrive. We LOVED Phillipsia for our morning server in the restaurant- she was so kind to us! You can hike to the tidal pools from the resort and there is a beautiful rock beach before the tidal pools. You must drive out and see the beer drinking pigs as well. It was great, we are ready to return.

Room Tip: we were in 146, our friends in 156, excellent rooms close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
What a great review! Thanks so much for writing such a comprehensive review of your stay with us. Sounds like you didn't leave a stone unturned. Glad to hear you enjoyed diving with Sweet Bottom and of course you can't miss our beer drinking pigs!
Hope you will return for another visit.

Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Let me start by saying my wife and I are a bit on the critical side when it comes to hotels and Resorts. We like a nice clean updated room to feel comfortable in during our stay. The Renaissance St Croix Carambola Beach Resort exceeded our expectations all the way around. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Carmen during check in, offered Rum Punch and then taken by Golf cart to our rooms. A very nice touch. We traveled to this Resort with our 3 children ages ranging from 10 to 18 who also thought the Resort was awesome. The Resort is set beautifully within tropical tree's and foliage and the grounds are well kept and clean. The rooms, Spectacular! We had a couple minor problems with our room and were resolved extremely fast. The view was spectacular as we had Deluxe Beach front Ocean front rooms. The beach is perfect for swimming and Snorkeling. Lots to see underwater. We snorkeled at the beach many times, it is that good. What we noticed was how friendly the staff were. This was really nice as any of the Resort staff you encountered smiled and addressed you. What impressed us was the fact that this Resort is outside of Christiansted and is quiet and peaceful. A live band plays every night until 8:30pm which was really nice. Nothing loud or obnoxious. Beautiful music. You can go down to the beach in front of the Bar and Saman Restaurant and relax with a Rum Punch, listen to the Caribbean music while enjoying the scenery. I highly recommend renting a car for your vacation as the Resort is about 20 minutes outside of Christiansted. Some would consider this a negative but it is actually a good thing. Peace and quiet with beautiful scenery to enjoy. Christina who is the day time Concierge was extremely helpful with any questions we had about the island. The entire staff at the Resort were very friendly and receptive to our needs and requests. The Managers at the Resort were always checking in to see how we were doing and extremely friendly. This Resort is kid friendly. The pool offers a nice swim and view. Save your research time on Resorts in St Croix and book your stay at this Resort. You will not be sorry! It's a beautiful Tropical Gem! A+

The Patel family

Room Tip: We were in Building 15, second floor. The rooms were very large and clean. Nice room amenities such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank airpolice40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a great review. I'm always impressed at how well our guest reviews describe the resort and capture the experience. Sounds like you really had a great time and so happy your kids enjoyed it too. I hope you will visit us again, our staff would like to offer you a warm welcome back!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.7 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
7.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
15.1 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing