We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Central PA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited for a few days last week. I mostly offer this review for first timers. Trip from airport: better to rent a car, not taxi. You'll save money & probably want a car to get around anywhere but the isolated resort. 4wd is not needed, but some steep hills & switchbacks exist. Night driving ok, just go slow. Roads are fair condition, we thought they were about what you'd find here in a state park in PA, if you drive 25mph or less on the winding parts, you're fine.
Approach to resort: stray dogs & cats along a well manicured driveway approaching a guard hut. Friendly attendants. Lobby small, living room like. Fast check in. Cold fruit water in lobby ( free) small rum punch on arrival- free morning coffee. you park in a small, undersized gravel lot near reception. They golf-cart you & luggage to room. Give a tip. Resort was quiet, maybe 40% attendance. Lots of attention paid to grounds keeping. Laid back rules, can go to beach or pool 24 hrs, no problem.
Grounds reminded us of that "Robin Masters estate on Magnum PI"; dating myself here.
Some will understand, others won't.
Room was upstairs, beautiful. Great screened in patio. Fairly good AC, large bathroom, small kitchen. Large closet ( in bathroom). Tv fair coverage, good wifi. Pretty quiet, but mornings you hear tropical birds, surf, leaf blowers of lawn staff. Some far off industrial noise beyond the basketball courts.
Food: we stopped at plaza extra supermarket near airport before arrival. We brought rum, piña colada mixers, snacks, danish pastries. We should have also brought: frozen breakfast sandwiches, frozen egg & sausage patties, bread, mayo, deli meats & cheeses. We brought coffee & filters, but had to improvise a pour over funnel. Why this saves you: count on $10 per breakfast per person at resort. Drinks $7-10 each by the pool. Lunch, $15-20 per person. Friday night Pirate buffet was a rip off; $40 per person, no alcohol included, no pirates present. Food was ok, but I saw a chef drinking out of a water pitcher & told management. Manager made the rounds, but skipped our table, & visited guests that were obvious local friends instead. Server was hard to find, expected big tip. The jumbie dancers were fun, but we could have just walked up & watched for free. We also learned later about the gift shop; large selection of frozen foods, rum, etc. for a little more mark up than supermarket. They have some neat treasure coins on display, too.

For electronics or things you may have forgotten; a K-mart is about 30 min drive, but remember they close strictly at 8pm. They also have a liquor section up front. Subway restaurant adjacent.

Snorkling: we rented fins from the dive center- employees there were ore friendly than any we met. $10 for fins for 24 hrs. Sea was rough over all days of visit. Cloudy water, saw a little coral & a few fish. Disappointing compared to trips to St. John. Should have driven up to Cane Bay, 1 mile east. This resort is actually on Davis bay. We heard from dive shop that, when Davis is rough, Cane bay often calm.

Resort was Clean, price was fair. Should have packed better for charge cords, bar, & frozen food( fridge has a little freezer). Should have skipped pirate buffet. Pool was ideal. Water warm, sun was hot.

Room Tip: All rooms maybe 30-50 yards from sand of the beach. Close to pool or parking may help some who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    389
    121
    63
    39
See reviews for
282
614
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for business, so I did not get to enjoy much of the great amenities offered at Carambola, but the resort is beautiful. The rooms are quite spacious and very inviting. The restaurant is a little pricey, but that is to be expected. The food was very good. We did make it to the end of the pirate night on Friday. The buffet was excellent. They ran out of crab before we got there and when we inquired if there would be more, the server showed up at our table with an entire plate full for the table to share. Great service! The resort is a hike to town, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for the third time and were thrilled by the improvements since becoming a Marriott
Property ! After a series of problems with our flight,we were greeted by Amadee,at the front desk,who could not do enough to make us comfortable!!! The room she gave us was wonderful,on the Eastern end of the property,with an ocean view! We had a full size refrig,mini dishwasher,2 burner stove top,and microwave. All rooms remodeled now,with marble and glass shower,double vanities,walk in closet and safe.The food was good,we loved the Friday night Buffet. We cooked in and sampled other local restaurants, as well. The snorkeling was great and the views are breathtaking! We hiked to Isaac's Bay,which was beautiful and took the Cruzan Rum Tour.
Brenda was very helpful,as she knew everything that was happening on the island. We saw Pearl,who we recognized from years past and Verdan,the restaurant manager,was quick to recognize us and made sure we were comfortable ,as,well.
Mark and Melody at the bar were great,too. All and all our third trip to Carambola was our favorite because all the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed and comfortable.
We cant wait until the next time!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor have better views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taylorentertains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Renaissance Carambola resort. It was exactly what we are were looking for - incredibly relaxing and stress free. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. And the location is absolutely stunning - beautiful beach next to a beautiful rainforest. Very peaceful and a perfect place to unwind.

Pros
- Staff was very friendly, unlike some other places we visited in St. Croix. This was a huge plus.
- Food and drink at the restaurant was excellent.
- Beach was beautiful, and easily accessible. And since we went in offseason, we had it virtually to ourselves.
- Room was very nicely furnished (including two TV's, huge bathroom, screened in porch, full sized refrigerator, and microwave).
- Property was very secure and safe.
- Overall upkeep of the property was very good (considering location),

Cons (really just nitpicks) -
- We left a room service tray outside the door and there it stayed for 25 hours until we called the front desk - in the meantime animals got into it (waking us at 5 AM with clash as they knocked off the lids). Before we called the front desk, at least 3 staff members had walked right by it (not their job I guess?).
- Room was not dirty, but was not *that* clean - chalk this up to location on a beach/next to a rainforest, I suppose.
- Housekeeping was "inconsistent" - maybe you'll get toilet paper, maybe not - maybe you'll get coffee refills, maybe not.
- Internet was very slow and spotty.

Also note that the resort is very remote. This is exactly what we wanted, but if you are looking for a lot of "action", make sure to rent a car (or stay somewhere else).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJL867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stay at the Carambola when our children are with us, it is such a tranquil and beautiful resort. We have stayed at this resort 4 times and keep coming back. Fantastic spa, awesome swimpool and just steps away from the ocean.
Honeymooners delight privacy is delightful, great food and drinks and on Fridays the Jumbies come and put on a show, I love this place

Room Tip: upgrade to the newer rooms, but they all have fantastic ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rcairjam-Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I just got back from St. Croix. This is my 5th time visiting the island and we stayed at what I consider the most exclusive resort in the island. The Renaissance Carambola beach was so remote and peaceful, but yet had every amenity possible. Upon arrival you are welcomed with a rum punch drink. Then you get whisked off in a golf cart to your room. The rooms all were very big, 550+ sq feet, and they were all very elegantly designed. The lanai was a very nice touch. The bed was huge and very comfortable. They had a full kitchen with a big refrigerator and there were pots and pans and dishes for cooking. We stopped at a grocery store prior to arrival, and had minimal dinners outsise of the resort, which was great on our wallet. The views are breathtaking. The staff is so warm, and will do everything they can to make sure you're having an amazing stay. The food at the restaurant excellent. It was a lot better than at any of the other hotel restaurants we have stayed at on teh island. This was our first time in Carambola Beach, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shrumpetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my first time in St. Croix and we chose Carambola as our place to stay. We were there the last week in July and celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary. We got a little turned around finding our way there, the hotel is at the far end of the island. Once we were on the main road,we really enjoyed the views. The views were beautiful and reminded me of Hawaii. We were happy with our room. My only complaint is that when we would leave and come back, it smelled a little damp. Not sure if it was the a/c unit. But once we opened up the patio doors and heard the ocean waves, everything was good. We stayed in building 16 and had a partial oceanview. We rented a car and wanted to eat local food. We ate at "Junies" and had the redsnapper meal. It was delicious!!!! This was the best meal we ate during our entire stay here. We also ate at Duggar's Restaurant but prefered the meal at Junies. We had our kids with us & they loved the pool and everything was landscaped lovely. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
15.0 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing