We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED this place! Thank you Marriott points!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVED this place! Thank you Marriott points!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is a STEAL when you use Marriott points. So relaxing, even though there were a lot of guests, it felt like we were alone on a private island. No one was ever on the beach. We had it to ourselves at night to sit under the tiki huts and listen to music on our little travel speaker. :) We hiked to the tidal pools (ask the receptionist for a map), and then ask the porter for a golf cart ride to the head of the trail. Sounds lazy, but the hike is crazy long and uphill most of the way (makes sense right, you ARE climbing a mountain).
The hotel is in the safest part of the island, but we did use the in room safe every time we left the room. No problems with Nothin Mon! Bartenders are great. Made us awesome fresh squeezed lime margaritas. We even ran into the bartender the next day when we were getting ready to snorkel up the road. He was taking his morning walk (I guess he lives around there). So nice that he remembered us and was friendly in his off time too!
You will NOT regret staying at this place. I did TONS of research prior to booking this hotel. I am SUPER SUPER PICKY about everything. This was probably my best vacation EVER. No complaints at all! Oh, and don't miss the beer drinking pigs. Have some MommaWanna at the bar, then ask to see the pigs. Its a cool cool island. Loved it! I miss you St. Croix. Be back soon, and I will definitely stay at the Renaissance again. No doubt.

Room Tip: If you happen to be a Platinum Marriott member, ask to be upgraded. We were practically IN the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rnnc2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi,
Just wanted to say a big 'THANK YOU" for taking the time to write such a nice review! Sounds like you had an awesome time and we look forward to your return visit. Glad you took advantage of everything on the island...even our resident beer drinking wild life!! We do have quite a lot of guests that use their Marriott reward points...a great way to travel. Please let me know if I can help you plan your next trip to visit us! We look forward to welcoming you back to the island!
Nancy -Director of Sales
Nwilliams@carambolabeach.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    399
    122
    64
    40
See reviews for
287
630
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the first week of June and it was wonderful. Room 202 said was a garden view but I could see the ocean and it was beautiful. I booked with a wedding which was so much fun, the weather worked out perfectly for the ceremony but did rain quite a bit off and on while we were there. The bed was very comfortable and the room big compared to a normal hotel I thought. There is a hiking trail on the property that ends at a tide pool which is a great workout with awesome views. The beach and pool both fantastic with lots of seating and everything was pretty clean.

The drawbacks to me were there were tiny black bugs on the sink in the bathroom if you left anything out that was scented they might find it. The food wasn't bad but it wasn't good for the price to me, however, rent a car and there are great restaurants within a few minuets drive. Also, unless you just want to relax by the pool or beach I didn't find that there was much to do at the resort so I recommend renting a car.

I liked the drinking pig's (I forget the name of the bar they are at but it should be easy to find on google) and the rum factory tour was fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked our scuba diving trip through the Sweet Bottom Dive Center that is located on site at the resort and it was nothing less than perfect! Greg and Mel, the dive masters, operators, and managers were so easy to work our reservation package through and serve our diving needs. They are two wonderful people that we can say are our new friends for life. The dive staff were all professional and warm and competent guides who ensured that we did not miss a thing, both above water and beneath. The hotel and all its staff were 100% gracious hosts and top notch accommodations...when you look at the pictures on the website, they come to life exactly as you see them once you step foot on the property.

Take the hike to the pools... enjoy the fine cuisine (affordable and each meal was excellent), lounge the pool, and by all means, go to Sweet Bottom Dive Center and see the wonder of sea life up close and personal! IT is all there! There are many other things to say but to do that would take away from the splendor and mystery that awaits your own exploration and experience!

A few things on what to do... St Croix has so much to offer, you should rent a car to give you access to the other sights and eateries around the island - just remember to stay left while driving! Just down the road from the Carambola is a great spot to eat... Eat at Cane Bay... go there once and you will go often! The Cruzan Rum and Capt Morgan Distilleries are a must, dive the pier at night, day trip the island out to Point Udall and all the secluded beaches around the way and you will fall into "island time" in a heartbeat, and in love with one of Americas truly fine territories and its people.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful but we opted for the kitchenette loft and it was perfect. The view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubapro2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just came back from 10 days here. Outstanding place to relax, swim and unwind. Early June is off season, so the property was not fully occupied. We got an upgrade to an oceanfront room (42) which was located off to the side of the resort. This gave us a great view down the beach and extra privacy.
The down side of offseason was some light rain showers that quickly pased, and being forced to eat at the bar every night except Friday. We are not big foodies, so the menu was OK for us, and they did rotate specials during our stay. Food quality was high, except for the jerk chicken - overly spiced and tough. Bar drinks were excellent!
We ventured out to Christiansted only one day, which was enough. We were there to relax, and we did.
The hike over to the tidal pools at Annaly Bay was fun. We like hiking, but you need good hiking shoes for this trip through the rain forest, and be prepared to scramble over some sharp rocks at the end of the hike to actually get to the tidal pools. If you are not a rock climber, this last part can be a little anxiety producing. Other reviewers have noted taking a wrong turn in the high grass and coming down a dangerously steep slope. As the directions (well done) given out by the resort will tell you, stay left when the trail forks and you won't have any trouble.
We did not rent a car, prefering to chill out in the resort and enjoy the great beach. We were so into relaxing, we didn't even take advantage of the free scuba lesson from the on-site dive shop!
There were multiple destination weddings at the resort during our stay. They did not take over the resort and we enjoyed sharing the space with them, though the occaisional rain must have been nervewracking.
Remote, private, quiet, good food, great beach - everything we wanted!

Room Tip: Rooms in Buildings 6-2 are more secluded. Building 17 has no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvunkannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I went to St Croix for our 20th anniversary. When we arrived we knew this was the place. It was so quiet and romantic here. We felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves. We found out that April-Sept. is the "slow season" which was perfect for us. The service was excellent. At the bar, Mark takes really good care of you. From the first 30 minutes that we arrived here to the last night we were here. He makes excellent drinks and is very attentive. The resort has a gift shop that has whatever your looking for. The room we were in was in section 10, it was very quiet and we had a view of the ocean too. We put a "do not disturb" sign on our door, and never once was bothered. We loved the fact that we could get up everyday and go snorkeling right on the beach with no one to bother you. The ocean is just beautiful, just like a picture postcard. The pool was always empty too, no one to worry about. We rented a jeep and what service, the jeep was delivered to the resort within 30 minutes. Wow! You do need to rent a vehicle on the island due to there is nothing walking distance from the resort. We liked the fact that if you go over "the beast" you can get to the rain forest, if you go the other way going towards town, there are some little food joints you come across that we ate at everyone of them too. Took a tour with big beards snorkeling adventure out of Christened and definitely worth it. On our last day at the resort we both got a massage. My husband and I felt so relaxed and what a great way to end our relaxing anniversary vacation. The service we received from the time that we arrived to the time that we left was unbelievable. Everyone is so nice and respectful. We will definitely be back and come back here very soon. Thank You everyone at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort, you made our 20th anniversary / vacation very memorable and relaxing.

Room Tip: section 10 was very quiet and not far from the pool or ocean and still had a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Beautiful room overlooking the ocean. Good wireless even on the beach. Bar menu at Flamboyant Bar excellent, moderately priced. Mah mahi sandwich ($13) excellent. Stayed 5 nights, enjoyed every one. Friday night they have a Pirates buffet and live music...

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, 2 teenagers and I enjoyed our 5 night stay. The resort is secluded and you definitely need a rental car to enjoy the island. The room was large enough for the 4 of us, we never felt crowded. The room comes with a microwave, mini-fridge, toaster and dishes. Our phone in the room never worked despite letting front desk know. We were also unable to connect to wi-fi from our room (Rm 206).
My husband enjoyed the scuba diving there. He said Mel the dive instructor was great and he recommends the dive shop.
We enjoyed the beach and pool very much. We had breakfast and lunch on the resort and both were good. All the staff were very friendly. I would definitely come back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodlemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Greetings from St. Croix,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us. Nice to hear you enjoyed working with Mel at the Sweet Bottom dive center. They do a great job and we always get positive feedback about them.

Did you have a chance to enjoy a massage or treatment in our spa? That's another area that our guests love. Hope you come back to visit us again.
Best regards,
Nancy-Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
15.0 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing