We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Magical Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Magical Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the first moment we stepped onto the grounds at the Renaissance Carambola we knew we had arrived at a special place. The hotel property was immaculate and very well maintained. The beach was very private and it felt like we were the only ones there. The room was very comfortable.. we were in building 13, lower level. The room had a view of the ocean and we could hear the calming surf all night long. Unfortunately we were also on the crossroads of the resort, weekends there was a lot of traffic walking by. It was pretty quiet at night because there's no after hours band or music. All in all it was a great week and we came back totally relaxed!

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecooper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your terrific feedback and great description of your stay at the resort. You really brought it to life! The resort really is a hidden gem. We would love to welcome you back for your next trip.

Warm regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    352
    108
    58
    35
See reviews for
259
570
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet location on the island. Beautiful beach and grounds. It was not busy at all even though my stay was during the high season. I dove with the on site dive shop and they were excellent as well. Large and comfortable rooms. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are the same, very nice and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewater114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel/resort was absolutely glorious. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The grounds are kept beautiful and the water and underwater corals and sea life are amazing. You are secluded from the hustle and bustle of the city and its very peaceful. The rooms are spacious and the porch looking out over the grounds and ocean are breathtaking. The resident mongoose running around are cute also. The island itself is ok. There are two forts one at each end of the island. Sunset at Rainbow Beach is spectacular. Food throughout the island is great and the fresh fish everywhere is awesome. Just remember on Sundays everything is closed except restaurants. Diving on St. Croix is excellent and their are many great dive shops. My husband and son liked using the dive shop at the Renaissance (Sweet bottom Dive Shop) and everyone there was very helpful. The Renaissance is just great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiMi5122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay for our honeymoon. The hotel was exactly the kind of break we wanted, secluded and quiet with the opportunity to do some exploring of the island.

We stayed in building 1 room 16 which is the farthest buiding on the righ facing the ocean, I believe is also the closest to the ocean as well even though it was vegetation and rock in front of our room, the screened in patio was 25 feet from the water.

The room was plenty of space for the two of us, most of the room appeared pretty updated, they bathroom was nice, and the patio was the highlight of the room to me. Beautiful area to relax and hear the water crash while looking over the ocean or down the mountains lining the water.

The grounds were well kept, pool was clean and always had plenty of seating, the swimming section of the beach was at the far end of the resort and was several hundred feet but who cares about walking 5 minutes when your walking down a beach, there was always lounge chairs available and the water was a perfect temp.

Staff was friendly and helpfull for all our needs, especially the front desk. They booked our excursion, called taxis, gave us towels, and any other request we had with a smile and nice greeting. Everyone greeted you with a friendly good morning/afternoon/evening. Service at the restaurant had it's slower moments but what else did we have to do but relax.

We were planning on renting a car but plans changed and we took a taxi for the duration of our stay. The resort offers a shuttle (taxi van) to Christiansted for several times during the day, which is nice since it is $16 round trip per person, I'd guess the regular amount would have been in the upper $20's with a regular taxi.

There was only 2 aspects of the trip that took a minor ding in my book, first is the previously mentioned shuttle, the latest return pickup is 5:15 which means you can't enjoy dinner and drinks for the night in town. However it served it's purpose for our 2 trips town for lunch and sightseeing and then back again for snorkeling excursion. It woud've been nice if it went to Cane Bay as well, that area is only a couple miles away and offers many bars and restaurants. The second downside was the restaurant onsight, the food wasn't bad in fact most of the lunches we ate were pretty good. It was the lack of variety,the breakfast menu never changed nor did the lunch menu. The dinner menu was the lunch menu with about 8 large plate entrees added on. With the lack of transportation for dinner aside from a minimum $14 per person round trip it was kind of a let down not to have more options.

We used my wifes Marriott points to book our stay and I researched for weeks on properties throughout the Carribean and couldn't be happier with our selection. Beautiful resort on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel, horrible planner. Decided to renew my vows at the hotel. Tried booking at the location to no avail. The young lady (Laurie) over the event booking did not return any of my calls since January of 2013. She did not seem interested in my booking with them. As a CRUCIAN I am disappointed that this hotel has someone working at their establishment who refuses to keep the economy on the rise, due to her lacking of excellent work ethics. The hotel itself is beautiful. The island is incredible. Just dont expect the best during one of the most exciting days of your life! Planning here can make your event difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Crucian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at Carambola in April of 2013. The resort is a great spot if you are planning on spending any time diving the North Shore (Cane Bay; Davis Bay) or the West End of the island (multiple sites). The dive staff at Sweetbottom Dive Center was excellent. Greg and Mel are great to work with. We did dives right at the resort (nice reef just 100 yards offshore) as well as at Cane Bay and the West end. They also coordinated several boat dives for us. Dana, our dive guide was excellent and a pleasure to dive with.

The resort itself is located at the end of the road on the North shore and the location is beautiful and secluded. There is a security gate for the property which helped us to feel comfortable during our stay. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (suggest an upstairs unit for the views and vaulted ceiling). The property is older... if you are expecting "brand new" you will be disappointed. There are some minor inconveniences due to the age of the property (Failing electrical breakers, shortage of hot water, doors that don't seal completely) but nothing that made our stay uncomfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful (keep in mid that they are on island time so don't expect "speedy").

10 minutes away there are a couple of good beachfront places to eat if you tire of the hotel's restaurant. We enjoyed Eat@Cane Bay as well as Off The Wall.

Regarding the island itself... I probably would not go there if it were not for the diving. Lots of poverty and associated crime (never a problem on the resort... just be aware when you go off property). The island itself does not have much to offer outside of the beautiful reefs for diving. We will likely go back at some time to dive more on the West end and will likely return to Carambola when we do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruss719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello,
So happy to hear you had such a great dive experience at the resort. Yes, Mel and Greg are terrific and we always have lots of great feedback on them. I hope you do return for another visit in the future and thank so much for taking the time to provide feedback.
Best, Nancy W.-Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My 6 night stay was AMAZING for the first 4 days. The room was on the beach, the ceilings were high, bathroom was modern, and the resort is totally isolated!

But then on day 5 and 6, two bus loads of cruise ship passengers arrived and took over the resort. The isolated beach was now waaaaay to small to accommodate the masses, line at the only restaurant was always long, there was no where near enough staff, etc etc

And! the hotel put on obnoxious cruise ship style buffets and games for the passengers. If i wanted to go on a cruise... i would have gone on a cruise.

I would never stay here again and would never recommend it. The possibility of overlapping with cruisers is enough to keep me away.

Room Tip: request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dc3312010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.6 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing