We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd business model- would not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Odd business model- would not recommend”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My 6 night stay was AMAZING for the first 4 days. The room was on the beach, the ceilings were high, bathroom was modern, and the resort is totally isolated!

But then on day 5 and 6, two bus loads of cruise ship passengers arrived and took over the resort. The isolated beach was now waaaaay to small to accommodate the masses, line at the only restaurant was always long, there was no where near enough staff, etc etc

And! the hotel put on obnoxious cruise ship style buffets and games for the passengers. If i wanted to go on a cruise... i would have gone on a cruise.

I would never stay here again and would never recommend it. The possibility of overlapping with cruisers is enough to keep me away.

Room Tip: request top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dc3312010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    417
    128
    66
    44
See reviews for
307
649
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna via USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having spent a week in a beach view suite, the experience was more like camping than a staying in a hotel. While the hotel does have some redeeming qualities; a mostly private beach (i.e. no vendors trying to push their wares), nice sized rooms with a screened in porch, and decent food and drinks at reasonable prices, the hotel needs a major overhaul to bring it up to Marriott standards. The rooms are unkempt and showing signs of wear and tear. In our first room (#17) the door handle and safe were not working and the refrigerator made such a loud noise, it was impossible to sleep through the night. Furthermore, the cleanliness of the room was subpar. All windows were dirty and the window in the shower was filthy with built up dirt and grime. All chairs on the beach need to be replaced, as well as the beach towels. The pool chairs were acceptable; however, there was only one umbrella for the entire pool area. All wait staff were slow and inattentive and could benefit from further training. The spa receptionist bluntly stated a 20% would gratuity would be added to the bill, while the service was adequate, it did not warrant a 20% tip. I ended up leaving 15% and left with bad impression of the spa. On the positive side, Carly, the pool attendant, did a fantastic job of keeping the pool area clean and waiting on guests around the pool. By all means rent a car, there are some great restaurants within a 10 minute drive from the property. Finding the hotel is a bit difficult, as road signs are nonexistent and signs for the property are difficult to see. But once the ordeal of actually finding the property is accomplished, having a car to explore the island is a must. If you looking for luxury and efficiency, this hotel is not for you. However, if you want to relax at a nice beach without being bothered and don’t mind roughing it, with a packet of Clorox wipes and some patience, you will survive.

Room Tip: avoid room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExpatinVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance in St.Croix. Our second floor ocean front room was lovely. The lanai was perfect for watching and listening to the sound of the ocean while reading a good book. Never a problem to get a chair at the beach or pool. In fact for it being spring break we felt like we had the place to ourselves. My daughter loved her beachside massage. Great on-site snorkeling and dive shop. Off the beach snorkeling was great and we even saw a sea turtle. Food and drinks were good. Staff was friendly. Resort could become more upscale with just a few tweaks like bar staff to provide drinks and food directly to you on the beach/pool. Definitely get a car. Nice local restaurants eat@cane and Off the Wall. Head to Christiansted and take a boat cruise to Bucks Island. Really great snorkeling. We went on the Big Beards tour and and did a wonderful job. Christiansted is cute. Nice lunch at Rum Runners. The ocean is beautiful on this island, the people were friendly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

St Croix and the Renaissance are permanently removed from our vacation list. Run-down best describes the island and the hotel. The bloom is off this rose for sure. Beds are rock-hard. Room pricing is probably 4 or 5 times more than it should be. The hotel menu is limited and the food is terrible - consistently over-cooked - and service is strained. This is the first time in 30 years we've vacationed on a tropical island and found no redeeming qualities to bring us back. Prices are as high as you'll find anywhere in the world. Be careful driving around the island - even though all of the vehicles are left-hand drive, they still drive on the left side. As a consequence, driving the narrow, winding, poorly maintained roads is insane. It seems most of the locals live in Housing Authority slums. At gas stations and grocery stores we were frequently approached by crack addicts looking for a handout. Go to St John or Aruba or Barbados.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 329mm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Hello,
I just wanted to let you know that we have read your review and are very disappointed that you had a less than stellar experience. We do appreciate that you took the time to let us know your feelings and experiences. You sound like you would be a good fit for other Renaissance or Marriott properties if you do choose to return to the Caribbean.
You did mention Aruba, there is a fabulous Renaissance property there, centrally located within walking distance to tons of shops and restaurants. Might be more your cup of tea! Anyway, we're sorry we underwhelmed you and do thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
Warm regards,
Nancy W.,Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were there for a wedding over Easter and were concerned that it might be an obnoxious time to be there. However, it turned out to be a relaxing stay and was not a noisy place at all except for the screaming, crying three year old in the room across from ours. The room was relaxing and simple----though too simple: our phone didn't work and we only had one lamp and one night stand. But the room had a screened in sleeping porch with a ceiling fan which was heavenly.
Breakfast from the menu was better than the buffet. The drinks in the bar were wonderful. The staff is friendly. Had dinner only one time at the resort and it was good.
I would definitely go back if I really wanted to relax---but I'd ask not to be in the room across from a child!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just spent a week here over Easter and our stay was no less than fantastic! I know some of you have read some negative reviews, as did we, but we experienced nothing negative on this trip. We traveled with another couple and occupied rooms 266 and 267 that are beachfront at at the end of the resort. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed with safes, refrigerators, and a full kitchen with a microwave. You could stock up at a grocery store and easlily eat in your room the whole week.
We stocked up with rum and snacks and enjoyed the week, while at the same time eating at the hotel and other restaurants around the island.
Be sure to rent a car and be careful driving on the left side of the road. This resort is secluded and a car will open the rest of the island to you. The staff was outstanding and met our every need. From the rum punch at our arrival to our easy check out.
The Pirate Buffet was fun but as some of the reviews have noted, not all of the food choices were outstanding. I had snow crab, shrimp, and Mahi that was very good. Our group of four sampled chicken and beef and found it to be pretty average. Yet the dancers on stilts were impressive and we had a fun time. For a family it may be a bit pricey so decide what is right for you.
The dive shop was outstanding and we rented boogie boards and had fun riding the waves. The wind made it a bit too rough for snorkeling at the hotel. The beach is very nice and we had no issues getting chairs. It was fun to watch for the small crabs running on the beach toward evening. The sounds of the waves could be heard easily from our rooms.
The pool is nice sized and we had fun swimming there. It is not heated, but that did not deter us or others from swimming.
There is a nice gift shop that has a nice variety of sundries, beer and rum, clothing and souveniers. The spa is nice with a very friendly staff. I had a pedicure that was very nice.
Don't leave food out and you will not have any bug issues. It is an island and a bit jungle like. We saw two bugs during our week, but as you know that can happen anywhere.
The grounds are well kept up and clean. The whirlpool was the only disappointing feature as it was small and a bit rough on the sides.
Do not let the negative reviews stop you from going to this resort. We recommend a beachfront room and a car. Room service was very good and the food at the restaurant was good too.

Room Tip: We liked rooms 266 and 267.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just spent the long Easter weekend at the Renaissance Carambola Beach Resort & Spa in St. Croix where we had a very pleasant stay. As we arrived at the hotel (after quite a long drive from STX, reason for which a car rental is absolutely necessary) we were greeted by their amazingly nice staff (with rum punch and all). I must give a shout-out to Ms. Jacqueline Carr, whose hospitality and good cheer certainly stands out. The hotel grounds are very nice (a bit rough around the edges, immaculateness-wise) and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The resort's beach and pool are both very inviting and rather cozy. Overall, the Renaissance provided a great stay at what seemed to be one of the safe sides of the island.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there are no elevators on the buildings, therefore if that does not work out for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,409 reviews
15.0 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing