We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn on Strand Street(Frederiksted)
$149
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$199
$165
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveler rating
613
424
132
67
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
424
132
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchtidal poolsdive shopwalk in closetbuck islandvaulted ceilingssea urchinsfire dancersfull size refrigeratormarriott pointssecluded locationpirate buffetrental carnorth shorehuge bathroomdouble sinkssitting area
Filter
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is and has always been our first choice on St. Croix. The staff is always friendly, the villas are romantic (especially ocean views to the east side). We love the privacy and the security. Great Resturant on-site, dive shop with the wall accessible by just walking in from the beach and the Friday Night Show is also lots of fun!! They are now a Mariott property and just about all the rooms have been renovated. Love It!!

Room Tip: All are good depending on what you want. We like 46, it has a great view in both directions and the waves crashing lull you to sleep at night.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maho55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited Carambola for a Conference and had a wonderful time!! The scenery, food, staff, entertainment and rooms are extraordinary. I can't wait to go back!!! This is a "must-see" in St. Croix!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Island L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Third time visiting St Croix and the third time visiting this resort. Over fifteen years ago my wife and I vacationed on St. Croix. Originally, we stayed here when it was a Westin property, I believe. In March of 2012, we took our twentieth anniversary and spent ten days visiting St Martin, Anguilla, and St. Croix. We quickly found out how much we missed this island.

We originally booked at Pelican Cove and spent our first night there. Our first day on the island, after checking in, we headed over to Carambola to have a cocktail there and revisit old memories from 15 years ago. We were stupefied that we didn't make our reservations at this location instead of Pelican Cove. Nothing against that resort but in our opinion, it simply does not compare to Carambola. We checked out the next day and returned to Carambola.

We just got back from St Croix this past November and stayed here again (yes, two times in the last six months- we love this island). The resort is simply one of the prettiest sites one will see on the island- this one or any other I have visited. It really does look like the photos- no photo shop is needed. If you want a full service resort with amazing views, good, friendly service, a beautiful beach that isn't crowded, awesome snorkeling and diving right off the resort, an awesome dive shop and personnel, and 25 minutes from Christiansted and Fredericksted, then stay here.

Rent a jeep and run up along Scenic Road, snorkel off of Davis Bay and Cane Bay (five minutes down the road), hike to Annaly Bay and the tidal pools, grab some awesome pizza at Off the Wall, get a great meal off the resort at Rowdy Joe's and get surprisingly good food at decent prices on the resort. Oh, and the beer is cold and reasonably priced as well (bucket of five Coronas for $15 or a bucket of five Caribs for $12- those are great prices for a resort in my opinion).

This resort doesn't get the hype if deserves in Frommer's and other travel mags as I think it's one of the prettiest resorts I have ever stayed at. Big fan of Carambola.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a room right off the beach the last two times. I loved it but my wife found room 162 to be TOO CLOSE to the beach!?!? Man, the waves are literally crashing up against the rocks and beach only 20 yards away. I slept like a baby with the doors open and Caribbean breezes off the ocean, listening to those waves. My wife stated that they would wake her up. Just a matter of what you want...All the rooms have really nice views but some rooms are right up off of the beach.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were in a suite in building 4. It was large with a lounge area complete with sofa, coffee table and separate flat screen tv. Off the lounge was a balcony. This was completely contained by mesh screens. Whilst a little strange at first, this was undoubtedly for the best given that the resort was lush and green kept the insects to a minimum. The mozzies barely bothered us at all. There was also a kitchen area well equipped with a large fridge and microwave and a small dishwasher. This turned out to be incredibly useful. The remote location meant that there was a limited choice of restaurants within a short (say 20 minute) drive so it was great to be able to ‘dine in’ some nights. Bathroom and shower were also spacious and included a walk in wardrobe big enough for two. The design of the rooms, using lots of dark wood in the furniture and ceiling gave it a plantation feel but also made the rooms a little dark. What I really liked was that the buildings and rooms were arranged for maximum privacy. In fact, in spite of the resort being at near full occupancy for part of our stay it was rare to bump into other guests other than at dinner or the pool.

The pool was large with plenty of loungers and fresh towels. For some reason, though there were only two umbrellas for the whole pool. Still, there were plenty of naturally shaded areas albeit around the edges.

Dining and drinking were good. However, breakfast (buffet) was a little limited in choice (although well prepared) for $16 and the lunch and dinner menu wasn’t as extensive as it needed to be for an ‘out of the way’ resort with a somewhat captive audience. I don’t think the specials changed at all. All that being said, a special mention for both the jerk chicken and red snapper both of which were delicious. Also, the coconut and raisin bread served warm with mango butter was perhaps the best bread we have ever been served in a restaurant. Yum.

The beach was also quiet and peaceful but by no means calm. Whilst you certainly couldn't surf the small 'rollers' made snorkelling less relaxing than it could have been. Swimming was fun though.

All in all a secluded resort with friendly staff that made it great for relaxing . We would absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here foir only two days over a weeekend. Live music on Friday night, great food, good service. You can learn to SCUBA dive here too. Everything was neat and clean. The beach is nice and surrounded by high rocks keeping out the people that usually come by to hawke their wares.
We stayed the end of October before the season got started, there was some renovating going on, should be done by now. Warm welcome and everyone was helpful. This is an older resort taken over by Marriott. It is not new but from what I saw the place is great. about 20 minutes by taxi to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthbound-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews