We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in St. Croix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Carambola resort from 12/17-12/22/11 and it was a fantastic experience. We arrived late in the afternoon--- don't use directions given to you by the airport guard gate-- they are so wrong! Luckily, my husband's phone was working so we could use his GPS. Check-in was a breeze, and a very nice young man took us and our luggage to our room in a golf cart. Our room was one of the renovated ones- an ocean view studio. Building 2. 2nd floor. Absolutely breathtaking views and the room was beautiful. I highly recommend getting a second floor room-- they have the wooden beamed ceilings and it's just gorgeous. The room included a couch, 2 flat screen tv's, a fridge, microwave, toaster, and of course the awesome screened in porch.
The food at the resort is standard-- nothing to get too excited over, but good. We went to the breakfast buffet once and decided to buy bagels and muffins at the store for the rest of our stay. The drinks from the bar, however, are fantastic. I highly recommend a Bushwhacker-- a milkshake for adults! The bartenders were all so friendly and didn't mind us picking their brains about things to do on the island. The beach at the resort is beautiful, too--- with the lush mountains in the background and waves crashing...I miss it already. Some people say the resort is too far away from everything but the seclusion makes it even more perfect, in my opinion. Plus, it's an easy drive to either Christiansted or Frederiksted. (Easy once you get used to driving on the left and all the pot holes in the road)! I would go back to this resort in an instant and if I do go back- I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank djcc779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    406
    122
    64
    40
See reviews for
291
637
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

It was our first trip to St. Croix and we were very pleased with the Carambola Resort. Very nice, spacious room with a beautiful view from the screened in lanai/patio. The staff and service were wonderful - friendly, responsive, accommodating and very welcoming.
It was very quiet and remote - perfect for the relaxing vacation that we wanted. We did a shore dive with Sweet Bottom Divers at the Resort -- Shout out to Tony, Gwen & Jeff!!. From the resort, take the nature trail to the tide pools and ruins -- good exercise and a wonderful hike. It is remote and you will need to hire the private taxi service or rent a car to visit other parts of the island. I thought the private taxi was a really good deal as they would work with you on scheduling pickups, dropoffs, and side visits (i.e. to grocery store). Have dinner and/or brunch at "eat@cane bay" - the entire menu is wonderful!! The Blue Moon in Fredrickstad was very nice dinner with a table outside to watch the sunset. We did an incredible dive on the deep wrecks and at the Pier with N2 The Blue Dive shop -- Shout out to Derrick & Jeff!! Take off your watch, relax, and enjoy island life every moment you can!!

Room Tip: We were in building 5, other family members in building 6 - great rooms that overlooked the rocky sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Right now the resort might be full and if you booked thru time share exchange, you will be put into an old unremodeled unit. These units are dingy and not maintained. We had t ohave the TV's replaced, a new refrigerator brought in, more pots, an a new toaster. The lighting in the bathroom didn't always go on properly (bad ballast). The tile was cracked on the counters; shutters on windows and doors were bent/broken/missing; the furniture was dingy; the hower was dark; cobwebs on windows; the bed was very hard to me but my boyfriend loved it; the hallway oustide to our 1st floor unit was always wet (from rain) and never pushed away; leaves, etc built up on walkways thourought the complex - not good grounds keeping in my opion. I understand that this property is under new ownership and the economy is poor but simple good groundskeepign can really imporve the property image. The pool nees work - there is mold in the ledge seating in the pool where the caulking is. I have an inground pool and brushing/scrubbing of the pool walls is needed to keep the mold away. The staff was pretty helpful but he manager is obviously tired of hearing the complaints onthe old rooms. I asked for some sort of compensation and he said he couldn't autorize that. We only ate the brunch at the hotel - food was OK. Brunch was priecy. Drinks are yoru typical resort pricing. Good Pina Colodas. The area is beautiful around the resort. also because it is near the rain forest, there was mroe cloud cover and rain by the hotel than other parts of the island. You definitley need a car (we rented from Centerline - best rate for Jeep) I would recommend a Jeep, especially if you are planning on driving thru the rainforest at all (and you will ifyou are going to see the pigs at Domino Club).
we found places to hang out away from the hotel. Rowdy Joes - Steve the bartender is cool! Eat @ cane bay is good - as others have said. The Waves hotel has nice find dinning! Pick your own lobster. OFF the Wall has great pizza ane burgers - play Bingo on Tues night. Above the Cliff has great water views.
We also went to various beaches and really found that you can pull off hte road and have beach area to yourself - we went to Sandy Point; Rainbow beach (actually a bit north of it) and then to a beach that is south of Fredristed that i don't know the name of (just keep driving south on 63 (i thnk) and you will come to a park area - the road ends here. Nice beach area.
We went to the sun dial on the north east corner. just a few minutes before getting there you will see a little pull off on the left that has a path that will take you down to the sea (nto a hard walk) and there is a nice beach there - you will probably be alone there.
St croix has lots of wonderful beaches tucked all over the island - you just have to get to them.

Room Tip: if you can - when booking get it in writing that you will be in a new room not one of the old rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kreusn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I read the other reviews so I wasn't surprised that the check in process was chaotic. Keys didn't work, for example. I was visiting as part of a conference, and as a nonpaying guest was appreciating a working vacation I wasn't paying for!

But I still looked around with a critical eye, wondering if I would come back with my family someday. We live close enough that we could easily come here for a long weekend.

Yes, I would return on my own dime.

Checking in as a group was chaotic but was partly our fault because some in our group had not been properly briefed on the hotel. For example, we should gave called ahead for an ADA room. But it was resolved and all was good.

If you are polite Virgin Islanders respond accordingly...but if you bring a stateside attitude you'll be disrespected also. I found the staff to be helpful, cheerful and kind.

I went to dinner with a colleague and thought the mahi mahi and lobster tail entrees disappointing. I mentioned this to the head chef, he apologized and followed up with a room service delivery of a lovely fruit platter, including chocolate covered strawberries!

Yes, the beach is rugged, but the views are remarkable. Ask what time of year the waves swell...it isn't for toddlers.

I liked the hammocks on the beach. I liked the screened in porches. I liked the grounds. I liked that the bar had hundreds of brands...try getting Jim Beam bourbon --- it's hard in the Caribbean!

The hot tub was hot, the pool empty and clean.

It was a relaxing time in spite of the conference!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We lucked out booking this resort, We had never been to St. Croix before and we didn't know what to expect.
The room here were very nice with screened in porches that were very nice to relax on!
The rooms were great, food and drinks great, staff great and beach Great!
When we traveled around the island we saw lots of locations and if your looking for the best secluded beach, on the island, this is it.
The downfall is that you have to take a taxi EVERYWHERE which are expensive.
If you dive go with in2theblue, they are FANTASTIC and the diving is better on that side of the island.
I am sure by now they have updated all of the mattresses, but make sure you get a new mattress (old ones are pretty crummy)
This is a super laid back island and if your into shopping, nightlife and parties I recommend trying a different island.
service is terrible with a friendly face everywhere you go, expect that, its Caribbean time! lol


the only reason I took a star off my rating is because we had to get taxis to go everywhere and we got an old mattress that was pretty uncomfortable

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a new bed! all rooms are on beach but some face the mountains and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hdharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here for a night on the 21st October, 2011. The room was excellent and very well appointed. Check in went smoothly and really encountered great friendly staff.

Tried the friday evening buffet and it was also nicely presented, the only problem was the service was not very good. I was completely ignored for at least 20 minutes, the most disconcerted thing was that a European looking manager passed my table at least a dozen times and completely ignored me!!!

That being said it was a great evening with fabulous entertainment and I would love to return for a longer stay. Absolutely love the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franklyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place is absolutely beautiful! They were in the process of renovation while we were there. I was disappointed with our room the first night -it was dark, dirty, & depressing. I talked to Ms. Pearl in the office & she moved us to a newer room. The change was unbelievable! Best vacation we've had. We went to Sandals in St.Lucia for our honeymoon. The Carambola was much better. Food is a little expensive but overall, a relaxing, beautiful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandiJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Croix hotels
10.6 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
8.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,379 reviews
15.0 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Address: | Estate Davis Bay, 00851-3031, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing