We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Favorite!!!”

La Reine Chicken Shack
Ranked #4 of 172 Restaurants in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Local Favorite!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was told by a long time resident of St. Croix that I must eat at the Chicken Shack before I left. Boy am I glad I did. I had the roasted chicken, seasoned rice and Johnny cakes. All three were amazing. We went at lunch time and it was packed. This is a must visit when in St. Croix.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtrain640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    118
    38
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Curry Chicken - Do It Now!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived on St Croix and took a taxi to our rented residence - the taxi driver recommended the Chicken Shack. Following that, at least 3 more people recommended it. Naturally, we had to try it.

Between my hubby and I we had half roast chicken, half curried chicken, macaroni & cheese, potato salad, baked beans, and fried rice. The mac & cheese was standard. The fried rice and baked beans were pretty good. The potato salad was great. The curried chicken was AMAZING. I suppose this place is called the CHICKEN shack for a reason, because that's where they work the magic. Usually I end up giving my hubby half my food because I simply cant finish it - he didn't get much of my leftovers this time. I'm not sure what it was - the fall-off-the-bone tender meat... the mix of spices... the curry sauce that soaked into the rice at the bottom of my plate... but even with the mediocre macaroni, this meal might have been the best one during our time on the island. Absolutely heavenly.

Our meal for two people ran around $25.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“one of the local landmarks”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Ask anyone, they've been here. And everyone plans to come again, and again. I kind of take it for granted but it's always there when I need something, and need it on the cheap too!! There's many a time I've swung by for a quick half-chicken and Johnny cake... yum!!!

You get fantastic cuisine (maybe that too much of a foofoo word but boy is it good!), drinks, separate bar, even entertainment on occasion depending on when you come.

They have quite the operation, perfected over years and thousands upon thousands of repeat customers. If you haven't been, or someone you talked to hasn't been, then they're missing out on a special treat from St Croix.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wess_Tester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“a must *dont leave the island before with stoping”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the best chicken I every had,,, the johnny cakes are delicious .. ,price is cheap but the food is fantastic ..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Great island food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch on our last day on our way to the airport. Friendly service at the walk-up counter take-out only but there are lots of picnic tables and a pavilion to eat at. Service is quick. Food is great. Half chicken Friday special is unmatched. Don't get confused with the bar in the next building.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing