We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice little place, busy for lunch.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
Ranked #7 of 158 Restaurants in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
149 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice little place, busy for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went with a business associate. We ordered ahead. Food was ready within 5 minutes of getting there.. Had Pot fish and a johnny cake $9, (her recommendation). Was good definitely different. Sat outside at a picnic table. No inside to eat just patio. It's where the locals eat-also have lots of chicken dishes..

Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank streykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    97
    29
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Eating Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We love eating at local places and this was the best pace we found.
The menu is limited and they do run out of specials sometimes early in the day. They close at 6pm, so try to go by earlier in the day for the best choices.
We had the roasted chicken and the mahi-mahi fish cooked with a butter sauce. Both came with rice and peas, small salad, and red beans. The Johnny cakes ae the best I have ever tasted. ( which you buy extra for .50 each). Our meal cost right about $23.00.

We got our meal to go and went back to our resort to eat. Well worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HXtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Kentucky Fried Chicken!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The roasted chicken was excellent. Very moist and tasty. I was surprised they had a little container of bar-b-que sauce but it did add a nice kick to the chicken. The Johnny cakes were a real treat. You might want to stop by on the way to the airport and grab a meal and eat at the airport after you check in. Limited menu but the name of it is the chicken shack. Staff could be a little friendlier to the new tourist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Check Out the Beer Drinking Pig's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fun place for a Visit in the Rain Forrest.The Beer Drinking Pigs are a Must See.La Reine also makes a mean Johnny Cake and Finger Licking Good Chicken.Wash it Down with a Shot of Mama Wana.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will not be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The chicken and pork are amazing but dont be afraid to branch out to the crucian specials. Great place for tourists to get a better feel for local culture and food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing