We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great find, great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reine Chicken Shack

La Reine Chicken Shack
Ranked #7 of 158 Restaurants in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: very popular with the locals and gaining popularity with the tourists. they don't have their own website, but the link I provided above shows its listing.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Found this place on St Croix magazine must place to visit. You must get there before 4:30pm or order and pick it up at the bar after "shack" closes (the bar patrons will tell you how). We got there late the first time and they were closed! Great food and they give you a ton (we ate leftovers for lunch and dinner the following day!). If you can read the map, it is on route 75 north, just before you get to rte 70 junction. And they seem to be open daily, unlike some restaurants on St Croix which are closed on Sundays. Loved the ribs!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    97
    29
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Local must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cheap, tasty local favorite. Don't be scared off by its "Shack" look. The food is very good and very indicative of Crucian taste. Eat a johnny cake for me!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jess630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had been to several occasions where people brought delicious food and found they had bought the food at the Chicken Shack. Outstanding Johnny Cakes and chicken.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

OMG, this was the most difficult restaurant to find even with a GPS!. No one publishes addresses to their businesses it seems but they do give the telephone numbers. We were so lost and ended up near Captain Morgan's Rum distillery. We called the restaurant from there to get directions and they did not know where Captain Morgan's was! Long story short, we found it by error and wouldn't you know... it was right down the mountain from where we stayed.

But our reward was delicious local food with great homemade cookies to end the meal. It is so popular that there are lines of locals also. I am told that that is a great way to judge the quality of the food- if the locals like it then it is the place to be. Many of the restaurants where we dined, although they were great, was not a local favorite.

I had the stew fish with fungi. Perfect. I have friends from St. Thomas so I was familiar with the dish. Couldn't wait to get my order and it was not a disappointment. On our last night night on the island, we passed by Kim's late night and was surprised to see a huge party taking place on the property. Kim's was not open but the outside bar was and I wished that we could have stopped for a while.

The bottom line is put Kim's on your to-do list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pearlyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place server great chicken, and everything else on the menu is awesome. Low prices and fast service!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrini_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Reine Chicken Shack also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to La Reine Chicken Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing