We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Quirky and cool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Croix LEAP

St. Croix LEAP
Ranked #6 of 16 Shopping in St. Croix
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of the rain forest, this is a workshop where you can purchase a wide variety of mahogany crafts including furniture, jewelry boxes and mirrors.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky and cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

It's off Mahogany Road west of the Domino Club. The signs aren't great (welcome to STX!) so watch carefully. The driveway's on the south side of the road and you take the right fork to get there. The workshop is built into the hillside and they have bats there...

They also have amazing works of master artistry using only fallen tropical woods. We snagged a cutting board and leaf-shaped bowl. Well worth the drive!

2 Thank khaludi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting - "adventure" shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

IF you can find the place (you need 4x4 to get there), you'll likely think you're in the wrong place at first. It's a big open barn, essentially, with tools all over. This is a working wood shop, not exactly a store/shop. But... get out and take a look around. The guy will point out the mahogany trees and show you some amazing items carved from fallen trees. You might take home a small cutting board, a wind chime or some other trinket to remind you of your adventure.

Visited April 2014
2 Thank TBest5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great snorkel spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Go see Hams Bluff by the Virgin Island National Guard road end- great ecological diversity, underwater geology and even a small 25' long tunnel leading to an internal pool.


Butler Bay Plantation for sale at 3.5 mil ( http://www.sothebysrealtyusvi.com/usvi-property-detail.asp?isl=&mls=13-871) and one can travel up into the rainforest on the way back to Christiansted may e pick up some local fruit and other things at roadside stand.

Visited October 2013
1 Thank Craigpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Yup, as the previous poster noted, this is a shack up a hill where the guy walks around uncovering the tables and such for you to take a look at. There isn't much for sale that you can fit in a suitcase to take home with you but the table tops are stunning. I wish someone would come in and help this place put together some more items for sale as it really is a great business. We drove up the hill, walked around and left in about 10 minutes.

Visited March 2012
3 Thank Phykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bizarre place, for the brave only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We found the location easily and saw the sign clearly, then traveled up the short bumpy driveway through some cool hanging vines.When we got to the end, there was a run-down house and workshop that looked uninhabited. We knew this had to be it (there were no turnoffs on the driveway and the sign said this way) but we almost left as it looked pretty scary and we didn't see any people. There was one man there and he lifted up some tarps to show us his wares. Everything was absolutely beautiful from cutting boards to handheld mirrors to bookends to tables to statues - however you would not have known anything was in there as it was covered up with dirty, messy things. The prices seemed very negotiable, but it was awkward. It's not exactly a shop. We did buy a beautiful mahogany cutting board and after we left I wished I had bought some other things - it was just so strange and uncomfortable. My advice is go with an open mind and look around at everything you are shown - it really is great work.

Visited March 2012
3 Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Croix LEAP also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Been to St. Croix LEAP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing