We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday spot!!!”
Review of Cane Bay

Cane Bay
Ranked #11 of 73 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on St. Croix's north shore, the waters are not always gentle along this palm-tree-lined beach, but scuba diving and snorkeling are very popular here where less than 200 yards out is the drop-off called Cane Bay Wall.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Loved Calvin's pig roast and the R&B Connection band on the beach! Chairs are available to rent $7. "Eat @ Cane Bay" is right across the street. They close early on Sundays though. They have THE BEST rum cake with caramel sauce that I've EVER had!!!!! Beautiful sunsets to be had here too!!!!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank La_Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great beach"
in 35 reviews
"dive shop"
in 40 reviews
"fish"
in 37 reviews
"north shore"
in 17 reviews
"great place to snorkel"
in 6 reviews
"pretty beach"
in 6 reviews
"beach bar"
in 11 reviews
"scuba diving"
in 14 reviews
"rent chairs"
in 4 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 6 reviews
"water shoes"
in 4 reviews
"turtles"
in 34 reviews
"yards"
in 16 reviews
"reef"
in 30 reviews
"waves"
in 19 reviews
"croix"
in 38 reviews
"st"
in 34 reviews
Filter

203 - 207 of 324 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This is an average beach at best. Went there with my wife, we usually go to beaches to tan, swim an do some light snorkeling. The sand was brownish and slightly rough, there was a lot of sharp rocks and uneven slopes which made swimming less than enjoyable. The current was strong and there was quite an undertow which make it unattractive to young kids and unexperienced swimmers. I must say there was some cool sights while snorkeling (coral and fish of all size... Tiny and huge!) but the current is intense, so if you don't use fins, you will get quite a workout swimming against the current which is doable but exhausting, or else you might end up dangerously far from the beach.

1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very quaint area not far from the Carambola where we were staying. Some very awesome restaurants, a beautiful beach, and great horsebackriding.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went just off season and there were less than a dozen people there. Very limited for facilities in the off season but a place did open with food and beverages, Water was calm and there is a wooden carousel which is marked by a buoy for divers. Was told the water drops to 13,000 feet. Snorkeling was good with lots of fish and coral.

Date of experience: April 2014
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Sam and I did 11 dives with the group at Cane bay. They were superb! Rick, Patrick, Nick, Nick, Chris and Michelle are top notch. They even attended our wedding on the beach in front of the shop. They were elated and couldn't do enough to make our honeymoon and wedding exceptionally special. The dives were really superb. The reef is in excellent condition, lots of juveniles and plenty of things to see from sharks to juvenile trunk fish. Just good people. And let's not forget Hal and Suzanne... they set the tone for their happy employees. Thank you to all!! we will return!

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank 56michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Bay also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing