We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
49
7
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
7
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north shore cane bay boutique hotel amazing restaurant on the rocks ac island breeze balconies
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 63 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The waves at cane bay is truly the most relaxingl place on the north shore of St Croix. the rooms have balcony that overlooks the beautiful colors of the Caribbean Sea.The room was also newly renovated with a full kitchen. The bathroom wasvery well maintained and clean with good water pressure and plenty of towels. You can also tell the beds were new and very comfortable. there is a saltwater grotto pool down on the beach that is my favorite feature of this hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant right about the grotto that serves dinner with pick your own lobster and fresh catch of the day fish specials. This is a must try! Great service and food with a fully stocked bar. I give the waves at cane bay an A+ for value and location. Looking forward to coming back next year... Thank you to the owner Laura and her two cute dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayde0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days and couldn't have asked for a better location, service, and experience. The owner was so accommodating, the views were picture perfect (every room is on the water), and everything was nice and clean. Don't forget to make reservations at the restaurant literally ON the water and pick your own lobster. The waitstaff boys will joke and make you feel at home, not to mention are easy on the eyes ;-) I would absolutely stay there again. As a matter of fact, I'm going to!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evanatious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place has so many positives, the best being the one from which it gets its name. The sound of waves all night was so soothing and the views over the water were great. Rooms were big and clean and bed was comfy. Kitchen was pretty well equipped- only thing missing was spoons- we had to eat our cereal with forks until we smuggled out some plastic spoons from a restaurant! Bathroom was clean and water pressure was decent. We arrived late on a sunday due to delays in our flight to the island, which meant it would be hard to shop for breakfast suppliers. Our host gave us a very thoughtful basket of goodies with cereal and enough milk for the first day, granola bars, a bag of microwave popcorn and a couple of other snacks.

The main downside for us was that the AC was way too small for the room. We actually were put in 2 other rooms before the one we finally stayed in, both of which had broken AC units. The one we lived in for a week had AC but not enough to make the room truly cool. It was better than nothing but we didn't have a sheet over us at night any night we were there b/c we were so hot. Other things that were not as great was that the host did not give good local info. For example, the night we arrived there was a weekly pigroast at the restaurant nearest the hotel, but when we asked about places to eat that evening she didn't even mention it. We didn't find out til the next day and were not there a week later when the next pig roast party happened. A similar thing happened the next night in which again we missed a once a week event b/c she didn't think to let us know it was an option. I guess its not her job to be our tour guide, but as the nearest thing to a concierge, it would have been nice to have a good hold on the events in the area and to share that information with guests. The other thing I guess was more my error was that reading the site description I got the impression that you'd walk out of your room and onto cane bay, where in reality cane bay was a 5 minute walk down a rather busy road. Its certainly walking distance, but not as easy when schlepping mask, fins etc for snorkeling as I had hoped when booking the trip. Overall though, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a room away from the crowd.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Live2snorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at the waves was amazing! we felt like we were on Fantasy Island. Laura, the owner, couldn't have been more attentive, making sure that our stay was everything we wanted. The room was great...large enough and very comfortable. THE VIEW OFF OUR BALCONY WAS BREATHTAKING!! we saw beautiful sunsets. Laura recommended several local places for lunch that were some of the best food we have eaten. in addition, the food at the Waves restaurant was right up there with the best restaurants we have eaten at in the States. Chef is very talented. Fresh fish dishes were to die for! Nearby beach was perfect for sunbathing. we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have stayed at theWaves several times over the last few years. The property improves every year. Rooms are clean and sitting right on the ocean. Sunsets are magnificant and the restaurant is top notch!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agold3858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews