We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, but a service fiasco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, but a service fiasco”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is our last night of a four night stay. The beach is gorgeous, the rooms quite nice, the grounds well maintained, and the service an unmitigated disaster. On arrival from the airport we had close to an hour wait at the largely empty Deck restaurant for sandwiches. We then scheduled hotel-sponsored tours 3 days in a row. All 3 were cancelled and all with no notification whatsoever. One, in fact, had been confirmed just 30 minutes earlier. No explanation from the concierge as the concierge was not actually there. When our first snorkeling trip was cancelled, we asked about getting equipment and riding to Coral Gardens ourselves. We were directed to the watersports hut on the beach. When we got there, we were told that they were closed... for the next 2 days. This conversation occurred next to a sign that read "Open Daily." Between the cancelled trips, lack of service coordination at all levels, and coming back to our room late in the afternoon to find out that it had not yet been cleaned, the service lapses were continual. Not acceptable at this price point or any other. Beautiful island and attractive hotel, but come with low expectations and ready for management excuses, not solutions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    328
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
467
1,479
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our first delightful experience at Turks & Caicos staying at the Seven Start Resort in Grace Bay - January 2014! After reading the many tripadvisor reviews, we booked an American Airlines vacation package at the beautiful Seven Stars Resort with our two adult children, spent an extraordinary week in this small slice of paradise, and continue to look back in bliss at the memory. First, a few "island" glitches - "real" snorkeling and scuba diving can only be accessed through a boat ride to designated spots, i.e. a cost is attached - do your homework before you arrive. Second, other resorts will try to convince you that their beaches are "private" but they're not - the beaches are public - let them know they cannot fool you. You can sit on any beach, and swim in all the water without a resort's permission! Third, beware of unscrupulous taxi drivers - confirm payment, get name and license number BEFORE you agree to any destination. When you find someone you like, get the driver's contact info and stay with them - return trips will cost you dearly with middle men/women working every angle to take advantage of the ignorant tourist. That said, our vacation exceeded our expectations! Our two-bedroom ocean front room with balcony in the Alya Building (thanks to a previous TripAdvisor reviewer) was beautiful, spacious, with a lovely modern fully equipped kitchen. With one "room" glitch - returning to our room, after a dinner out, to a flood caused by faulty washing machine wiring - we were greeted by friendly staff, already hard at work cleaning up the mess, before we even knew about it. With the professional and gracious assistance of house manager, Iquita, we were promptly assisted, moved and upgraded to an even lovelier room. We can never endorse Iquita's efforts highly enough - she went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable and pleased with our accommodation during the visit, following up with us after we had returned to our home in California. From the first greeting at the front desk, to daily morning breakfast staff at Seven Restaurant, to twice-daily cleaning teams, to support staff throughout the pool-beach-grounds, the service was excellent - deserving of the Seven Star (on a five-star scale) name! To further describe just how much this resort cares about their customers' overall experience, a final note about our last "tearful" evening before our early departure back to the U.S. the next day...I called the Concierge asking if we could pick up breakfast items for our early travels (leaving before restaurant opens). I received a call back from the Seven Restaurant manager, Alan, asking for our departure details, followed by a complimentary delivery of lovely sandwiches for the road - unbelievable! Speaking of Seven Restaurant, if looking for an outstanding dining experience, it is here. One of the best dinners we had on the island (and we enjoyed many!) - delicious food, wonderful wine selection and excellent service with manager and gentleman, Alan, at the helm. Many restaurants are within walking distance - truly wonderful fish on the island, including Via Veneto (across the street from SSR), Bella Luna, Fresh Catch, as well as The Deck at SSR. Thank you, thank you, thank you, IQUITA, and all the wonderful staff at Seven Stars Resort at Grace Bay! World class hospitality and excellence - you will find it here at Seven Stars, Providenciales, Caicos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CKS373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Truly awesome week spent at the Seven Stars. Everything exactly as advertised and worth the price. Staff great across the board. I was in an oceanfront junior suite on the sixth floor in building 3 which was perfect. I think this place hits the right balance between available activities and quiet. You can choose either. Easy walking distance to shopping and other dining options although I glided easily down to the oceanside Deck most evenings for dinner. Tip: to take in sunset, walk over to Point Grace and watch it from there. I suppose they could change up the breakfast options more and update the bathrobes in the suites but I am really stretching here. Really a super spot.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank GracieGracieGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

As our first trip to Turks, we were very unsure of what hotel to book and narrowed it down to Grace Bay and Seven Stars after reading numerous reviews and speaking to friends. These appear to be the nicest hotels on the Island other than Parrot Cay and Amanyara which are at a much higher price point. Suffice it to say that we were very pleased with our choice. We traveled as a family of 6 and stayed in a 2BR ocean front suite (they brought cots into the LR for our twin 5 year olds). We also separately reserved a 1BR ocean front suite for my parents. The rooms and views are beautiful but note the views from the third floor and above are far nicer than the first two floors. We also learned upon arrival that there is a breakfast buffet offered for free, which was a nice surprise for our party of 8 and the buffet was pretty good. Their restaurant Seven is excellent and the beach and pool side restaurants are fairly good although we much preferred shopping for lunch at the Gourmet Market across the street and eating on our balcony since lunch in any restaurant on the Island seemed to take no less than an hour and a half from start to finish--and a waste of a good part of our days on the beach. We visited Grace Bay for lunch and concluded that is of comparable quality but we much preferred the feel and casual elegance offered at Seven Stars. It is high end service without any fuss. We really felt like each and every member of the staff was there to make your trip great and absolutely no one had their hand out for a tip. Towels and beach chairs are readably available at all times--which we have found to be rare--especially without having to tip someone at every turn. They do not even require a room key to take towels. There is also a wonderful and very resourceful Concierge Manager (Claudine Pratt) who made all of our dinner reservations and arranged an incredible private boat tour and horseback riding on the beach. As an example of the incredible service she (and the hotel offered), we took the private boat tour with a party of 12 and realized not one of us remembered to bring towels after we were out on the ocean for over an hour. Our captain called the hotel and they sent one of their boats to bring us towels in the middle of the ocean! That one act best defines the type of service the hotel offers--at no extra cost. We also had several massages while there and they have an incredible massage therapist named Yna that specializes in deep tissue massages. If you are looking for a great massage--definitely make an 80 minute appointment with her! Finally-attached are a few photos of the view from our suite. This is one hotel worth making a trip to and is very well located. One last suggestion--rent a car! Taxis are few and far between and there are several excellent restaurants that are just a little to far to walk to.

Room Tip: Reserve building 3 from the third floor and above--the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plmc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Now granted, it was our first kid-free trip in a while, but it was sooo nice. The hotel is immaculate, the grounds are very well maintained, and the service is mostly amazing.

The pool and beach chairs are awesome - new clean poofy cushions and big soft towels. We were there at the beginning of December so there was no shortage of chairs or umbrellas but not sure what would happen during peak season.

The beach is generally gorgeous on this island, but is especially nice at this hotel because the beach chairs are so close to the water. At other hotels, the beach is wider so the chairs are farther from the water.

The food and drinks at the hotel were great. We mostly ate lunch on the beach and it did not disappoint, from burgers and fries to seared tuna - all fantastic. Also, there is a lovely beach bar with torches, couches, and tasty drinks - a nice way to end off the evening.

Only downside is the island is expensive – casual dinner for 2 was minimum $200.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from our first trip to Turks and Caicos, and a one week stay at Seven Stars. I traveled with three teenagers, and we selected an ocean view one bedroom suite on the third floor, which was nearly 2000 sq ft. Even though we only had one bedroom, the living area easily accommodated two rollaway beds, with plenty of space to spare. The check-in process was welcoming, with a cool drink and quick tour of the property. Our suite was immaculate, huge kitchen, and very large balcony with plenty of seating. We didn't use the kitchen for meal preparation, but did stock up on some fresh fruit and snacks from the grocery right across the street. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We took advantage of breakfast buffet every morning at Seven restaurant, and also had one dinner at the beach front restaurant - excellent food and beautiful location.

Volleyball on the beach, tennis courts, small but adequate fitness center and beach-front classes in yoga and kick-boxing were all available. We did not use Seven Stars for our excursions, but instead booked through Blue Unlimited, also a superb experience!

As indicated by another reviewer, our departure from TCI airport was horrendous, in part due to bad weather in the United States, and poor service from US Air. We also encountered extremely long check-in lines and waits to pass through security checkpoints. I understand the airport is undergoing substantial expansion and renovation which will no doubt improve immensely the level of service.

Although we traveled during the "peak" season, with many schools on winter break, we never felt any congestion in Provo, or delays in service, or overrun with travelers. Very laid back pace, and wonderful relaxing vacation. HIGHLY recommend Seven Stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can't say enough about our recent stay at Seven Stars Resort in Turks and Caicos! Our stay with our two teenage sons was beyond our expectations. Our two bedroom suite was spacious, clean and bright. The bathrooms were beautiful and large. Beds are very comfortable. We had a huge balcony overlooking the pool area and beach. Complimentary breakfast outdoors every morning was terrific! The staff took the time to remember our names by day 2. Service at Seven Stars is second to none. Everyone there was very accommodating and bent over backwards to make our stay perfect! The pool is better than it appears in photos. Plenty of towels, comfortable chairs and steps to the beautiful beach. We never had trouble finding chairs at the beach. The sand is so soft and water crystal clear and a beautiful shade of turquoise. The resort offers anything you could want at the beach: Paddle boards, Hobies, Snorkel gear, Beach Volleyball, etc. We were celebrating my husband's 50th Birthday, and Nikki at Seven Stars organized the most beautiful private dinner on the beach for our group. Dinner for 12 under the stars and a full moon was a memory we will carry with us forever. Nikki set up a table surrounded by tiki torches with a fabulous bonfire next to our table. The personal service and food was incredible! I am so grateful to her and to Laura for all of their help in planning such a special night! We highly recommend Seven Stars and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.0 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#12 of 45 in Providenciales
361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#6 of 45 in Providenciales
1,777 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#2 of 45 in Providenciales
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Stars Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Stars Resort & Spa

Property: Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Address: Grace Bay Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seven Stars Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring the sweeping arc of the world-famous Grace Bay Beach in the Turks & Caicos Islands, Seven Stars Resort blends island hospitality with luxurious all-suite accommodations and world-class amenities. Expansive accommodations range from junior to five-bedroom suites and feature high-end furnishings and finishes, full kitchens or kitchenettes, wrap-around balconies and over-sized marble bathrooms with soaking tubs, terry bathrobes and L’Occitane amenities. Island-inspired cuisine is served in three dining venues. Ideal for couples and families, the oceanfront palm-lined resort features a pool terrace with cabanas, tennis, complimentary water-sports, kids program, spa, fitness center, and nearby championship golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Seven Stars Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Stars Resort
Seven Stars Hotel Providenciales
Seven Stars Providenciales
Seven Stars Resort & Spa Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing