We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northwest Point Resort
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeding our expectations”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We just returned from a week at Northwest Point. We couldn't be happier. It is about 20 minutes outside of the main Grace Bay area. However, its location was a plus for us. It ensures that it is quiet and relaxed. The grounds were beautiful with a wonderful beachfront where you could relax all by yourself. We had a one bedroom suite which had plenty of room and fully stocked kitchen and washer and dryer, which comes in handy. Even though we really liked the location, grounds and room, the service was the best part. Mike, Mary and everyone were most helpful whether it be scheduling diving or giving some advice on snorkel spots or other excursions. They make Northwest Point the great spot that it is.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorkeling-Jayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    99
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
94
175
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, KS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My wife and I traveled to the Turks and Caicos Islands with another couple last year. We found a great deal staying at the Northwest Point Resort. We all enjoyed the stay because of the great price, the wonderful accommodations, and the friendly service. The only trouble with this resort is that it is out of the way. It is a 20-30 drive along gravel road to shopping and restaurants.
But the beach at the resort is great and the snorkeling was good. If you like a quiet place to relax and unwind, this is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toddWallentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Our family of five stayed at the Northwest Point Resort during spring break. The suite was great, with lots of room, which is a definite plus with teenage children. It was very clean. The staff were wonderful and attentive, and helped arrange our excursions.

The area itself was quite secluded and absolutely silent at night (except the sound of the ocean). With a rental car, we could go where we wanted - it's a pretty quick drive to anywhere on the island - and then return to the Northwest Point to get away from the crowds, relax, and do some snorkeling. There were times when we were the only people on the beach or at the pool. Definitely a good choice!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0S0x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We just returned from 7 days at Northwest Point on our honeymoon. We stayed in Unit 207, an oceanfront 2-bedroom condo ( we were upgraded), with a wraparound balcony. Great views from our condo! We were very happy with it and definitely loved the fact that we had a kitchen and washer/dryer. We said many times during our stay that we were happy that we had decided to pass on the ridiculously overpriced Grace Bay hotels. The value at Northwest Point can't be beat, and furthermore it's located at the tip of the island, away from all of the crowds. We rented a car from Grace Bay Car Rentals, very friendly and they had our car waiting as soon as we walked out of the airport. It was only a 15-20 minute drive from the airport, most of it to the hotel is paved, with only a short distance of gravel once you reach the end of your trip.

For most of our seven days, we saw only a handful of other guests, it was amazingly quiet! We loved this! We felt like we owned our own resort and were "allowing" a few other guests to hang out! :-) We ate a few times at the grill located at the hotel. They have things like chicken fingers, hamburgers, french fries, fish fingers, etc. Most items are in the $10 range, much cheaper than other restaurants on the island. We didn't have any problems getting food there, and if the cook was busy and away, all you needed to do is give her a call and she would come. She was great!

The pool and hot tub are open 24/7. There are a few cozy hammocks on the property for your use.

We ventured into town one night and went to Provo's only movie theater and saw "X-Men." It was nice to see a movie on our island vacation!

As far as the prices of food go on the island, watch out! Prices are at least double of the US, and since they fly in a lot of their food, it definitely shows in the ticket prices. If you can bring some laundry detergent from home, or things like that, it would definitely help. For example, we went to the IGA on our first day there and stocked up on a few items. The store has just as much variety as a regular US grocery chain. However, prices are sky high! Peanut butter for $5.00, a bottle of ranch salad dressing for $8.00. Some of our favorite restaurants-Hemingway's, Da Conch Shack, Tiki Hut, Sharkbite, Baci, Las Brisas, and Horse Eye Jack's. Be prepared for a $50 lunch and at least $75-100 dinner depending on how much alcohol you drink. We also loved the Infinity Bar and the Lounge at Grace Bay Club. A super cool place to hang out and have drinks.

Overall, we would definitely return to Northwest Point. If you are a diva, don't stay here. But if you like having the best of both worlds, having a kitchen and cooking a little, but then room service cleaning your dishes for you, and washing clothes when you need to, but having room service help keep your beach towels washed and dried, or staying oceanfront with pockets of turtle grass and pockets of clear white sand, that is still raked everyday just like the big resorts, then book your condo now! Mike, the resort manager was wonderful and gave us some great recommendations. Go visit him and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Absolutely beautiful. If you are looking for a natural unspoiled postcard place to relax and enjoy the scenery and tranquility, it would be hard to do better than this. Clean, quiet, thoughtfully designed, amazing. We had a blast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XDARKSTARX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2009

It was our honeymoon, there were other honeymoon couples there too, but it was not crowded and very relaxing. We got massages in our room and he helped us with day trips. Mike was incredibly helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants. We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwanttogototheretoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This was our second trip to Provo. Our last trip in Dec 2007, we stayed at the Royal West Indies on Grace Bay. We had mixed feeling about Northwest Point but in the end would not stay here again.

Beach
-not as fine as grace bay
-lots of seagrass on the beach and in the water; no one cleaned it
-no people; that's the best part
-no construction like grace bay

Pool
-needs to be heated a bit more
-Orbitz lists the resort as entirely non-smoking...smoking is allowed and there are ashtrays all over the pool area...there were a couple of smokers at the pool when we were there

Restaurant/Food
-limited menu
-very few customers leads to not a lot of food on hand
-had only one bottle of water for purchase one day
-had no chicken fingers one day
-had no french fries one day
-hours can be a bit sporadic as can the day of the week that it's closed
-Andrew was very friendly and very helpful
-You could probably eat all of your meals here but the restaurant can close any day mgt chooses...usually it's sunday or monday but they change as they see fit. You'll need some groceries or a car to go to other restaurants.

Service
-walked us to our room, helped with bags, refused tip
-couldn't tell me how much they would charge for calls back to the US
-no pool or beachside drink service
-beach towels in your room only...none at pool or beach...you use 'em, you wash em
-housekeeping service was adequate; no surprises, good or bad
-our dryer didn't work. the maintenance manager came pretty quickly and fixed it
-TV -resort has DirecTV satelitte...only they don't get reception on about 50% of the channels. You would get some channels fine in the morning but not at night...other channels you couldn't watch in the morning but could at night. We missed some of our favorite shows at night as a result. When we told management, we were told that that's the way it is and even if they had cable it would be bad. We stayed at a hotel in Grace Bay last year and had no problems with the TV. According to one of the condo owners, cable is more expensive on the island and the resort/owners don't want to pay for it.

Room
-got a deluxe garden/pool view
-smaller than expected; all of the pictures except one on the hotel website showing the deluxe garden/pool view rooms show rooms that were bigger than the one they gave us. since the place was almost completely empty and they knew that we had a crib in the room, it would have been nice for the hotel to give us one of the larger one bedroom rooms.
-no dining table, only two tall bar chairs...not good for a 2 year old
-one bedroom. the bathroom was in the bedroom rather than off of a common area
-We planned on putting our two year old to sleep in a crib in the bedroom. Because the room was so small, we had to rearrange furniture just to fit the pack & play in the room and the bedroom door then wouldn't open all of the way
-bedroom was tiny
-wireless internet worked about 50% of the time and then only when in the living area, sitting next to the sliding glass door, with the curtain open. If the curtain was closed or we were anywhere else in the room, we never got service. Service in building 2 seemed better as the antenna is located behind the restaurant, right next to building 2.
-refrigerator worked fine but cosmetically was a bit beat up...several nicks on the front and side that had begun to rust. It just felt well-used.
-the kitchen sink was similarly scratched and well worn. the faucet had separate hot and cold knobs and the top of the hot knob with the "H" had fallen off
-kitchen lacked a frying pan so we couldn't make the pancakes we bought at the grocery store
-sponge in the kitchen was very dirty
-we had only two packets of dishwasher soap left in the room and they were not replaced by the housekeeping staff when used up
-no kleenex provided in the room or bathroom...even at motel 6, you get tissues
-the toilet paper was some of the thinnest stuff you've ever seen...suitable for a truck stop on I-80...not a luxury resort
-soap, shampoo and conditioner were provided...nothing fancy but it does the job
-small security safe was provided with a key...it was fine but I prefer the electronic pin-type hotel safes...who needs another key to lose at the beach

Bugs
-when we landed, we were in the parking lot of the airport for perhaps 10-15 minutes...we were eaten up by mosquitoes
-later, we ate dinner at the resort restaurant and continued to be eaten up by mosquitoes
-apparently, when there is no breeze on the island, the mosquitoes and no-see-ums are pretty terrible. the resort used a chemical fogger as most do when there was no breeze to try to control them but they were losing the battle. For 5 of our 7 days, we didn't have problems with bugs because there was a good breeze.

Getting there
-resort is located on a gravel road...any car will do. you do not need 4 wheel drive.
-we rented a car from grace bay rentals...2nd year we've rented with them...they had a car for us at the airport. No need to drive to their office on grace bay to pick up or drop off.
-car was an older Toyota Camry with 75,000 miles. Clean and worked fine. Well used but much more spacious and cheaper than Hertz or Avis. I saved about $200 over a comparable car with Hertz or Avis.

Restaurant recommendations
-tiki hut - turtle cove
-baci - turtle cove
-coco bistro - grace bay
-las brisas - chalk sound - favorite

Hurricanes
-While Provo avoided a direct hit of any hurricanes in 2008, there was still minor evidence of damage
-Many of the palm trees had only small or sparse leaves. They appear to have lost their plumage in the storms.
-The famed palm canopy at Coco Bistro on Grace Bay was certainly less dense than in Dec 2007.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weezieonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
10.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
1,024 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Vista Azul Resort
La Vista Azul Resort
#35 of 44 in Providenciales
235 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Paradise Inn
Caribbean Paradise Inn
#26 of 44 in Providenciales
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,952 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
813 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sands at Grace Bay
Sands at Grace Bay
#21 of 44 in Providenciales
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Property: Northwest Point Resort
Address: 1 Davies Bight Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing