We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Chilly high winds that never stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northwest Point Resort
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The winds never stopped blowing. Surf too rough and cold to swim. We ended up renting a boat and going to the other side of the Island. Staff friendly. Condo clean. Can't really call the resturant a resturant, new managers have only been there for 3 weeks. Forget having a bar! You must place your meal order by 4pm, which is fine if someone would tell you before hand. It's a long rough drive back to town. This is NOT a resort, it's condos! Very quiet which I liked very much.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diverguysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 336 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

There are so many choices now on Providenciales that I would probably not return to Northwest Point Resort. It is so remote that getting to any of the other restaurants, snorkeling trips, and other activities is a real commitment. The resort provided a complementary rental car, but it was so old and undersized that we hardly fit in it. The resort itself is nice, though we lost electricity and water several times during our one week stay. One of the showers never did work, but they did fix a broken toilet for us. The restaurant on site is not really a restaurant - more of a snack shack. The beach was always clean and there were nice chairs for lounging, but the wind at that part of the island is ferocious. Snorkeling was not that great. Had to go on a commercial tour to get some good snorkeling. We were able to relax and enjoyed our week, but it way way overpriced for the location and amenities. Much better choices elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 52Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was my second visit to the Resort, and it was an excellent, restorative experience as before. Other reviewers have already noted its tranquility, value, beauty, friendly service, etc., and this is all true. While it is somewhat far from the rest of the island, staying there allowed us to explore the island/other beaches which we may not have done otherwise. We never would have visited the Chalk Sound part of the island, for example. The resort has a new chef, and his conch fritters rival those that we've tasted in more upscale restaurants. While you should not expect the suites to be "squeaky, 'sanitized'" clean (it is on the beach after all), or equipped with the very newest appliances like you may find in the mega, over-priced resorts, they are truly clean, comfortable, cheerful, spacious, and fully-equipped with anything you would need. We're discerning travelers and have high standards for cleanliness. Pool area is gorgeous and un-crowded; you can read in a nice hammock that has a perfect view of the beach (and they have a nice extensive library for borrowing/taking books). I loved that staying here offered a more "true" caribbean experience than what the bigger resorts would provide. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was the beach. While beautiful and perfectly equipped with umbrellas etc. (and un-crowded), the beach itself has lots of seaweed (no-one's fault of course). If there was a way for the resort to tackle this, the beach would be ideal. Overall, I love this resort and hope to return again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Provo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family just returned from 14 nights in a two bedroom, two bathroom ground floor ocean view condo at Northwest Point and had a fantastic Christmas vacation!

The property is located at the northwest point of Providenciales, beside a national park, and far from the madding crowds of Grace Bay Beach. A car rental is a must (ours was included with our condo rental and that helped when we came to settling the car insurance bill--the resort staff ensured that we weren't overcharged) The property is well cared for and respectful of its isolated location--the two condo buildings are low-rise (3 storey) with terrific views of the beach/pool/gardens from most places in the resort. At its height, there were sixty people in the entire complex--but much of the time guests numbered between 10-15, which meant that there was always easy access to lounge chairs, hammocks, or beach chairs, along with the wide variety of sand and pool toys for kids--which everyone happily shared. The two buildings share a single hot-tub, large pool with spacious deck and lawn chairs, which connect to a walkway to the beach, complete with a covered hammock, shower stations, and little tiki huts on a rustic and stunning beach that stretches for miles without ever seeing another person. The beach is not groomed, and there are areas of seaweed and shells, but this made beach-combing amazing (we found conch shells every day of the trip). Because of its location on the point, the beach can be quite windy; however, that ensured that even on hot days it was comfortable to laze around the pool.

The condo itself was spacious with two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one ensuite, one with bathtub, and one with a shower), a functional kitchen (microwave, coffee maker, toaster, drying rack, and reasonable supplies of cutlery, dishes, and basic cooking implements) with a dishwasher, and a washer/dryer (which we used daily to dry towels), and a large living/dining area with two private patios. The master looked right out to the ocean, as did the communal living areas. The remoteness of the condo did lead to a few challenges--e.g. the power occasionally went out but a back up generator usually quickly kicked in, the pool lights sometimes were out at night, and a pool grate needed repair which couldn't happen until the replacement showed up by plane. That said, any problem was taken care of promptly by the front desk, and we had daily garbage removal, light housekeeping every three days, and a bigger clean every six days. The staff, like most people on Turks, are incredibly friendly, and willing to help. The condo, like most buildings on Turks, shows some wear and tear (it was built in 2000 and has survived through 2 hurricanes); but the scenery is so stellar that that had no real bearing on our experience.

The property was terrific for kids--small, safe, and friendly, with small lizards, and gardens winding around both buildings, decorative fountains in the courtyard of each building, and even a covered hangout area by the pool, with a ping-pong table, dart board, couches for lounging, and bar area, which we used after lunch sometimes to stay out of the sun. We tended to eat in. The restaurant scene is geared to adults and quite pricey; the grocery store also had some sticker shock (but no more so than many other islands who fly everything in). We went to Grace Bay Beach twice (once to walk on it and once to snorkel at Coral Gardens); we FAR preferred being at NWP because of the crowds on the beach and jockeying for beach chairs. We would definitely return and hope to do so in the next year or so!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jen154957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband, 4-yr old son and I spent a week at Northwest Point Resort. We picked the resort because of the nice discount and complimentary car rental. We didn't think the distance from Grace Bay would be an issue, because we anticipated using the beach and pool at the resort. However, due to the windy conditions that week, the ocean was too rough for our son to use. We drove to other beaches most days. However, even Grace Bay was affected by the winds and few people were venturing into the water.
The resort was under-going updates and repairs, so we were up-graded from a one-bedroom ocean view suite to a two-bedroom oceanfront suite. The unit was clean, well stocked with linens and towels, and the kitchen had everything we needed for making our meals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They responded promptly when we found a water leak and it was fixed right away.
We used the pool and hot tub most afternoons. The hot tub was heated and the pool was too, but due to the daily tropical rain showers, the pool did feel a little cool. So my son and I just went between the hot tub and pool.
We didn't eat at the on-sight restaurant. We couldn't tell if it was open. We ate breakfast and dinner in our unit. The grocery stores were well stocked. We went to Graceway IGA on our arrival day. Found the Quality Grocery Store on Monday and prices for produce were much better. At the end of the week, we stopped in Graceway Gourmet and found that store to be better then what we have in the States. Prices are higher then in the States, but everything is shipped in to TCI. Frozen pizza $10, box of cereal $6, salsa $4, can of fruit $4, bottle of rum $16. We brought some food and snacks with us in our luggage.
We did get a complimentary cell phone, but had to pay $10 for the minutes. We got the phone because of all the driving we were doing. The road to the resort is unpaved and bumpy. We didn't drive the road at night. It is a good 20 minutes to Grace Bay.
We liked the island a lot and enjoyed the beach at Taylor Bay. We did a day trip to the pirate caves with Outback Adventures. We had some good meals at Mango and Chinsons. It's a nice island for children. I'm disappointed that we weren't able to swim at the resort beach because I heard that the snorkeling is amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bowerstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We just returned from NWP and had an excellent experience. The location sets this resort apart from the Grace Bay area which has become quite crowded over the last few years. Depending on the location of your room, you can hear the waves at night and can definitely sleep with the windows open. While extremely peaceful, the property can set you up with water activities and excursions. The resort also has a really good restaurant that is laid back and offers food prepared by local cooks. We recommend renting a car to do some exploring/day trips as the resort is set in a wonderfully isolated location. If you are after an experience that offers an over-priced room and a busy, claustrophobic beach setting, you should consider staying on Grace Bay. If you prefer a relaxed and more authentic island experience, NWP offers this and more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

What happens when your husband wants to wow you with the perfect anniversary gift? He books Northwest Point Resort in Provo!
We loved our stay in the well-equipped , spacious condo…everything we wanted/needed was at our fingertips. The kitchen was well-stocked with spices, small appliances, and cookware. The unit provided WiFi, cable TV, island guides, beach books, and laundry machines.
Imagine waking to the famous Provo breeze wafting through the bedroom sliding door, while enjoying the view of the pristine beach and aquamarine sea! I miss the lazy breakfasts on the comfy balcony!
The grounds of Northwest Point Resort are just right for relaxing-well-groomed, inviting and exotic. Don’t expect to have to share the loungers on the beach-we strolled for quite some time before meeting other NWPR guests. Talk about getting away from it all! The resort provides paddleboats, kayaks and snorkeling equipment, for the pleasure of the guests.
The folks in the office were always accommodating and informative. Maps, suggestions for various types of dining venues, the best out of the way places to snorkel…they were right there for us. A call for a beeping smoke detector was repaired within 15 minutes of the report, with charm and a smile! The manager even made calls for us to help organize a “get-away” trip to North Caicos for the day.
Looking forward to getting back to NWPR.

Room Tip: Views facing the ocean - 3rd floor if possible is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
8.3 mi away
Aquamarine Beach Houses
Aquamarine Beach Houses
#29 of 44 in Providenciales
360 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#16 of 44 in Providenciales
1,060 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa del Mar
Villa del Mar
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,992 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ocean Club Resort
Ocean Club Resort
#23 of 44 in Providenciales
826 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwest Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Point Resort

Address: 1 Davies Bight Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $258 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northwest Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwest Point Resort is located on 16 miles of white sand beach on the northwest marine park on the main island of Provo in Turks and Caicos. The resort is private, affordable and offers guests a relaxing vacation. With an oversized heated pool and jacuzzi tub the resort is ocean front. Condo's are fully furnished suites. Kitchen amenities include fridge, stove, washer dryer, dishwasher, King, Queen and single beds. Condos have multiple bathrooms and all of them have balconies with spectacular views of the ocean. The Caribbean inspired suites are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Linens are included and any offsite activities can be organized by our staff at the request of our guests. Enjoy strolling our private beach or relaxing on lounge chairs pool side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northwest Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwest Point Hotel Providenciales
Northwest Point Providenciales
Northwest Point Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing