We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef Residences on Grace Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Somerset on Grace Bay(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$585
$567
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Resort(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$479
$465
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal West Indies Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$434
$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsong Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$1,195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Stars Resort & Spa(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$1,113
$697
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sands at Grace Bay(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palms, Turks and Caicos(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$1,250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Club(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$800
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Resort(Providenciales)(Great Value!)
$269
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
86
48
6
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
48
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssomewhere caferum punchprivate courtyardshort pathminute walkwindsong resortworld class snorkelinggrace baychairs and umbrellasbedroom condofull kitchenbeach towelsamazing snorkelingcleaned dailygrocery storelate checkoutparrot fish
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 144 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We arrived during a very busy week of February 17th and after some time at the open air reception, were shown to a rather dated room at Coral Gardens. Coral Gardens, where the restuarant is located is on the beach but the newest phase, Reef Residences, where the gym and massage studio are, is located diagonally adjacent and back from the beach with no direct access as someone has restricted access between the two. What would be a 30 second walk between the two phases now becomes a rather tedious and at night dangerous 10 minute trek 200 meters along the beach past a condominium under construction then walk another 100 meters through a construction site to arrive at the gym in Reef Residences. Staff will ferry you between the two sites via the roads by vehicle but depending upon staff availability and time of the day this too can be very inconvenient. Oh yes - construction at the condominium beside Coral Gardens starts at 6.30 am and one evening went through until 10 pm. One bright spot is the staff's attitude but that can only go so far when dealing with issues out of their control. Dispite the staff friendliness we did not feel we received the value that was promised in the brochure. Service on the beach seems spotty and inconsistent with the advertised cold towel service and sorbets - only provided once during the week and they only have enough beach umbrellas for about one quarter of the guests. Even if you have a reservation if you come late - no umbrella. Breakfast was included in the price of the package and was quite good, but if you arrived between 8.30 and 9.30 am you would have to wait for seating. The Beach Cafe,as it is called,is located right on the beach and great for breakfast but not for lunch and dinner especially if is windy out because the cafe is quite open to the elements - some expansion or upgrading is required to bring this facility up to the level of service that is advertised. Snorkeling at the reef in front of Coral Gardens is first class and one one the reasons we booked our stay but for the same amount of money we could have stayed at a more luxurious resort further down the beach.
Sorry Coral Gardens, but the service, level of luxury appointments and facilities and ongoing adjacent construction noise are not consistent with your advertised 'oasis of elegance and natural tranquility' -

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank I&OToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Anyone considering a stay at Reef Residences should be aware of a few basic cautions, all of which I had the misfortune of having to learn for myself. I was at Reef Residences from late on the 17th of February 2007 until the morning of the 19th.

Caution one: This location is not a resort. It doesn’t even qualify as a hotel. Instead, this property consists of vacation condos which are rented out when the owners are not present. These condos are located approximately five to ten minutes away by foot from Coral Gardens, another vacation condo property run by the same management company. Upon arrival you will be signed into the property in your room. It seems quaint until you realize that the reason for this is that there is no lobby or even reception desk at Reef Residences. The only reception area is a small counter in the corner of the restaurant at Coral Gardens. Because the condo units are owned you may find you don’t get what you pay for on arrival; if an owner decides to extend his/her stay you will be placed elsewhere. This happened to a number of people the day I arrived.

Caution two: This property is not located on the beach. To access the beach you will have to walk through a construction site parking lot and then along a narrow path bordered by a chain link fence for the construction site itself. Not a pleasant experience for a woman in a bathing suit. It is unclear, once construction is done, whether this path will still be traversable by guests at Reef Residences or whether it will be blocked to prevent interlopers from wandering across the new property now being built. This new property is being built directly between Reef Residences and the beach blocking whatever view of the beach there had been before from Reef Residences.

Caution three: That construction site you have to walk through to get to the beach? Construction starts at 7 am prompt and the building is only about 50 metres from Reef Residences so don’t plan on sleeping in if you have a late night and good luck if you ever have a hangover.

Caution four: There are really very few on site amenities at this location. I booked here specifically because I believed there was kayaking on site. There is not. No sailing either. No yoga. Not even a mini-bar. The fitness equipment is limited to one treadmill, one elliptical, one reclining stationary bicycle, one regular stationary bicycle, and some weightlifting equipment. The treadmill is broken and has been for some time. The fitness area is located in the same room as the spa. The temperature in the fitness area is higher than optimal for working out in order to maintain a comfortable temperature for the spa goers. If you do use the spa be prepared to listen to the people who are working out.

Caution five: The only restaurant “on site” is the one at Coral Gardens. Because the sun sets very early in the evening you will have to make some sort of arrangement to get back and forth between the two properties for supper - walking on the very poorly lit roads or the unlit beach didn’t seem like palatable options. The staff will ferry you back and forth in a van but that leaves you at the mercy of their availability. Despite the friendliness of the restaurant staff and their genuine efforts to make dining at the Coral Gardens an enjoyable experience I really cannot recommend the food. I could not eat the dish I ordered the first night. The staff, very kindly, volunteered to not charge me and substituted another dish that, while edible, was very salty and nothing particularly special. Wanting to give the restaurant another chance, I dined there again the next night. The fish I had seemed as if it had been frozen (it was a tad freezer burnt) and was not fully cooked through in places. I simply cannot recommend dining here despite the very friendly staff and suggest that, if you stay here, you either rent a car in order to eat off site or cook for yourself in your condo (which, sadly, means doing your own dishes - not exactly how I wanted to spend my vacation).

If you want a holiday in which you are on your own in a condo and don’t mind walking through a construction site to get to the beach, Reef Residences might work for you. Otherwise I would stay elsewhere, in fact that’s exactly what I did not long after arriving.

Stayed: February 2007
15  Thank sid010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2006

The Reef Residences are an amazing place and I can only say that we liked to stay there for a couple of week travelling through the Caribbean.. A lovely, charming resort with the kindest staff we have experienced, travelling worldwide alot!
Just check out for yourself and dont miss the epicurean dinner right at the beach, with only the sunset was joining our delicious meal.. We for sure want to go back and stay longer, to experience also the spa and some diving.
Phantastic place!
Katarina Paros, Greece

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank katarinaparos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the reef residences in Nov 2006 and we just returned from our trip.

Overall the stay was very pleasant. The new Resort you can name a true caribbean breath of fresh air...!

Our suite looked out over a very nice swimming pool with tropical ambience all around. The rooms were very convenient and well equipped with all what we need. The beach is very nice and spacious. The water is splendid with plenty of possibilities for watersports activities esp diving and snorkeling. The hotel makes an effort to provide good equipment - which come with no extra costs! Overall it was very good, we loved the Reef Residences stay and spend relaxing holidays at Providenciales. Would love to come back!

Michael Conelly Jr

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank elefantjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

This is a Whow...! My wife and I stayed in this lovely charming secluded beach resort for 10 nights and just loved it. The location of this place is unbelievable and has to be experienced. We did some snorkeling as teh beach is right infront as well as I did my very first scuba dive here with their own dive centre which is small but very personal!
Both of us are early risers, so in the mornings we had a daily 1:30 hr jogging on the beach - before sunrise. An amazing experience jogging right beside the ocean. There we never met a single soul, just cute tiny crabs and lots of birds as the TCI are famous for.


The resort is brand new, the architecture is cosy, a tropical elegant style. Rooms are huge and well decorated, the rate is very ok for this what you get.
We felt at home all the time.

Dining is on the way to be fantastic, but suggest to try out some more restaurants on the islands. Service at Beach Cafe, pool and beach are great – cold towels and water was brought to you automatically. The hotel management kept an eye on all the things, mingled with the guests to make sure all spend a happy holiday.

Peter Thomas Jr.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank petertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews