We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a GREAT time!”
Review of Big Blue Unlimited

Big Blue Unlimited
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 'FIRST IN, LAST OUT' is part of our motto for maximizing the guest experience. Specializing in small group and private eco-adventures our intimate and educational programs include scuba diving, kayaking, stand-up paddle-boarding, kite-boarding, snorkeling, biking and cultural eco-tours that span the entire breadth of the Turks and Caicos archipelago. The Ocean is our inspiration, exploring is our passion and innovation is our trademark. Since 1997 Big Blue Unlimited has continued to set the standards in adventure across the Turks & Caicos Islands and has never wavered from its core philosophy that 'less is more'.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We had a GREAT time!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We took the half day snorkel tour with Captain Blue and Michael. Their services were superb! We went snorkel at three different spots. We aren't good swimmers and Captain Blue took great care of us. He made sure we were doing Okay in the water. Wish we could stay a bit longer on the island to do more snorkel trips with Big Blue. If you want a safe and non-party type of snorkel tour, go with Big Blue! Big blue is BEYOND excellent!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fur123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    78
    36
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“2nd time around w/Big Blue”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our 1st tour with Big Blue was so fantastic that we literally booked our trip back to Turks and Caicos so our children can experience the eco tour with Big Blue. Being avid snorkelers we know that no two trips are alike and sometimes its not even fair to compare but our trip with Big Blue fell below our expectations the second time around. First ouf all our tour guides were very difficult to understand and they didn't explain much as we were cruising around or during stops. Our first trip might have been over the top when our tour guides got in the water and showed us the different species plus explained in great detail the "eco" part of environment. Just felt that this time there was not much of an emphasis on the "eco" . On the flip side Big Blue offers small size groups which is a HUGE plus. Did a tour with the another group after Big Blue and the group is so big it will scare any living thing in the sea as they dive in. The quality of the reefs we went to varied. One was better than the other. We saw a variety of fish, lobster and squid...no nurse sharks ;( Remember there are no bathroom facilities on the boats and bring an extra snack for young ones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Kayaking in the mangroves”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had a great morning with Michael, our guide. Started out at a pretty slow pace to the Little Water Cay to check out the iguanas. Saw a turtle on the way over, and then a couple of rays on the beach where we landed. Toured the nature preserve for the iguanas and then had a small breakfast of muffins, brownies, pineapple, and cantaloupe...all refreshing. Off to the mangroves next and Michael corralled a couple of nurse sharks for us, picked up a couple of conch and showed us what they looked like, and a couple more turtles. Overall, a wonderful trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank patlikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun & informative”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you're interested in learning about the nature around you while also engaging in some fun water activities, this is the company for you. Big Blue offers almost all the different water activities you might want on TCI: snorkeling, kayaking, diving, even bicycling. Big Blue prides themselves on having no environmental impact, and being in such a beautiful place with a few protected parks, I appreciated wanting to maintain the beauty surrounding me.

We did 2 kayak trips, one was a morning trip through the mangroves, and the other was a nighttime kayak trip to see the glow worms 3 nights after the full moon. Both were amazing, and lead by the same guide, Jason. Jason was knowledgeable about the mangroves, wildlife, and island in general. He was friendly & informative. On the day trip, we even stopped at a private beach where we snacked on some fruit and baked goods that had been freshly prepared for us. We saw birds, sharks, jellyfish, sting rays, turtles, blowfish, and a myriad of other fish. The nighttime glow worm trip was amazing in a different way. To kayak and be so close to the glow worms as they let off their bio-luminescence was an amazing experience (that only occurs once a month), not to mention the star-filled sky above.

Big Blue does a wonderful job of creating fun tourist experiences in the beautiful waters & reefs of TCI, while also keeping in mind their impact on the environment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great day of snorkeling”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I did the 1/2 day snorkel tour and we're quite pleased. We have different likes/dislikes when snorkeling and one four hour trip satisfied us both. We had 4 other people on board plus two crew members - Luke and Alvarado. Both of them were great! We made three stops - two reefs and one small ship wreck. The first reef was great - lots of fish life, two small sharks, etc. The water was a bit choppy so you actually had to swim but I never felt unsafe. The next stop was near the GORGEOUS Big Water Cay where the water was much calmer. We stayed for about an hour and snorkeled and then sat on the boat and had some snacks (fresh fruit, fresh muffins and brownies) and then went on to the last stop. This reef, King a George, I believe, was much shallower than the first but still quite rough in terms of water. It was lovely but there was nothing too amazing to report.

All in all though would absolutely use them again and bring my family back with us. There was no drinking or loud music or any of the typical booze cruise disguised as a snorkel trip type of nonsense. When we stopped to snorkel we were the only boat at each stop which was also great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrDreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Unlimited also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Turks and Caicos, Caribbean
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Big Blue Unlimited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing