We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful property with so much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I recently stayed at the somerset with my two young children, 2 & 5. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is amazing. Our room was spacious and welcoming. I struggle with my love hate for this property. Love the property but service all the way around is lacking. From checkin to check out service was sub par. Room service and restaurant service was incredibly inflexible and food mediocre. No food is available from 10:30 am - 11:30 am and from 5:00pm - 6:00pm, no exceptions. 5-6 is prime feeding time for kids so it's tough to imagine even in room service you can't order a piece of toast. I want to love the somerset....but service is really poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfamilyinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 687 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the 3rd time that my husband and I have stayed at the Somerset and really the quality of the resort has spiraled down. Maybe new management? We originally stayed here about 3 years ago in one of the oceanfront villas with our youngest daughter. The unit was magnificent and the whole resort was fabulous. My husband and I returned last year and stayed in a smaller unit and again had a wonderful time. So beautiful that we started thinking of maybe looking into investing in our own unit..I booked a trip with my 3 adult children and son's girlfriend and wanted to stay in the original oceanfront villa this time. They told us no problem but may have to move the last night into another 3 bedroom unit. So we arrived and were told the room wasn't quite ready and decided to go to the beach and wait. After a few hours we went to the front to find out that our room was ready but we did not have the unit we expected! We were in a three bedroom unit in the back. Someone messed up and really it all went south from there. The units are all lovely and we did not suffer but the organization of the whole front staff was really poor. The last time we arrived we got a whole welcome plate of fruit and cheese, attention to detail was extraordinary. This time there was no welcome, no water bottles, not much of anything. The furniture was old, the beach loungers were broken and many of the staff members seemed aloof and unfriendly. The waiters at the poolside restaurant never smiled and frankly everyone seemed unhappy, a huge difference from last year. It is still a beautiful resort and the ocean is amazing but there are may other resorts that are oceanfront on this amazing beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mommdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our first time in the Turks and Caicos and the Somerset was the perfect place to go. It has the perfect beach location in the middle of Grace Bay. The front desk is very friendly, especially Lechelle who is an absolute crack-up! The Pavillion restaurant was our favorite restaurant that we visited - we ate there 3 times (better than Coco Bistro in our opinion!). The Somerset was the perfect size - not too big/small. There are more famous places on this stretch, but none more reasonable and friendly. Bob

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was so thrilled with the Somerset Resort in Turks and Caicos! Having never been there its always a little nerve racking to commit to a vacation to the unknown, when you want it to be wonderful and you are spending time and money to get there! I can't begin to tell you how pleased I was after arriving! It's a beautiful resort, well managed and cared for! Property and our suite were absolutely beautiful! The staff is great and always at your service! I loved the smaller and more personal atmosphere!
We will definitely plan a trip back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Go with the Ocean View...a little savings and still beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenWilliams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had the best time - from grandparents to toddlers. It was so easy and the weather was beautiful. We had a blast on the half day boat ride/snorkeling trip and thoroughly enjoyed the beach right in front of the hotel. For meals, we ate at Hemmingway's, Somewhere (on the beach), and had our own private beach bbq done by the Somerset one night, which was the highlight. The rooms were perfect - everyone had their own space, and plenty of it. We are already planning our trip back for next year.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank KfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Somerset was immaculately clean and well maintained. It is located within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. You can get to these places by beach or road. Staff goes out of their way to make sure restaurant reservations and recreational trips are scheduled. Most water activities involving a boat will pick you up on the beach right at the end of the beach walkway. We had a great time. Well worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony facing the water has a great view. The ones further back from the beach hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The somerset on Grace bay was very nice, clean and a great location. This condo hotel was just too large. Not many of us need a place so big when we are on vacation.

Anyway, the staff was great and attentive. The lunch and breakfast was good.

very expensive

Room Tip: Ocean view does not necessarily mean every unit has an ocean view room. The building from higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Tuscany
The Tuscany
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $553 - $2,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing