We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are planning our next trip back and will definitely stay at Windsong again!”
Review of Windsong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsong Resort
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed April 11-15, 2013. About us: we have vacationed all over the Caribbean and picked Turks and Caicos because this was my 40th birthday trip. We have kids, but were not bringing them on this particular vacation so we wanted a place that wasn’t overrun with other people’s children. We also wanted luxurious accommodations, an ocean front view and to be within walking distance of several restaurants (because we weren’t renting a car- didn’t want to deal with the hassle of learning to drive on the other side of the road).

Windsong delivered on all of these requirements for us. The accommodations were AMAZING. Our room was luxurious, immaculately clean and the kitchen (high end appliances, granite counter tops, washer/dryer - all very nice) was fully stocked with a wine selection and bottled water. Our view of the ocean was completely unobstructed and perfect. We were so close you could hear the waves lapping on the shore. We were on the second floor in room 223. We asked for extra coffee and sweetener from housekeeping on the first day and they kept it coming for us.
The walk to the beach is very brief, and the staff working at the beach hut were very friendly. They always had clean towels and smiles. We rented snorkel equipment (only $5/day per person) and were very happy to find that it was brand new and of high quality. Bight reef is right in front of the hotel (on Grace Bay) and we saw so many fun fish (including lion fish) and even a sea turtle! We never had to worry about finding open chairs on the beach, they were always available. There are other parts of the beach further down where it is very crowded, not so at Windsong. You could also use umbrellas, sun shades, water noodles, kayak, paddle surfboard or paddle boat for free. WE also used the hotels complimentary bikes to ride over to the other side of the island and see the amazing blue waters there in 5 cays. {Ian at the front desk was extremely helpful and nice}

We had a couples massage in the resort spa. It is a very small spa, but the service was PERFECT. My husband had gotten sunburned the day before, and his masseuse applied a cold towel and a skin-hydrating/cooling spray to his burn after his massage. We loved the massages. They were a great value for the money, and we'd definitely do this again.

We also took advantage of the shuttle service ($8/person) to get some light groceries (beer/bottled water/fruit) at the local store. This was great. The same shuttle driver (Lije) also took us to a local restaurant one night when we felt like having Indian food (by the way, we highly recommend Garam Masala if you want authentic Indian cuisine).

It was also important to us that we have WiFi so we could check work emails occasionally. Our room had its own wireless router (noticed it in the closet near the safe) and our signal was very strong. No issues with the free WiFi.

Unlike some of the other reviews written here, we did not experience poor service at JoJo’s café. Our servers were always smiling and eager to bring us whatever we needed. We loved the jerk chicken the most --but all of the food was good. We also enjoyed the Sunday Jerk party where there was music, jerk food and BBQ ribs. We also enjoyed a 2-3 minute walk on the beach to the Somewhere Café. They had awesome fresh drinks and Mexican food. Delicious!

Overall: the hotel is very much a quaint boutique resort. It's not a sprawling hotel like some of the others in the area, and this was a big reason we chose it. We wanted a quiet, intimate get-away. Windsong was big enough that they had every resource you'd need, but not so big that you feel overwhelmed trying to navigate a map. Two thumbs up from us!

Room Tip: 1 bedroom Ocean front rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paxton4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you can tolerate the shortcomings of the resort, and ONLY if you’re getting an ocean view room, then the Windsong is hands down the best value for the money—best ocean front views, best quality luxury condos for rooms, excellent location.

First, a little about ourselves… we’re married, in our 30s, no kids, and we enjoy an amazing beach vacation about once a year. My wife has been to several Caribbean islands before we met, and the only Caribbean spot I’d ever been to before was Aruba for our honeymoon in 2007.

My wife and I spent a week here recently for our first time in TCI. Now onto the review. Let's start off with the bad:

1. Customer service (front desk) was unbelievably atrocious. When we first arrived to check in, the lobby was completely quiet and empty (no other guests). The front desk staff were very unwelcoming. They did not smile or say hello. We walked up to the desk, and we were the first ones to speak. It was instantly uncomfortable. For a moment we thought they were going to tell us we were in the wrong place.

The next day we asked if we could upgrade to an ocean view. The front desk told us that an upgrade was available immediately, already cleaned. We decided to get the upgrade for the day after, so that next morning we called and asked if we could move into the new room (before the usual 3pm check-in). There was a different person at the desk, and she said she had to ask housekeeping if it was ready yet. We explained that we were told yesterday that it was already clean and ready. Nevertheless, she insisted she still had to confirm with housekeeping. Two hours passed, and we never got a call back, so this time we went to ask again in person, and this was when she picked up the phone to call housekeeping!

2. Housekeeping lacks common standards and guidelines. They never restocked our towels or anything at the beverage station (coffees, teas, sweeteners, paper cups). We had to call the desk every time just to get these items. Yes, we had to call the desk every time we wanted to take a shower and realized we had no towels!

3. JoJo’s café (the only restaurant) service was poor, often simply rude. The food isn’t very good either. No sense of hospitality at times, seems like they were never trained about how to treat guests. There is almost a feeling of resentment. One morning, instead of our server greeting us with a “good morning” he decided to start off the conversation by asking me about what’s going on with North Korea and the possible war! For Christ’s sake, I’m on a luxury Caribbean vacation and you’re gonna start my day off with war and politics? That same morning we got a fruit bowl that tasted like it definitely got a splash of dish soap in it. Yuck! There was also one time when they said that the homefries would take too long to cook to serve with my breakfast, so without even telling me beforehand, they just served me a fruit bowl instead, without asking me first. They also serve packets of ketchup instead of a bottle of it. Sometimes they forget to serve the ketchup too. Fortunately a 90-second walk away is the Somewhere Café which serves excellent breakfast and has great service in a casual, beachy, Caribbean ocean front setting.

4. Mosquitoes are a big problem at JoJo's as well as for the ground floor garden view rooms.

For the first two days of which we had a basic studio room with garden view, we felt that the service was so bad at this resort that we’d never return. Then we upgraded, and honestly it completely changed our attitude about the whole resort and the rest of our vacation experience. We were on the 3rd floor which is the highest floor available without getting a penthouse room (4th floor). You’re almost right on top of the beach, because it’s just the small resort pool and short walkway to the beach in front of you. I could throw a football from my balcony and it would land on the sandy beach. It’s maybe 20-25 yards from the balcony to sand. No big trees obstructing your view either, nothing between your eyes and the ocean. It's a true FULL ocean view.

The staff working on the beach were super nice and very helpful. Charles just makes the call on his cell phone for you to book any excursion you may like. Snorkel gear is just $5/day/person for the whole day. Complimentary are the beach towels, umbrellas, noodle floats, kayak, paddle surfboard and two-person paddle boat. There is always a set of empty chairs on the beach.

Half-circle hot tub is adequate, nice temp. We didn’t get in the pool once.

The Bight Reef is immediately in front of you on the beach, couldn’t be more convenient for snorkeling. Every day there are snorkelers who see stingrays and sea turtles.

If it weren't for the amazing ocean view room, we would not return. Yes, the room is that amazing!

Room Tip: Ocean front suite is a MUST, go for 3rd floor. Better yet, ask for our room 134!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My honey and I loved our vacation, we stayed at the Windsong April 4th-8th.The food was excellent especially the Sunday night Jerk party. All the staff was very friendly and helpful....It was nice to have towels and water for me on the beach..We are going to return to the Windsong and will recommend the resort to others...The room was perfect, clean and loved the bottle of wine choices...The beach was clean and beautiful...I give this place a thumbs up

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi71Dixfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Windsong Resort from March 15 - 25. We were originally booked for 5 nights but decided to stay longer as it was an amazing place to be. We were in both a 1 bedroom Ocean Front Room and a 1 & 2 Bedroom Penthouse Suite (we moved around a bit). The rooms are incredible with floor to ceiling windows that give you the most beautiful view of the ocean. We had a full kitchen in each room and opted for the shuttle to the grocery store to have some food and drinks in our room. The Penthouse Suites are out of this world with rooftop patios, your own hot tub, bbq, sitting area, everything you could ever want or need. I truly could go on and on about the accommodations - especially the Penthouse Suites (our reason for extending our trip) - but the website actually describes them very accurately. The beach is gorgeous and never seemed crowded. There's lots of lounge chairs and waiter service to the beach. The pool and hot tub are a bit on the smaller side, but like a previous post mentioned it's never crowded. Lots of lounge chairs there as well. Jojo's Cafe is right beside the pool area and has a great menu. The food was always good. The service was always FANTASTIC. My daughter absolutely adored Alicia and Esmelin and we were sad to be leaving them. You guys rock!! Samuel and Nick and the rest of the staff there are awesome as well. They all took very good care of us. We had the great opportunity to experience 2 of their Jerk BBQs which were so much fun with delicious food, live music and a really nice atmosphere. Ian at the front desk was always more than helpful to help us arrange, taxis, dinner reservations, activities off resort and with our room transfers. I can't say enough kind things about the staff here - they really are genuinely great hardworking people. We also had the opportunity to meet the General Manager and Property Manager there and they were more than kind and helpful throughout our entire stay. We would love to own our own little piece of heaven at the WIndsong after our stay here!

Room Tip: Stay in any of the Suits that are Ocean Front - you will not be disappointed. Penthouse Rooms 143S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 1 week from March 31st to April 7th, 2 adults, 2 children (ages 8 and 5).

Overall an excellent hotel/resort, very calm and quiet (read: if you want a party you should either: a) pick another place on the island, or b) be prepared to taxi out every night). That said, calm and quiet was exactly what we were looking for.

Beach - the best. I have been to the many Caribbean beach destinations over the past 10+ years, and the sand at Grace Bay is pure powder, the water exactly the colour you see in the "brochure", and very calm on most days (at least while we were there). A gradual soft sand entry, so good for all age groups. The beach itself is rather quiet for the Grace Bay. If you look to your left or right, towards some of the bigger resorts, the beach there is jam packed. Other than the traffic for everyone wanting to snorkel at the reef (see below), there are very few people to contend with. We never had a problem getting chairs or umbrella at either the pool or beach. Is very peaceful.

Pool - I am not a pool guy. I don't fly down to an island to swim in a pool. Unfortunately my kids love the pool (especially our 5 year old). Our kids loved this pool in particular. It has water, it is not too cold, it has a few waterfalls, it has glass walls so they can spy on people eating lunch - what more could you ask for? I'd say one of the best beaches in the world with sea water that is as calm as glass - but then again I'm not a kid.

Coral reef - the Bight Reef is almost immediately in front of the resort. It is buoyed off in the middle to try to protect/regenerate it, though every day there are a few people that venture in despite the clear signage (and obvious visual sign that no one else has ducked below the heavy rope), though they have a 'coral marshal' that has a megaphone to herd them back out - so is nice to see they are trying to preserve the reef. The reef itself is in general decent. There is a considerable diverse fish population, and we did get to see a large black ray (likely a juvenile manta ray), 4-5 ft grouper and the usual set of eerily comfortable barracuda that will swim only a few feet from your head. Though not the most spectacular reef I have snorkeled, has some nice corals to see, supposedly a sea turtle (that others saw, but we seemed to keep missing), and given it is free (ie. you don't need a chartered boat) and right in front of the resort - is a major bonus, ESPECIALLY if you have kids that are trying snorkeling for the first time.

Service - is top notch. Wonderful, genuine service staff. Other than what we have experienced in Cuba (where we have always had the best interaction with the beautiful people there), the staff at Windsong are without fault. We asked to move our room after the first day because we had initially requested a ground floor (for easy access with the kids), but then decided that we had been mistaken and wished a higher floor - the manager moved us right away - no questions asked. The service providers at the resort were even better - all were outstanding, but to mention a few exceptional ones: RJ and Samuel at JoJos were fantastic; Jerome is always there with a smile even when he is serving you breakfast in the AM and then tending the bar at Havana's that same night; Charles is a gem on the beach to say the least; and Akeem was the star of our trip - such a wonderfully genuine guy, he proves that the people you meet while on vacation can really influence your overall experience.

Room - excellent accommodations. We stayed in a 1bdrm oceanfront suite. The adults had the king-sized bed in the bdrm, while the kids stayed in the living room (one in the pull out sofa, the other on a portable cot). Full kitchen, high end appliances, granite counter top, washer/dryer - all very nice, no issues. If you want convenience and don't mind leaving your sliding door unlocked - pick one of the ground floor rooms. If you like privacy, and want to use your balcony without the rest of the guest gawking at you while they walk to their rooms, make sure you don't get either of the inner ground floor rooms - they are just as beautiful as the rest, but essentially are a fish-bowl.

Food - we opted for the 'exclusive, all-inclusive' offer that is given by our travel provider (Air Canada). Was very convenient. The food at JoJos was excellent - no complaints. I tried just about everything on the menu and really have nothing serious to complain about (also tried just about every drink on the fancy drink menu....and some are better than others, but that is always a personal choice). We got to eat at 2 other restaurants for dinner as part of our package - we chose Magnolia and Lemon Cafe - both were excellent. Next time we will probably not choose the package - as it cost well over 3K more for it, and we ended up only racking up a 2600 dollar bill (and that is with me sucking back several Blue label Johnny Walkers). Overall - the food in Turks and Caicos in our opinion is top notch - being professionals living in Toronto we get accustomed to relatively high end restaurants, and the 3 we ate at (including JoJos) fit the bill.

Other:
Taxis are not cheap. Ours where paid for given the inclusive package, but we did unfortunately go on the 'shuttle' out to the local grocery store (IGA) just to see what was going on and get the kids a small souvenir....unfortunately despite discussing the shuttle several times with the front desk staff, we were not informed that it actually would be costly (to our fault we did not ask), and in the end a 5 min drive ended up costing us 32 dollars as it was 8 dollars per person (kids evidently don't get a discount). Not really worth it given we didn't buy anything other than a colouring book, a beach ball and a 1/4 of a watermelon - but live and learn.

Our overall experience was excellent. I have highly recommended the island, grace bay and Windsong to my friends. It is by no means cheap - but nothing on Turks and Caicos is cheap - in essence you get what you pay for. Will definitely go back - and will consider buying one of the available units.

Room Tip: Oceanfront for sure. If you want convenience and don't mind leaving your sliding door unlocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Windsong Resort is the perfect place to stay in Turks!! First of all, it is located right on the beach and by far the closest hotel on Grace Bay to the gorgeous turquoise water! It is a boutique hotel with outstanding people and wonderful amenities. The pool set up is perfect with a great bar and lunch restaurant. I definitely recommend somewhere cafe for lunch (right next door), Hemingways and Mango Reef for beachfront dinners, Coco Bistro and Coyaba for elegant dining! The beach in front of Windsong offers the best of both worlds. There is unreal peaceful relaxation as well as an awesome coral reef to snorkel and see sooooo much sea life! I highly recommend the island vibes excursion boat. It is 89 dollars per adult and sooooo worth it! Lastly, majestic taxi is amazing. Leonard (owner) is so reliable and very reasonably priced. He picked us up and took us wherever we needed to go and picked us up.

Turks is absolutely magical. I highly recommend exploring the island a little, eating at the top restaurants that I mentioned, soaking up the sun while wearing lots of sunscreen, and enjoying paradise!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank smignogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have been going to Providenciales for 15 years now. At least once a year. It is our favorite island. We have stayed at several resorts over the years. I have to say that although the prices at the Windsong are very high, I have no problem paying for it if the resort warranted it. Well, IT DOES NOT! First off, we had mosquitos in our room...not just a few...I killed over 20 each night before bed...but never managed to get all of them...so we were pretty well eaten alive. I told the manager and he came by and said he would take care of it. I said fine, but please let me know what is causing it because we do not leave doors or windows open. He NEVER got back to us. So I spent the week of our anniversary trip killing as many mosquitos as I could....but still we were eaten alive. The restaurant is located below ground level, so you never see the ocean when you eat. It speaks as to why no one ate at the restaurant for lunch or dinner. The staff at the restaurant were way over worked with only two servers, although not the servers fault...they worked really hard.....it took a long time to eat breakfast...many times over an hour...I'd rather be at the beach. Finally, the tv in our room was so small...likely a 22 inch screen, that I couldn't even watch the NCAA tourney and ended up at a local restaurant just to watch the games. The reef in front of the resort used to be very nice with a lot of sea life...however, the amount of tourists who come and disregard the roped off area to protect the reef just ignore it and have ruined the reef.....so most of the nice sea life has gone away with it...now it's a lot of broken pieces of sea fans and the like. I even saw a Beaches resort person carrying two pieces of fan coral back to their resort....very sad to see the reef ruined...but that is not the resorts fault. Like I said, I'd pay to stay at a nice resort....but not this one.....it doesn't live up to it's billing. Save your money and go elsewhere....Coral Garden's next door is just as bad....we've stayed their in the past.....the Sands is a really nice resort and the price is worth what you get....no mosquitos there! And the service is excellent.....do yourself a favor and avoid the disappointment of staying here.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here. There are many other great resorts on this island. We've been going he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank THEKFAMILY61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
0.9 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
509 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#1 of 44 in Providenciales
2,539 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#20 of 44 in Providenciales
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
West Bay Club
West Bay Club
#9 of 44 in Providenciales
1,036 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
2,000 reviews
1 mi away
The Somerset on Grace Bay
The Somerset on Grace Bay
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsong Resort

Address: Stubbs Rd., TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#6 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#7 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $374 - $2,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsong Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsong Overview A repeat favorite for guests, Windsong is a refreshingly intimate, Caribbean beachfront resort located on Grace Bay and Providenciales’ best coral reef. The resort enjoys exclusive TCI membership in Preferred Boutique Hotels and is a Trip Advisor “Top 25 Caribbean Hotel.” Daily Continental breakfast, WIFI, non-motorized watercraft, bicycles, fitness center, underground parking, and chilled water and towels--both beachside and at the oceanfront pool--are complimentary. Relaxing spa treatments, romantic candlelight beach dinners, Jojo’s refreshing libations and menu selections, and scheduled entertainment delight Windsong guests. All accommodations offer kitchens or kitchenettes and laundry facilities. Selections include 250 sq. ft. -- 4,480 sq. ft. and range from standard rooms, to studios, to exquisite 1-4 bedroom oceanfront and penthouse suites up to 4,480 sq. ft. Additionally, Windsong offers a unique, private oceanfront villa with a trellised oceanfront terrace and private plunge pool. All Windsong Rooms Include:Non-smoking rooms with keyless entryMarble flooring & ensuite baths10’ Ceilings & custom cabinetryPillowtop beds with Hilden linensFrette towels & bathrobesBvlgari toiletriesFlat-Screen/LCD/HD/Cable TVDVD • I-pod docking station • Alarm clock Room-controlled air-conditioningIn-room safe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsong Hotel Providenciales
Windsong Resort Providenciales
Windsong Resort Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing