We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice...but not the Caribbean we had hoped for.”
Review of Amanyara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanyara
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2010

First and foremost: Amanyara is a beautiful resort. Each room has its own very private and spacious cabin. The beach is quite pretty as is the pool and common areas..you can see all of this by visiting the Amanyara web site.

But we were a bit disappointed with our experience there. Our expectations were very high. At $2,000 a night -- not including food -- how could they not be? The food, while good, wasn't great. Also this resort is very isolated -- about 40 minutes by car from other restaurants and resorts. The weather while we were there didn't cooperate, and quite frankly, when it's not beach weather, there isn't much to do. If you're looking for the Caribbean experience of still, warm water, palm trees, a gentle (as opposed to strong) breeze, this might not be the resort for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weedwackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Amanyara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

we stayed at one of Amanyara's 4 bedroom Lake Villas in January. Two great, professional and superbly friendly permanent villa staff members made our vacation an unforgettable experience. The Lake Villas at Amanyara are fantastic and we will definitely return next year. Fantastic location and design of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarpeDiem0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed in one of the 4 bedroom villas with our children of 7 and 3. We have travelled a lot all over the world and have never experienced such forthcoming service especially towards the children. The villa staff organized toys for the kid's without request on our part. The private chef made special meals for the children each time and they of course loved the private pool. Tennis lessons etc. With happy kids the whole trip was a great retreat for us parents also. Great food, peace and privacy. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_traveller12347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This resort is spectacular, The design is just beautiful. The rooms, service, and the entire experience are fantastic. The beach is just perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful without overdoing it, I did not hear the word "NO" once in 5 days. You feel like you are in a private home on the most amazing caribbean island. The lunch at the beach club is a pleasure. The private screening room for movies is great.
The only criticism I have is a lack of a casual dinner option, This resort is VERY quiet, so If its action you are looking for, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for pure luxury and true relaxation in a stunning setting this IS the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffnwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

(I'm updating TripAdvisor with long overdue reviews of all the place we've been, hope they are helpful).

We stayed at Amanyara last January. It's definitely a stunningly beautiful hotel, very serene common areas and villas.

However, being set in a mangrove forest, it just didn't have the tropical island feel with palm trees, rainforest, etc. that you get in other parts of the Caribbean (e.g. St Lucia).

If you're staying here you can probably afford to stay pretty much anywhere in the Caribbean, I'm just not sure it would be one of my top choices. (e.g. WE much prefer Jade Mountain in St Lucia - but they are very different so choose carefully based upon what YOU prefer).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnSFDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in a Pavilion and although the weather was disappointing enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful room and walking on the beach. The beach would be amazing in better weather - soft white sand and clear blue water and no seaweed anywhere. Staff mainly Asian in the restaurants/bar providing good service and varied high quality food. Must return when the weather is better! By the way American Airlines lost my (and two other guests) luggage from Miami and it did not arrive for 2 days. The bellboy told me that this happens quite regularly - so pack lots of hand baggage or fly privately.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryLoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I recently visited Amanyara in December and found it to be very clean, good food and great service from our housekeeper and Chef. The hotel is beautiful and so is the layout. However, a "dark cloud" hung over the whole experience because of the attitude of some of the staff members. I was asked from the moment I arrived at the resort, every single day, whether or not I was a guest at the resort! On the second day at Amanyara, my partner and I went to dinner in the main dining room. Our waitress Maidy made a point of asking me if I was a guest at the resort, I told her I was, she asked my name, I told her. She went away, came back and informed me she had checked and indeed I was a guest! Two days later on my way to the beach with may partner, as I took of my sandals, the attendant standing by the stairs to walk down to the beach put her hand out to stop me and asked if I was a guest at the resort, I told her I was, she looked at me in utter disbelief! I was not going to stand there and argue with her so I walked away towards the beach, I turned and saw her staring at me. These are the two worst experiences I had in terms of being treated this way, the others were similar, but not quite as confrontational.
I spoke to our housekeeper about it and he was horrified, He suggested I speak to the General Manager John Vasatka, which I did. I called him but he seemed very uncomfortable and not too interested in my experience. I pointed out to him that I was a person of color and my partner white, therefore, it was plainly obvious why I was being treated this way. My partner was not asked if he was a guest at any time during our stay. The General Manager finally apologized and said he would speak to the staff (even though he never asked who they guilty staff members were) and would also make it up to me. Well, of course, I never heard from him again, so as far as I'm concerned nothing was done about the situation.

It's a shame that the certain members of their staff would feel it was necessary to look at me as someone who couldn't possibly be a guest at Amanyara and even worse that the General Manager did nothing about it at all. Amanyara is truly a beautiful resort, but be warned if you're someone of color you may not get treated with respect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank veglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providenciales
9.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
464 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#2 of 44 in Providenciales
2,467 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 44 in Providenciales
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 44 in Providenciales
1,746 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
767 reviews
19.8 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanyara

Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#13 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#17 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $1,905 - $3,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amanyara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanyara is a secluded beachside resort situated on the coast of Northwest Point on the beautiful Providenciales in the Turks & Caicos Islands. The resort borders the pristine reefs of Northwest Point Marine National Park, acclaimed for some of the world's best wall and reef diving. With a contemporary layout and design, the timber-shingled Guest Pavilions and Aman Villas are tucked along the coast or situated inland on the edge of tranquil ponds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amanyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanyara Hotel Providenciales
Amanyara Resort Providenciales
Amanyara Turks Caicos
Amanyara Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing