We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet high expectations”
Review of Amanyara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amanyara
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Didn't meet high expectations”
Reviewed February 6, 2009

The hotel design and architecture is stunning. The privacy is wonderful. The restaurant is high quality. The pool is beautiful. However, the beach is a far cry from Grace Bay Beach, and the location leaves you half an hour or more from anything else. So the restaurant that was wonderful the first night, still serving the same menu becomes tiring by about night three. The continental breakfast was great day one, but offered exactly the same four pastries all week. The limited lunch menu also did not vary from day to day. When the room costs $2000 a night, drink prices don't move the needle, but it was salt in the wound to be charged $18 for a mixed drink. The spa is nice, but treatments needed to be booked more than a day in advance (despite 30% resort occupancy).

In a way, this resort is the anti-Caribbean. Very little local food preparation, rarely any music (and what little there was sounded more like elevator music), extremely proper staff, most of which aren't from the area. It exhibits none of the wonderful spirit that is so present in most Caribbean resorts.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ChitownCaribbeanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    37
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
56
250
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Amanyara-


As my wife and I cut our initial visit short from our previous resort, we took a boat ride back to the mainland and were greeted by an Amanyara representative in a pristine white Land Rover with camel leather seats. After our bags were loaded, we were on our way for the 30 minute journey to the resort. The driver immediately offered us water, a Eucalyptus scented cool towel and a choice of music amongst 6 CDs. Being on the islands, we chose something Caribbean.

Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the general manager of the hotel. He had someone at guest services subsequently show us the grounds. Our first impression of the hotel was how gorgeous and well designed it was. The tall ceilings (30 feet tall), the separation of the pavillions by water (see attached pictures), the black infinity pool, the octagonal design of the pool bar gave us a sense of space and privacy. Although Amanyara was to near capacity, we felt like we had the place all to ourselves.

The staff is amazing. They're respectful, helpful, nice, always smiling but still very quiet. It seems like an oxymoron but all of it's true. They don't hassle their clients with drink requests or try to sell you bottled water to increase profit margins. It seems that the goal of the staff is to keep you as comfortable as possible. No request was denied. We asked what time breakfast was served till and they said, "if you want breakfast at 12 noon or 1 pm by the pool, beach, room, library, we will take care of it for you".

The restaurant was great and the food was well prepared and delicious. We only stayed 3 nights so I'm not in a position to say if the menu changed significantly after a few days. I do know that if it didn't, I would soon get bored with the choices.

The beach is exquisite. I went snorkeling and saw a school of squid, a sting ray, a barracuda, parrot fish, angel fish, grouper, and a starfish. Not bad for being in the water for only 30 minutes. Towel service and water are complimentary and staff is very attentive to your needs.

The room is amazingly designed. It has high ceilings, 3 glass walls with electronic shades for privacy, two sinks and a rainfall style shower head. Telephone service is free as it's an IP line. The bed is extraordinarily comfortable, something we needed after our bad experience at our previous resort.

Added extras:

Amanyara has a dedicated screening room which you can use at your leisure 24 hours a day.

Spa:

While they still don't have a spa, the massage therapists come to your room and are excellent. It gives it a very private feel which I for one love.

Overall:

While Amanyara is expensive, it offers the very best in luxury, service and privacy. If you're worried about the money, do not come here. If your goal is to have a vacation with a loved one in a place where you can totally relax, sleep well, eat great food and be attended to in the highest manner, (and only 3 hours nonstop from NYC), this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Attentive staff, great food, beautifully designed rooms,
  • Disliked — May feel isolated if staying more than a week
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank TK_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

amanayara is superb .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LC36LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed here for 7 nights in July. Although this is the "low season" when it is supposed to rain, weather was fantastic albeit on some days when the wind was weak, it was quite hot. The resort is beautiful and the aesthetics are certainly of "Aman" quality. We rented an "Ocean Pavilion" at $1,500/night which with 10% service and 10% tax, works out to $1,800/night - on the steep side.

The service is very refined and they have imported most of their staff from Asia, which gives the service a bit of an extra level of hospitality (the service quality difference between the local and imported staff is quite stark). Some may not like that if they are looking for more of a "Caribbean" experience though we - having experienced the other Amans in Asia - thoroughly appreciated it. We particularly enjoyed the fact that once you are here, you do not need to carry your wallet anywhere - no one is expecting any tips, everyone remembers your name, and you do not have to sign anything for the remainder of your stay - finish at the restaurant, simply walk to the bar and order a couple of drinks and they will all take care of it in a completely seamless fashion.

The resort has a main area with a pool, restaurant, bar, and library. The food is very good although after a week, it got to be a bit repetitive as there are not a ton of choices. Also, prices are definitely on the steep side even compared to other Aman's but not that far off relative to higher high-end properties in the Carribean - e.g., main course ~$40, appetizer $30. The wine list and some of the spirits are remarkably affordable (e.g., $10 for a large glass of booker's bourbon).

In terms of activities, there is great diving, snorkeling, water sports, fishing, etc. Although we went on a number of dives, it certainly felt like the resort is more to "chill out and relax" versus spending most of the day out doing activities. Most of the guests seem to just sun bath and swim around the pool for most of the days.

Overall, a great resort and one that I would highly recommend if you want the "Aman" experience of great aesthetics and deep relaxation. Less of a destination if you want a bit more of a lively holiday being engaged in a bunch of activities.

Highlights:
- Beautiful aesthetics
- Amazing location (in national park with private turquoise blue, white sand beach)
- Great service (at least from the Asian staff)
- Good food though limited choices

Negatives:
- Most expensive Aman and the facilities are great, but not spectacular (e.g., you do not have a private pool)
- No dedicated spa, though the quality of the therapists is very high (again, they are all from Asia)
- High room count / guest density for an Aman
- Incidentals are much more expensive than other properties (e.g., romantic dinner, fishing, chartering a boat, etc.)

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank pacaldwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providenciales
9.8 mi away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 45 in Providenciales
411 reviews
10.7 mi away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 45 in Providenciales
2,370 reviews
8.9 mi away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#4 of 45 in Providenciales
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
COMO Parrot Cay, Turks and Caicos
10.8 mi away
Grace Bay Club
Grace Bay Club
#7 of 45 in Providenciales
1,714 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#8 of 45 in Providenciales
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanyara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanyara

Property: Amanyara
Address: Northwest Point, Providenciales
Location: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#16 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#19 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amanyara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanyara is a secluded beachside resort situated on the coast of Northwest Point on the beautiful Providenciales in the Turks & Caicos Islands. The resort borders the pristine reefs of Northwest Point Marine National Park, acclaimed for some of the world's best wall and reef diving. With a contemporary layout and design, the timber-shingled Guest Pavilions and Aman Villas are tucked along the coast or situated inland on the edge of tranquil ponds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amanyara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanyara Hotel Providenciales
Amanyara Resort Providenciales
Amanyara Turks Caicos
Amanyara Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing